Honda Rebel Motorcycles Reviews (35)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Rebel Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Rebel Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-17 2001 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is just a starter bike, but wow...a little better than I was expecting! I was figuring I'd be stuck at in-town speeds, but no...this bike can hang at 70 miles an hour just fine! I ride this thing all over the place...ok, not a powerful bike, but enough to get me where I'm going. I'm going to upgrade soon, but I'd definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking to learn on a very light and easy to handle bike, or someone who wants a cheap commuter! And for what it is, it's kinda sharp looking as well!
- skbrown9, Hudson Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-06 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I RECENTLY RETIRED MY FIRST BIKE, A 1985 HONDA MAGNA V-30 (VF500C). I WAS THE SECOND OWNER AND HAD IT FOR 18 YRS. I PUT IN 40,000 + TROUBLE-FREE MILES ON IT FROM DAILY RIDES TO WORK. 3 WEEKS AGO I GOT A 2003 REBEL WITH 3,800 MILES ON IT. IT IS IN MINT CONDITION WITH EXTRAS: CRASH BAR, SADDLE BAGS, AND WINDSHIELD. I PUT IN 90 MILES ON TEST RIDES. COULD NOT GET IT TO GO PAST 65 MPH ON LEVEL HIGHWAY WITH NO HEADWIND. THE ENGINE WAS NOISY AND STRAINED. WHY, I don't KNOW? SINCE IT IS TOO COLD TO RIDE NOW. (29* F IN NYC THIS WEEK.) I GUESS I WILL HAVE TO CONTINUE MY TESTING IN THE SPRING 2007. SO FAR I AM IMPRESSED WITH THE QUALITY OF THE BIKE, THE GOOD LOOKS, DESIGN, ETC. I DO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE SEAT THOUGH. EVEN AT MY HEIGHT, THE RIDGE OF THE DRIVER SEAT KEEPS ME FROM MOVING BACK A LITTLE AND MY LEFT FOOT IS ALWAYS BUMPING INTO THE ENGINE CRASH BAR. I CAN NOT IMAGINE ANYONE 5 FT 8 OR TALLER RIDING THIS BIKE. BUT OVERALL, I AM HAPPY WITH THIS BIKE AND CAN'T WAIT TO SPEND MORE TIME ON IT IN WARMER DAYS!!!
- DOWN-SIZED RIDER, NEW YORK CITY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-31 2001 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 Rebel new in 01. Other than some dirt bikes as a little kid I never really rode. After some research, determined this was the best beginner's bike to buy. And boy howdy, is it ever. She is a good bike with a lot of forgiveness for first timer stupidity. I have laid it down twice practicing in a parking lot (wet (from rain) cement, locked up the front brake). Each time the same side. Stood up and did it again. Then learned my lesson. And survived with only a skinned knee. That was then. Now I own a Goldwing (GL1200) and the Rebel is much too small for me. But, I use it to teach others to ride. First my mom, then my brothers wife, now my wife and our 18 year old boarder. This bike is the best to get your riding skills on. I have taken the Rebel on 100+ mile trips, but get a bit butt sore at about 50 miles. I never developed an Iron Butt to go further, and don't need to with the 'wing. The 50mpg I tend to get on the Rebel is great, but the small tank (just over 2 gals) means your refilling at about 110 miles. This bike does not lure you into a false sense of confidence. Instead it makes you completely aware of the world around you, and improves your fledgling skills as a rider. And it lets you learn to not do things like drop down a gear at to high a speed, with out killing you along the way. At 300 pounds, you'll learn to pick up a bike without pulling a muscle. (Go ahead, try and pick up a goldwing. :/ ) She isn't a racing bike, but she'll get you there and at around $3000.00 (US) she is the best first new bike to get.
- Bruce Sherwood, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-19 2002 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Rebel in September 2003 after not having ridden in 32 years. It is the perfect beginner bike and a great daily commuter. I have safely and comfortably ridden at 65 on the interstate on my less than 10-mile journey to work. I highly recommend it. I haven't dropped it yet and hope I don't, but I figure it's a lot easier to lift 310 pounds than 500 or more. I will always treasure my Rebel and will simply add to the collection rather than replacing it. When I move up in power and size, I think I'll skip the usual steps and head straight for the incredibly beautiful custom VTX 1800. Wow!!
- Megan Reynolds, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-17 2001 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 2001 rebel for my daughter from an individual. This bike had an original 179 miles on it. Thought I had made a wonderful deal. Apparently there is a problem with these 250cc motors if you let them set the valves will stick, bending the valve and possible breaking the head. (Which happened to me) I took the bike to my local Honda Dealership in Fayetteville AR and they called the Honda Corporation. Honda picked up the cost of the parts and I paid the Labor. With no warranty I was very pleased with Honda, and my Honda Dealer. When I look to upgrade my daughter to a larger bike I will be looking at Honda.
- Kirk, Mountainburg, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-08 2002 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 56. I have nothing to prove, other than just enjoying the ride! I love my Honda Rebel! It gets 77.7MPG! I can run all day at any speed limit! This machine, and I have owned many, does everything that I expect of it and then some! My rating? Five stars!
- J. Allen, Whittemore, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-25 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. It was easy to learn on - simple and very dependable. As I gained seat time, I also came to appreciate how much fun it is also, especially in the twisties. Takes a little breaking in for smooth shifting. Tops out pretty soon in first and second. Doesn't have big twin top end, but was able to keep up with a group of Harleys. I'm planning on trading up, but will sure miss my little Rebel.
- Paul Zee, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-19 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 03 Rebel on 6-13. I have nothing but good things to say about it. It gives me great service at a very affordable price. I have put 1300 miles on it in 30 days. It really is a lot of fun. In my opinion you cant go wrong with a Rebel.
- Bobby Siers, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-11 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually have the 450 Rebel, but learned to ride on a 250. These bike are fun to ride and easy to handle. The engines are small so if you want to ride for a long time you'll definitely move up. I kept my Rebel because I'm fixing it up and it much easier to hop and go around the block to visit family than is my VTX1300.
- A Great Lady, Temple Hills, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-15 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife (5'2") loves her 2002. She have been riding it for about 1 1/2 years now and never had a problem.
- David Bass, Lubbock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-14 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 55 Years old, and who use to ride the Harley,s. haven't rode a bike in over 15 years, So with the Knees that are not so young anymore ,My choice was to go with a 2003 Honda Rebel 250 . in about a hour, I was back on the Highway. easy bike to learn on. OD says 85, don,t need anything faster. at 307 LBS. It a Great Bike and 60 Miles per gallon can,t beat That! It a Motorcycle thats a classic and it take me from Point A to B with out any problems My Dodge Truck hasn't been out of the driveway in 3 weeks.Because i really in joy driving the Honda Rebel, Mines black. and the wife has a Blue Honda Rebel also a 2003, It,s a great beginner motorcycle, and if your like me an not looking to go warp 10,it,s a great everyday motorcycle Hay!i,ve allready been up and back from COCO BEACH all ready.
- Thomas Calabro, St.Cloud, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think the Rebel is a very good beginner motorbike. Alot of the MSF Rider courses use this little work horse in class. It's easy to handle,I've had no mechanical problems, its a decent looking bike. I think too light for highway speeds, but good for the back roads. I don't know that I'd classify it as a cruiser..but hey if you really want to do alot of miles move up to a bigger bike. I do wish Honda would learn to make a decent seat!
- Pugger, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-30 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i'm 20years old and was given a bike by my parents last year. The only problem i have is that its a small bike... It runs great and looks ok but its just too small for me... i would recommend it for any starter however but dont get to attached cause your gonna wanna trade it in soon.
- Mike, Newark, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-25 2003 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is in response to problems. It might not be the bike but rather the dealers service dept. I had the exact bike {2000 model}, which is the identical bike except maybe for color.The only problem I had was fixed pronto by the service manager. I would recommend this bike to anyone! Too bad you had a tough time at the shop, but please don't give up on a good thing because of bad service personal.
- shytownbb, Redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-21 2002 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always been fond of the rebel but, I am now older and need to keep up with the pack just like Barbara in Virginia. I am selling my rebel and going to graduate to a 2003 Yamaha V-star 650(beautiful bike from Harbor Sports Plug, Plug). I would encourage anyone to start out on a rebel because it's light and easy to ride. Happy riding
- Shari, St. Joseph, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-24 2002 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was a great bike to learn the basics of motorcycling. At 40 years old I was a little apprehensive of driving my own bike. I have been riding on the back of my husband's bike but wanted my own independence. This bike was just the right size to get used to the shifting and steering. I've had some great times on this bike in just one year. I have recently purchased a bigger bike so that it is easier to keep up in a pack but I will always have great feelings for the Rebel.
- Barbara, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-15 2002 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really love riding this motorcycle. I find the bike can do 60 mph with out any problems, I just do not have the courage (as a brand new rider) to take it on a major interstate highway at much over 60! The fit and finish is excellent and the engine runs very smoothly. I just wish I could buy a tachometer for it. Other than that this motorcycle is a lot of fun to ride and would recommend it to anyone.
- J Jones, Bridgewater, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-03 2000 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No, it's not a hawg - it's a piglet ..... have a 2000 Honda cmx250 Rebel - bought the bike used (had 2,675 miles on it) at INDY NORTH CYCLES (E.96th) near the end of last oct (2001) for a sticker $2500 marked down on clearance sale for $2000 .... had them add an engine guard roll bar and picked out a set of small saddlebags for which i also had to get the saddlebag mounting hardware kit for the bike .... the bike already had been equipped by the previous owner with front footrest highway cruiser pegs and a small windscreen - also got the 2yr honda protection plan from the dealer - all in all ended up paying about $3,500.oo cash for the bike - including helmet, protection plan, title, plates, etc... got this bike because my dad had just retired and gotten himself a Harley dyna-glide and i wanted to be able to go out with him over the summer and because i had always planned to want to learn to ride at least (have years in the saddle on pedal power roadbikes) and all i had to spare was $4k ..... this bike was in the shop and fit the basic bill perfectly and had the added benefit of being small enough not to help me kill myself while learning to shift and all that ..... we've been lucky to have had a mild winter here (indianapolis) and i have ridden several times in oct/nov and even occasional warm days in dec-feb, march had several great days of riding weather and i even got an opportunity to rise a HD sportster1200 ..... i like the fit and feel of the rebel MUCH better - but am in love with the sportster engine power and speed ...... go figure ?!? ..... been out on my pedal power bicycling backroads on the rebel while i was learning - familar quiet county backroads i already knew inch by intimate inch where i could shift gears - throttle - and just learn to ride without having to worry about roads and traffic patterns (actual first time out on the bike was around the corner to the nearest big parking lot that was totally empty on sunday where i learned to at least shift from stop-1-2nd up and down and to find nuetral as well as to what kind of braking i had - it also told me the engine cuts off if the kickstand is pushed down in any gear other than nuetral and that i'm damn glad it's a light bike as i would laid down a harley or 'regular' bike in a slow U-turn but that i could oneleg hop the rebel and get it back up without having to let it go and get off).... have since had it up to 55-60/65 on a 10 mile stretch of state highway - plan to avoid interstates and most highways entirely on the rebel ...the 250 cruises 'comfortably' at around 40-55mph .................. My rebel page ... http://www.angelfire.com/tx5/silverdragonlamp/Honda.html ..... and My rebel links page ... http://www.angelfire.com/tx5/silverdragonlamp/Honda2.htm
- BABailey, Indianapolis (carmel), Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-03 1999 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No, it's not a hawg - it's a piglet have a 2000 Honda cmx250 Rebel - bought the bike used (had 2,675 miles on it) at INDY NORTH CYCLES (E.96th) near the end of last oct (2001) for a sticker $2500 marked down on clearance sale for $2000 .... had them add an engine guard roll bar and picked out a set of small saddlebags for which i also had to get the saddlebag mounting hardware kit for the bike .... the bike already had been equipped by the previous owner with front footrest highway cruiser pegs and a small windscreen - also got the 2yr honda protection plan from the dealer all in all ended up paying about $3,500.oo cash for the bike - including helmet, protection plan, title, plates, etc... got this bike because my dad had just retired and gotten himself a Harley dyna-glide and i wanted to be able to go out with him over the summer and because i had always planned to want to learn to ride at least (have years in the saddle on pedal power roadbikes) and all i had to spare was $4k ..... this bike was in the shop and fit the basic bill perfectly and had the added benefit of being small enough not to help me kill myself while learning to shift and all that we've been lucky to have had a mild winter here (indianapolis) and i have ridden several times in oct/nov and even occasional warm days in dec-feb, march had several great days of riding weather and i even got an opportunity to rise a HD sportster1200 ..... i like the fit and feel of the rebel MUCH better - but am in love with the sportster engine power and speed ...... go figure ?!? been out on my pedal power bicycling backroads on the rebel while i was learning - familar quiet county backroads i already knew inch by intimate inch where i could shift gears - throttle - and just learn to ride without having to worry about roads and traffic patterns (actual first time out on the bike was around the corner to the nearest big parking lot that was totally empty on sunday where i learned to at least shift from stop-1-2nd up and down and to find nuetral as well as to what kind of braking i had - it also told me the engine cuts off if the kickstand is pushed down in any gear other than nuetral and that i'm damn glad it's a light bike as i would laid down a harley or 'regular' bike in a slow U-turn but that i could oneleg hop the rebel and get it back up without having to let it go and get off).... have since had it up to 55-60/65 on a 10 mile stretch of state highway - plan to avoid interstates and most highways entirely on the rebel ...the 250 cruises 'comfortably' at around 40-55mph My rebel page ... http://www.angelfire.com/tx5/silverdragonlamp/Honda.html and My rebel links page ... http://www.angelfire.com/tx5/silverdragonlamp/Honda2.html
- BABailey, Indianapolis (carmel), Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-17 2002 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my wife a 2002 Rebel and she loves it. Besides looking great, the bike is built very well. It runs perfectly, just don't go over 55mph. It will do it but you won't feel too safe. One nice touch is that the idiot lights are large and right up at the bars. You cannot help but notice them. This is especially nice when you forget to turn off the turn signals, You won't with this setup. Mileage is unreal! For 3 grand it just cannot get any better.
- Craig Schmidt, Media, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-28 2000 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my brand new Rebel this spring and found it an ideal bike to learn how to ride and obtain my license. It is small and light, easily manageable, and I feel in control of the bike instead of the other way round. The bike looks fantastic and it's a Honda so mechanically it shouldn't be a worry. I get many comments about it and jaws drop when I mention two things: how much it cost brand new and what mileage I get. I put approximately 1350 miles on it this season and used only $50CAN of gas (One tank for my car)! I bought it primarily as a second vehicle to get to work, about 20 miles round trip, and in this role it has performed perfectly. I didn't buy it to cruise the west coast or something similar. In that role it would be significantly underpowered but in the role it was designed I don't think you can go wrong. I bought new because the 1985/1986 rebels where going for $3000+ and I paid $4300 CAN brand new! Even the insurance is very reasonable. As many of the other reviews have stated, if you really get into it you will likely want a bigger, more powerful bike, but I highly recommend this bike as a starter or commuter. Starting on a bike like this is a very important step to being able to properly handle a larger bike. The resale value is so high you really won't lose much if you do decide to move up at a later date. At this stage I am thinking I wil keep it for another year and then move up to something with a sidecar. If I wasn't looking for a sidecar I would probably keep it indefinitely. Incidently, this bike is apparently sold in the UK as a commuter bike with a much more upright riding position (not that I think this is particulary laid back) If you want more details or have a question please send me an email I would be glad to help out if I can. Matthew
- Matthew, Oakville, Ontario, CANADA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-04 1999 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had never ridden a motorcycle before purchasing this bike. It is a great bike to learn on. It is easy to control, and does not have the power to put you on your back if you overturn the throttle. It also weighs just over 300 lbs which is light for a bike. I have had to "muscle" it a few times to avoid tipping over (my dumb mistakes). If it were a larger bike it would have went down. After a few months I do notice the lack of power. I would not take it on the freeway due to its weight and lack of power. I will probably move to a larger bike soon, but am very glad I started with this one. It is also very easy to work on, and there is a Clymer manual available that gives excellent step by step instructions with pictures. I am very happy with this bike, and the rebel's are fairly inexpensive. Jeff
- Jeff Danzik, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-13 2000 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a Kawasaki Eliminator 600cc three weeks ago as my first motorcycle. The experience was horrible! The cycle was used, and I experienced mechanical problems three days after purchase. Also, the weight and speed of the vehicle exceeded my comfort level. The dealer took back the Eliminator and replaced it with a Pearl Blue, 2001 Rebel. The bike is gorgeous and perfect for my 5'4 frame. I am absolutely delighted with its performance, and would highly recommend it to all novice motorcyclist (especially women.) Also, my total cost was $3200.00
- Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-22 1999 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike not to long after I got my licenses. It's a very forgiving bike which makes it excellent for people like me who were novice riders. It works great for quick rides to and from work as well as the nice four hour ride on the weekend. don't think it'll do all though, I wouldn't come near a major highway in one of these things. The bike does not have enough power to react quickly at high speeds, making highway driving dangerous. The other problem is that after four months and 2000 miles I became quite frustrated with the lack of power in the bike. But with an initial price of $2,000 and a resale value not far off of that, it's the perfect bike to buy, ride, learn, sell, and move on to something else.
- Bruce Knepper, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-12 1999 Honda Rebel Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Rebel she so fast. Last week I beat a Hayabusa in a drag race at Holden road. After that his girlfriend went riding with me. I think chicks are big on the rebel. They are stuck on me like duct tape when I ride my rebel to the high school. Good day, green grass.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: