Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Rebel reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

35 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

skbrown9

Hudson Falls, New York

Reviewed on 2009-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is just a starter bike, but wow...a little better than I was expecting! I was figuring I'd be stuck at in-town speeds, but no...this bike can hang at 70 miles an hour just fine! I ride this thing all over the place...ok, not a powerful bike, but enough to get me where I'm going. I'm going to upgrade soon, but I'd definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking to learn on a very light and easy to handle bike, or someone who wants a cheap commuter! And for what it is, it's kinda sharp looking as well!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DOWN-SIZED RIDER

NEW YORK CITY, New York

Reviewed on 2006-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I RECENTLY RETIRED MY FIRST BIKE, A 1985 HONDA MAGNA V-30 (VF500C). I WAS THE SECOND OWNER AND HAD IT FOR 18 YRS. I PUT IN 40,000 + TROUBLE-FREE MILES ON IT FROM DAILY RIDES TO WORK. 3 WEEKS AGO I GOT A 2003 REBEL WITH 3,800 MILES ON IT. IT IS IN MINT CONDITION WITH EXTRAS: CRASH BAR, SADDLE BAGS, AND WINDSHIELD. I PUT IN 90 MILES ON TEST RIDES. COULD NOT GET IT TO GO PAST 65 MPH ON LEVEL HIGHWAY WITH NO HEADWIND. THE ENGINE WAS NOISY AND STRAINED. WHY, I don't KNOW? SINCE IT IS TOO COLD TO RIDE NOW. (29* F IN NYC THIS WEEK.) I GUESS I WILL HAVE TO CONTINUE MY TESTING IN THE SPRING 2007. SO FAR I AM IMPRESSED WITH THE QUALITY OF THE BIKE, THE GOOD LOOKS, DESIGN, ETC. I DO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE SEAT THOUGH. EVEN AT MY HEIGHT, THE RIDGE OF THE DRIVER SEAT KEEPS ME FROM MOVING BACK A LITTLE AND MY LEFT FOOT IS ALWAYS BUMPING INTO THE ENGINE CRASH BAR. I CAN NOT IMAGINE ANYONE 5 FT 8 OR TALLER RIDING THIS BIKE. BUT OVERALL, I AM HAPPY WITH THIS BIKE AND CAN'T WAIT TO SPEND MORE TIME ON IT IN WARMER DAYS!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Sherwood

Bremerton, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-10-31

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2001 Rebel new in 01. Other than some dirt bikes as a little kid I never really rode. After some research, determined this was the best beginner's bike to buy. And boy howdy, is it ever. She is a good bike with a lot of forgiveness for first timer stupidity. I have laid it down twice practicing in a parking lot (wet (from rain) cement, locked up the front brake). Each time the same side. Stood up and did it again. Then learned my lesson. And survived with only a skinned knee. That was then. Now I own a Goldwing (GL1200) and the Rebel is much too small for me. But, I use it to teach others to ride. First my mom, then my brothers wife, now my wife and our 18 year old boarder. This bike is the best to get your riding skills on. I have taken the Rebel on 100+ mile trips, but get a bit butt sore at about 50 miles. I never developed an Iron Butt to go further, and don't need to with the 'wing. The 50mpg I tend to get on the Rebel is great, but the small tank (just over 2 gals) means your refilling at about 110 miles. This bike does not lure you into a false sense of confidence. Instead it makes you completely aware of the world around you, and improves your fledgling skills as a rider. And it lets you learn to not do things like drop down a gear at to high a speed, with out killing you along the way. At 300 pounds, you'll learn to pick up a bike without pulling a muscle. (Go ahead, try and pick up a goldwing. :/ ) She isn't a racing bike, but she'll get you there and at around $3000.00 (US) she is the best first new bike to get.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Megan Reynolds

Columbia, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Rebel in September 2003 after not having ridden in 32 years. It is the perfect beginner bike and a great daily commuter. I have safely and comfortably ridden at 65 on the interstate on my less than 10-mile journey to work. I highly recommend it. I haven't dropped it yet and hope I don't, but I figure it's a lot easier to lift 310 pounds than 500 or more. I will always treasure my Rebel and will simply add to the collection rather than replacing it. When I move up in power and size, I think I'll skip the usual steps and head straight for the incredibly beautiful custom VTX 1800. Wow!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kirk

Mountainburg, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2004-01-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I recently bought a 2001 rebel for my daughter from an individual. This bike had an original 179 miles on it. Thought I had made a wonderful deal. Apparently there is a problem with these 250cc motors if you let them set the valves will stick, bending the valve and possible breaking the head. (Which happened to me) I took the bike to my local Honda Dealership in Fayetteville AR and they called the Honda Corporation. Honda picked up the cost of the parts and I paid the Labor. With no warranty I was very pleased with Honda, and my Honda Dealer. When I look to upgrade my daughter to a larger bike I will be looking at Honda.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Allen

Whittemore, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 56. I have nothing to prove, other than just enjoying the ride! I love my Honda Rebel! It gets 77.7MPG! I can run all day at any speed limit! This machine, and I have owned many, does everything that I expect of it and then some! My rating? Five stars!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Zee

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2003-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike. It was easy to learn on - simple and very dependable. As I gained seat time, I also came to appreciate how much fun it is also, especially in the twisties. Takes a little breaking in for smooth shifting. Tops out pretty soon in first and second. Doesn't have big twin top end, but was able to keep up with a group of Harleys. I'm planning on trading up, but will sure miss my little Rebel.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bobby Siers

Raleigh, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 03 Rebel on 6-13. I have nothing but good things to say about it. It gives me great service at a very affordable price. I have put 1300 miles on it in 30 days. It really is a lot of fun. In my opinion you cant go wrong with a Rebel.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

A Great Lady

Temple Hills, Maryland

Reviewed on 2003-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I actually have the 450 Rebel, but learned to ride on a 250. These bike are fun to ride and easy to handle. The engines are small so if you want to ride for a long time you'll definitely move up. I kept my Rebel because I'm fixing it up and it much easier to hop and go around the block to visit family than is my VTX1300.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Bass

Lubbock, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Rebel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife (5'2") loves her 2002. She have been riding it for about 1 1/2 years now and never had a problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 35 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: