Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda ST1300 (ST1300) reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Eric Valdez

California

Reviewed on 2020-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went looking for a used Yamaha FJR 1300, the bike shop couldn't bring down the price on one, they had. The salesman said he had the Honda ST1300, on sale(Blue). As I sat on it, he described how clean and well kept it was. It also included the matching Pan-European bag with back support for passenger, and knee pads on the tank. The salesman asked if I wanted to test-ride it. I said "No, need, I'll take it!" It's the most car-like suspension I've felt on a bike without sacrificing handling. The balance is so good; I've even had a few front-wheel slides going over small dirt patches and train rails without losing its composure, quickly regaining traction. Even though it has linked brakes, you can still lock up the rear wheel and fishtail it a few inches for fun, occasionally. Too heavy for wheelies, but front end will get very light under hard acceleration, maybe clearing an inch or 2. My top (track, long straight) speed on my ST1300, 155 mph!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lou

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After correcting the little niggles with the bike (such as replacing the stock seat, adding electrical outlets), and putting a few more miles on the bike, I will tell you that this has been a thoroughly satisfying purchase. The motor has just been bulletproof; it still pulls as hard as the day I bought it. I've had it up to 125 and it is as solid as a rock. You can ride all day at 90 (based on GPS, not the optimistic speedo). It handles well... I feel that a more skilled rider than me could hang with most riders/bikes on most roads. I don't do badly and I'm flat-out old. It occasionally occurs to me to get a new bike, explore other makes/models/configurations, then I ask myself 'why?'
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tor

Tatum, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-12-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have used the ST as a touring bike since August of 05. Technically it is a sport-touring bike; it's leaning more toward touring than sport. Extremely smooth engine and power delivery. Very good weather protection. Fuel range/capacity higher than the Gold Wing, which adds even more to its touring capabilities. Needless to say, it's a keeper. The wife also rides a 05 ST and loves it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Nations

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2008-04-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought an ST-1300 new and absolutely love it. If you intend to spend time on a bike, this is the one! The comfort, agility and handling of a sport bike with the comforts of a touring rig. I've commuted on this bike and trekked through the Midwest and loved every minute. On the ST-1300 you won't beat your back up sitting on your tailbone as you would on a cruiser. You won't wear out leaning on your hands like a sport bike. It has better acceleration, better braking and is more comfortable than anything else on the road. Thinking of paying more for a different brand? you're wasting your money. It has adjustable suspension, adjustable headlamps (up, down, 2 highs, 2 lows), adjustable windscreen and a 7 gal tank for long range rides. Try it and you'll be sold too...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tommy Moore

New Johnsonville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2008-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After almost 27000 miles, I still can't get enough of this bike. It is fun, fast, comfortable, and handles like a dream. The most I have ridden in a day is 700 miles, but I could have gone farther if I had not pulled into my garage in pouring down rain at 10:30 at night. My knees did get stiff due to too many days on the tennis court when I was younger, but they do make aftermarket pegs, which I will have soon. This motorcycle eats up the superslab and twistie backroads with ease. Heated grips and an aftermarket seat help the comfort issue go from great to wonderful. One downfall is the slow turning maneuvers if one puts a bar riser plate on the ST. It still handles great on all kinds of roads and is much more comfortable on long rides, but I have a tendency to accidentally give it too much gas in taking off with a turn, but it is getting better with practice. The stock bars still do better in that regard, but once rolling my hands do not go numb and handling is maybe even better than stock. I would not trade my ST for another bike. It has everything all rolled into one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tommy Moore

New Johnsonville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2007-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 18500 miles, I can say that this is one sweet machine. The biggest drawback is the heat on the legs and ankles. It runs strong and smooth with plenty of power at speed. It does great on the interstate and in the twisties. I am very pleased with every aspect of this bike. It has been ridden in every kind of weather except for snow and had 16000 miles put on it the first year. It is so much fun to take it to the Smokey Mountains, which for me is a 5 hour trip up the interstate. I also commute 42 miles to work on it 2-4 days a week and it seems like such a short ride. I have never ridden an FJR or BMW, but after reading and comparing, I am happy with the ST. Sport touring bikes rule for all around comfort, fun, speed, and durability. Time to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd Guay

Meriden, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What can I say? This bike makes me want to ride PERIOD. I've been through or to 13 states. I have ridden in 14 degree weather and 104 degree weather and have been fine. I have done 720 miles in a single stint. I am very happy with my purchase and would do it again in a heartbeat. I downgraded the comfort one level because I added handlbar risers and an aftermarket seat and windshield. Things I felt needed to make it tailored to me. Everything else has been great. Did I say this bike makes me want to ride..and ride..and ride?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pat Donovan

Plano, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had been riding a Suzuki Bandit and figured I wanted something more Touring capable. This bike is definitely it! Great control layout, really agile and just plain FAST! I love passing trucks without a downshift. Just a roll on the right and it jumps on up. Very stable at (silly) high speeds. I also quit before it does. Only complaint is the seat, but I fixed that with a Corbin. Wish they still made a nice top box for it however. She is well worth what I paid for her.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G. Sil

Pembroke Pines, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my '06 ST1300 February 28th and have since ridden it approximately 7800 miles. Absolutely no complaints. Reliability, fit and finish are top shelf. I have made several modifications (Custom windscreen, Two Brothers exhausts, Sargents Backrest, Handlebar risers, Sirius Radio and a fork brace) None of these mods were necessary, I was simply "making it my own". Direct from the factory this bike is the most complete package offered by any manufacturer. The BMW is great and the Yamaha nice, but the best blend of "Sport & Touring" is the ST1300. This is my personal opinion, and believe me, I searched the market without bias. My only complaint is that there are not more accessories available in the US. You will probably have to shop the European marketplace for the best selection. With the internet this is not a problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

col mk

kenosha, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2006-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda ST1300 (ST1300)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My previous bike was a Victory Vegas that I owned for 3 years. Great bike, but too many trade-offs with a cruiser. After doing the homework, I settled on either an FJR 1300 or this. After testing both, I bought the ST1300. What an awesome bike! The engine is smooth and strongly powerful. When you hit the sweet spot of the RPMs at say 6000, it just pulls like crazy and the engine makes this throaty growl. The weight is extremely well-placed, low and center. As such the bike handles very easily - very easy to balance at lights, move around the parking lot, and it corners like it's on rails. The adjustable windshield is one of those things that once you use it, you wonder how you ever lived without it. It does a great job at blocking 95% of the wind. Very nice feature. I've had mine just under 2 weeks and I'm almost at 1000 miles. I just can't wait to ride it. I liked my vegas but it was exhausting to ride, especially on the highway. I've made several 1 1/2 hour rides, covering about 80 miles, and I was completely fresh afterwards, and disappointed to be done riding. Possible minor cons - there is some heat from the engine by the knee/lower leg. Kenosha is not known for its warm weather, so I can't say how it would be on a 95' day, but for me, where most of my riding is in colder weather, I find it a plus. The legs are faired over, keeping rocks/bugs/water off, but also keeping cooler air off as well. If you think it might be an issue, take a test drive first. Also, the seat could be a bit harder - although it's NOTHING like the agony of a stock 2003 Vegas seat (butt would fall asleep in half an hour or less every time - horrible seat). The Vegas, with no bodywork, was very stable and unaffected by trucks or crosswinds. The St1300 does shake a little in a strong wind or truck wake. It's not bad, but for me it's different. These are all I can think of, and I bring them up only to be objective. The St 1300 is an amazing bike. The engine is is just awesome - no dead spots, and it pulls like a aircraft carrier catapult. 4000 RPM at 80 (redline 8500), crack the throttle just a hair and you're doing 95 the next instant. The motor is so smooth and quiet, and the fairing so good that speed really creeps up on you. The riding position is very comfortable. I was a little nervous about this because the Vegas had an extremely comfortable foot-forward design I liked a lot. But in several 1 1/2 hr rides, no leg problems at all. At 6 feet even, I get my feet flat on the ground at a stop. Any shorter, though, and you may want to test one because I think anyone 5' 10" would have to stand on their toes. I really, really like my new ST1300. It goes, turns, and stops like a dream. It's easy to maneuver in a parking lot. It carries a lot of stuff in the hard bags. I get compliments and questions every time I pull up somewhere - they are relatively uncommon, at least here in Harley country. I was looking for a fast, comfortable, versatile bike, and this is it. Extremely happy with it, and I would unequivocably say it's best bike I've ridden. If you're reading this, you are probably looking for the same things, and I would tell you, do your homework and compare, but at the end you'll find this is the best sport-touring bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: