Honda ST1300 Motorcycles Reviews (24)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda ST1300 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda ST1300 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-08-15 2009 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been a splendid bike, but at 725lb., my arrival at 72 yrs. of age, tho fit, has raised questions about my continuing ability to control it at very low speeds. The decision was hastened by the arrival of a 430 Yamaha triple in the fleet. The lighter bike has restored my confidence and almost left me feeling like a kid again.
- Jim Kriegel, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-12 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new back in 2004 and I have never put this many miles on one bike before. She is running as strong as the day I brought it home back in 2004. Change oil and filter, spark plugs, brake pads, headlight and tires. I head out tomorrow to the west coast and not worry about it.
- Noll Davis, Winchester, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-31 2007 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It might seem unfair to compare the ST to a luxury touring bike, but the ST is a touring bike too sport touring. First of all, the ST is an awesome bike. It is very agile and doesn't lack anything when it comes to power. It will go faster than the law, or my good sense, will allow. It doesn't have some of the creature comforts of a luxury tourer, but it is also considerably less expensive. A luxury tourer is the more comfortable of the two, but the ST is by far the most responsive. It is also slightly more economical to drive. I have averaged 40 MPG on the highway on my luxury tourer and 50 MPG on the ST. The ST is easier to service and maintain. The fairing is much easier to remove and the air filter is a lot easier to replace. Changing the oil is about the same. There aren't as many aftermarket accessories for the ST and the ones that are available are usually higher priced. I have had excellent service from the Honda dealers, both before and after the sale. I do a lot of my own maintenance and they have no problem with that. The owner's manual even clearly states the owner can do the maintenance and not affect the warranty. Other manufacturers don't allow that, and then charge exorbitant prices for their service. I have taken the ST on 3+ hour trips, ride it daily to work (70 miles round trip), and ride it just to relax. For the past two summers I have taken trips in excess of 7,000 miles. For the longer trips I will take my Wing. I wouldn't hesitate to take the ST on long trips if it were the only bike I had, but since I have the Wing I will use that instead. For trips shorter than 2,500 miles I will probably take the ST. The bottom line is the ST is an absolutely terrific bike. The Audiovox Cruise Control I added is really a must-have for trips. I replaced the stock seat with a Sergeant seat. That was a mistake. It looks a little nicer, but is no more comfortable. The handlebar riser from Motorcycle Larry has an ideal point to mount the Zumo 550.
- David, Wesley Chapel, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-17 2007 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Most of us in our ever growing family of ST-owners call this bike Honda's best kept secret. I mean... How can a bike this dependable, this durable, this comfortable, this fast and maneuverable, and this capable of extreme touring (multiple Iron Butt entries) not be the best selling bike in America??? that's OK 'cuz I love it when I get approached at fuel stops and asked, "What is that?Originally I simply wanted a commuter bike for a 90 mile daily round trip, with storage and wind protection.... and ended up with a rekindled passion for riding. There are not enough stars to rate this bike! And to fellow shorter riders (5'6 with 28 inch inseam), I can flat foot one side and almost the other with the seat in the lowest position. Caution... this bike will cause extreme satisfaction!
- Steve Schwan, Kewaskum, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes over the years and call myself an avid rider. I enjoy 500 mile days and put in at least one 1000 mile day per year, just for fun! My typical mileage is 15,000 to 20,000 per year. The only reason I put this info in is so you can compare your riding habits with mine to see if the ST is right for you. I spent about a year trying to decide between the BMW 1150 RT and the ST-1300. I was looking for a used BMW, as the new RT's were out of my budget, and most of the good used ones were out of state. I settled on a new 2007 ST and have not regretted the decision. I picked it up the end of March and already have over 12,000 miles on it, end of August. I have been very pleased with gas mileage, 50 mpg, during commuting. I typically travel 70 to 75 mph, interstate, and gas mileage stays very consistent. During recreational riding when speeds are kept 60 and below I have had as good as 53 mpg, makes a big difference with gas prices around $3 per gallon. Everything about this bike has exceeding my expectations except for the saddle. This is a showroom saddle, not one that you want to be in for long tours. I will remedy that this winter with an aftermarket saddle, still doing my homework on that to pick a good one. The engine is very smooth at all speeds. This bike will flat out get up and haul the mail. I have had the bike to 150 mph and still did not hit the red-line limiter, it gets there quickly too. I did not buy the bike for pure sport, but it is nice to know that you can twist the throttle and get around a semi in very little time. It carries two-up with hardly even noticing and I'm sure will have plenty of power for a pull trailer. I have been very satisfied with this years color, titan silver, looks clean all the time. I have also been very impressed with Honda's pick for tires on this machine, Bridgestones. I still have my original tires and would estimate to have a couple thousand miles left on them, that is with dealer recommendation also. 15,000 miles especially on the rear tire is exceptional, however, the majority of my miles are commuting at constant speeds, although I'm sure wear is dependant on driving habits. If you are debating between sport touring bikes, you will not go wrong if you pick the ST. One other thing that made me choose this bike was very low maintenance outside of fluid changes, which I do myself. BMW recommends valve adjustments every 8,000 miles, the ST's first scheduled valve adjustment is at 40,000.
- Todd Dean, New London, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2007 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I upgraded from a 2004 VTX1800N Spec 3. I was looking for a nimble but comfortable bike to do some 300-400 mile days on. The St1300 did not fail me. I have ridden many 300+ days in the saddle in complete comfort. That is with the exception of the seat. Honda's stock seat is too soft and gave me some tail bone pain. This why I gave it a 4 for comfort. A custom seat by Rich's solved this and made the bike extremely comfortable. Out side of the seat no lower back or lower arm discomfort. With the windshield up the ride is amazingly quiet at 75 mph. Great gas mileage (43 mpg) with a long cruising range of over 300 miles on a tank. At low speeds the bike feels as if it weighs far less then it does. In the twisties this bike is extremely nimble. Braking is very good. I own the 2006 non-ABS model. In one incident I was rounding a turn to find a deer crossing the road. The brakes did an exceptional job.
- Rob Green, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-20 2007 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 2006 Honda Silverwing Scooter and I loved it, just turn and go, nice. I took a long trip on it and I had thoughts about if it could hold up for a really long tour (not that I plan one, but if I wanted to). The ST1300 was one of three Honda bikes that I looked at, along with Scootie, I also looked at the VTX1300C - three totally different bikes, that I loved for three different reasons - any of which would be enough to buy any of the three... long story short, I now have the ST1300. The power, comfort, build quality and everything about the bike that I can think of is wonderful. The dealer let me take one for a test drive, the ABS model, I was ready to buy it right then and there, but as I did not want the ABS version, I ordered the non ABS one - which is what I bought. I had to wait for a few days until they uncrated it. When I picked mine up, another customer had also purchased one as it was next to mine awaiting pick up. I basically love everything about the bike except my shortness. I have about a 29 inch inseam, and the bike is about 31 inches high, so I cannot sit flat footed. While the bike is indeed heavy, it rides like everyone says, light and nimble. The gas mileage is wonderful and I love the big tanks. My mileage for now is avg. around 38 MPG. I think it will avg out better over time and after break in, but Scootie got 42 mpg, so this is awesome so far! The other thing I have concern about is passenger comfort. My wife is slim and about the same height as me, when we rode the other day to see how we feel about it two up, she was sliding all over the darn place, slick seat, light wife, shifting and braking make for a lot of movement for my little girl back there. I looked at some after market seats, but am not convinced that a new one would be prudent as neither of us wants to break the sexy look of this bike, so I will continue to look around at everything and look over rider reviews too. I'll come back on the site and update this review after I break in the bike and get a couple hundred or so miles on it. Oh, a cool thing about the Silverwing trade in, it worked out pretty fairly, almost as if it cost me just a few dollars to try out the scooter for a year. That made the whole thing very nice... I got a lot of interesting looks whilst riding the scooter - it is huge, the looks I get on this bike are from thumbs up to a lot of folks just kind of admiring it in a lot more friendly way. It is not a crotch rocket and I am thankful abut that, but it is also not the ultra laid back Lazy Boy all day cruiser that the Gold Wing is. I did actually look over the Gold Wing this time around, but that bike is just way too big for me... more to follow shortly, I expect to put a LOT of fun miles on this bike!
- Ray, Tamarac, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over the years I've ridden five different motorcycles (2 cruisers, 1 standard, a sports bike, and the ST) for long distance interstate riding or cold/wet weather commuting. Now, with my 2006 ST1300, I have my Goldilocks bike: it's just right. The difference between riding the ST or a cruiser 3500 miles in a week or on a driving rain freeway commute (no matter how accessorized, and I tried everything) is the difference between a 1976 VW Bug and a new Lexus SC430. Still, if you just gotta have a touring bike with a lotta chrome, loose front end, uncertain handling, sparking pegs, painful ergonomics, no rain protection, a steady gale-force wind, and soft suspension, buy a cruiser. (I like cruisers but let's be honest.) And if you want 21st century engineering, near-complete weather protection, flawless gearbox, a smooth 100 horses with lots of torque and a totally forgiving power curve, 300 miles between gas stops, and like to be able to walk after 600 miles in the saddle, consider the ST. Alas, the ST is not a sportbike, although it handles somewhat like one once you get used to throwing 700 pounds around. But if you need a sport bike--and you know who you are--look elsewhere--you ain't going X-country on it anyway. (Hey, I keep a 919 in the garage, too. But I sure ain't gonna take it down the highway.) Someone I trust recently told me the V-Strom 650 is the best all-around plus touring bike ever made. Maybe. If so, the Honda ST1300 comes in 2nd.
- Michael, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-06 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have gone through a number of bikes looking for one that I want to have for the long term. Started with a Rebel 250 then a Shadow VLX600. Next a 750 ACE. Cruisers didn't cut it for long rides. Slow and stable yes, but power is lacking. Not so with the ST. Acceleration is available anywhere, any gear, just twist the wrist and go. I have added fairing flairs, heated grips and a good two-helmet Givi tail bag. Nice to have in the cold months in Pa. You can't carry too much cold weather gear here to ride out winter. Only quibbles I have are: It's slow to warm up and come to an idle, side bags are best left on, saddle in it's lowest position forces the rider to the front and on to the tank. Lower the back of the seat too please...Kick stand is too short. All together great bike, I love it and when I'm 80 I'll still put the key in it. Power, comfort, handling, storage space, can't beat it. Blows by the Beemer riders and sits while they gas up.
- Mark Smith, Orangeville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been a joy to own and ride. It is very top heavy for a new or non husky type to ride. I just needed a better pilon bike. The ST, to continue to be sucessful with it's competion, needs to lose some weight and gain some power and farkles while retaining price competitiveness. For me, it was more than adequate for power. You can easily spend thousands in farkles making the bike fit you. The seat is good for only 200 miles (upgrade/airhawk), handlebar risers are a must and you need a trunk. Parking lots are a challenge even for a strong and expierenced rider. It is still a Honda with great reliability and drivability. Sell private if possible.
- Stephan Matta, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-28 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second review on my ST1300. It's over two years old now and really can't complain about anything other than the seats. I have added two brothers exhaust which elimates around 20lbs and have a bike sound now. I also installed a throttlemeister to help on long tours to give my hands a rest. The factory tires lasted fairly well, the front went 16kmiles and the rear 10k. I replaced the rear brake shoes at 16k. I mounted the Z6's and so far have 6k on them and have no visibile wear and seem to be great tires in wet and dry traction. I recently purchased a K&N air filter and the reviews bost a 6hp increase. Other than normal wear and tear, this has been my best ride ever. So if anyone is thinking about a ST1300, you won't go wrong with this bike.
- Noll Davis, Winchester, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-16 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having purchased an ST1300 ABS recently, I can add you will love the adjustable windshield, the adjustable seat positions and the Fuel Injection of this sport-tourer. Comfortable, long distance, and smooth, it is definitely worth a look for the best overall bike that does everything and then some!
- Russell DIckerson, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi, just traded in my VTX in Omaha on my ride back to Ar and have been in ran ( dry ) and can not belive what the bike has to offer. I can not in my mind understand why honda does not have them in stock and only speical order. None better in my book and ride like the wind!
- bob, mammoth spring , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the bike alot except for the stock handlebars, stock seat and the one thing I forgot in my previous post-- When the air temp gets above 80 you will burn the skin from your shins and knees! This bike gives off serious heat that isn't channeled from the riders legs! Honda has a problem in this respect to this bike. It needs a factory fix and so far the company is ignoring the problem-more people need to complain about it. Other than that it is one of the greatest bikes built. Just wear some good thick pants!
- swhite, Angola , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-30 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my ST 1300 for a few weeks (600 miles)and am loving it. I have had English bikes (Norton & Triumph) and a Kawasaki Z1 900, but this is the best one yet. Handles like a dream, doesn't seem like it weighs 700 lbs, gets great gas mileage, is easy to ride long distances (except for the seat, will have to replace with a Sargent as Corbins only fit with the seat adjustment all the way down), love the moveable windscreen as it can be adjusted to wherever you like, is very quiet, seems like good dealer support. I have heard that a local municipal P.D is ditching their BMW's and going with the ST 1300. THIS IS THE ONE!
- Chuck Simpson, Long Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-23 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just returned from a 3 day ride to New Brunswick, Canada. The bike preformed flawlessly! It was comfotable on the interstate and handled like a sportbike on the back roads. We encountered all forms of weather on the trip yet the ST1300 withstood it all. For anyone looking for a bike that will go the distance on a long trip or handle the twisties on day trips, this is the bike for you!
- dw, haverhill, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I purchased the bike it was raining. So I got to know how it handled and performed during a 120 mile rain. I was impressed about how it handled the weather and roads. I sold my st1100 and cbr600 f4 to compromise of both, touring, handling and acceleration. The st1300 is so much quicker and lighter than the previous st1100. I had a problem on the second day on my front left caliper, it came off due to the bolts being gone. Luckily I didn't get in an accident, one thing to keep in mind on linked brakes. That is if you lose your brakes like i did you have no brakes at all. I called the dealer and they were shocked that it happened but not as much as I was. Since then I have ridden the bike with my wife and it has really impressed me. I have read the reviews on the gas mileage and the computer is wrong on the average mpg every time. The last fill up I got 49.5 mpg on the miles divided by gallons and it was showing around 45. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants to travel. I have not regretted my purchased and plan on putting many miles on this bike. The heat problem is a little noticable and honda should have done a better job of engineering. I changed the oil and taking that plastic piece off to get to the fill plug is a cluster. I plan on riding to this years Honda hoot and putting some serious miles on this bike and may write another review.
- Noll Davis, Winchester, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2003 ST1300 non ABS for just over a year and I have just over 17,000 miles on it. I have taken it on several long trips 1,200 miles or more and ridden it in all kinds of weather. I've been to Canada on it three times, twice for five days each trip and one overnighter. My wife likes to ride on it also and finds it fun to ride. I find that it is a very dependable motorcycle and I have not had any trouble with it except a flat tire which I can't blame on the bike. I rode it all year long in all kinds of weather. I find that the fairing gives good protection and the bike is stable in heavy rain with water covering the roadway. I have also ridden it on very hot days (triple digit) and have not experienced the over heating problem that you may read about in some articles. I replaced the seat after about 2,000 miles as the factory seat is very uncomfortable after about 50 miles. I paid big money for a Corbin seat that is heated and have not regretted it. I also added a trunk to the bike(Honda,not a Givi)which is very nice to have on long trips. My wife also likes the backrest as it feels more secure to her. My biggest complaint with the bike is that American Honda does not support it worth a darn. There is a full line of accessories for the bike if you live in Europe. I had to call to England to get the Honda trunk that goes on the bike. They also make a radio for the bike (you may have noticed the speaker grills) but you can't get it in the U.S. I am on my second set of tires and rear brake pads. I've changed the oil and filter myself and I wish the filter didn't drain on the center stand. The air filter is not hard to change and it lasted about 16,000 miles. I changed the plugs at the same time for $7 a plug. Overall it been a great bike and I've enjoyed all of the miles I've put on it. I plan on putting 20,000 miles on it this year if work doesn't get in the way. P.S. Will someone please tell me why Honda doesn't put a cruise control on a touring bike, it would be nice on 600+ mile days.
- Ron Tennyson, Gig Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-08 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is what I've been waiting for. It's a "ride-all-day" affair in terms of comfort and handling. The highway performance is super! You are in control on this agile, powerful, well balanced tourer. Everywhere I go people want me to stop and tell them about my '1300. I took delivery about five weeks ago and already have many miles of pure joy to recall.
- pleas broaddus, rohnert park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-20 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my new blue 2004 a few days ago. My last bike was an 1100 shadow. What a difference!! Very smooth, comfortable and powerful. Sort of hard to keep it at 70. I've read some people talking about heat issues, well I can tell you it is not a problem. It was around 90 degrees today and the bike felt and handled great. Very happy with my new bike.
- D. Wade DeCoste, Alexandria, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ST 1300 is pretty excellent machine for such a heavy girl. My only complaint is the cheap soft paint Honda puts on an otherwise excellent motorcycle. Will post new findings as time goes by.
- Don Wilson, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-14 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Chances are you've seen quite a number of reviews of this bike from various mags and clubs. I can't say I have read anything that I don't agree with within whatever context it was put. I must say, I have never read a thing negative, so if it's out there, I am not agreeing with it, but I'd like to read it. This is just a plain good motorcycle. The Yamaha FJR seems to be the standard, but in the same breath everyone says, "unless you prefer the touring bendt". One of my riding pals has an FJR. we each appreciate the other's bike. As I am not reviewing the FJR I will not argue for it here. I think I made the correct choice with the ST1300. If you bought this bike for a thirty minute hrill ride now and again, you are a fool, and should carefully study each word of the phrase, "a fool and his money are soon parted." There are many many 600 class entries that will give you butterflies in the belly way more than the ST. This is not to say the ST would keep right up to your 600, it just wouldn't feel like it was. Reasons for owning. Simply put, I have only space for 4 bikes in my garage. This is a tip top quality machine that equals BMW for longenity, beats all comers for build quality, and is only "not as sporty" as the FJR in paper theory, or if each is jockeyed by a 24 year old expert racer. I can say with confidence that comparing passenger comfort between the Yamaha and the Honda, my FJR buddies wife is not going to be as easy to get along with after an all day ride as mine! There is no indication beyond a slight "busy buzz" that the ST is going 65 mph in second gear. It gets everywhere so effortlessly (speed up or slow down) that it is easy to understand the car-like reference. In it's defence, it ain't a GL folks! Its a highly evolved sport tourer all the way to the bone! Two can travel in comfort and style, one can travel with a sore face from grinning all damned day long. I know! If you can keep this bike within the speed limits you are a better man, or have more points against your license than I! The headlight array says, attention, there is something coming (or perhaps better: "something wicked this way comes"). The tail light array is large and hard to miss. The controls are easy to read, and not too "foo-foo". I do not have the ABS model, so also don't have the electro-adjust window. Rear suspension can be adjusted on the fly, and seems best at the middle setting (two up, moderately aggresive driving, lots of twisties). There is a fair bit of gear sound below about 30 mph. Bothered me for the first few hours, now just sounds "right". FI seems very well mapped, no surges anywhere (a point acclaimed by my buddies with an FJR and a BMW R1150R who have ridden it). There is a naught deceleration if one does not roll off carefully, but so far every bike I have owned was tat way .. I can only assume there are a few not like that as the point seems to come up as a negative in reviews of every machine I've ever read through. It's a great bike. If you want a touring bike that turns heads (people - bikers and grockels alike - LOVE this bike!), and gets you there (way far away "there") quickly, reliably and safely, this is one of two options. If you prefer the FJR, it is the better bike for you. If you are trying to understand the slight difference in price, I would say you're simply paying for the build quality, and I think my FJR pal would agree. Again, not slamming the FJR, I almost bought one, but fit and finish are better on the honda. Have fun choosing. Ride safe.
- Steve Lovejoy, Duncan, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-12 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My disclaimer. I'm just a regular guy not a professional tester. I wrote this for friends to let them know of my ride home. I wanted a St 1300 and bought one despite the reviews that compared it to a car. The story is below. Feb. 19th started out with me flying to Los Angeles. Then on to the super shuttle for the ride to the shop to pick up my new Honda Sports Touring bike. I walked in and asked for Dan the salesman I had talked to when I ordered the bike. He was busy with another customer so I had to wait awhile. It was quite a shop full to the brim of all kinds of bikes. My new St 1300 was sitting outside waiting to go. It just needed one clip to hold the mirror on, it was dangling on the right side. I gave it a good inspection and it was/is flawless. Dan was busy rounding up the manuals for the bike. Then I went into the finance guy and wrote him a check, that was $2000 less than my local dealer would have charged me. Dan took me outside and went over the bike with me. All the switches, gauges and answered any question that I had. As we were talking another guy from the shop comes up and, talking about my bike, tells Dan that the bike was OK after it fell down yesterday. Now I know from Hondas literature that the mirrors are supposed to disconnect if the bike falls over. So that's why it needed a new clip. Nothing was wrong with the bike. After the guy left I told Dan that he shouldn't be doing that in front of the guy buying the bike and I laughed. Dan goes " I could have slapped him. Then he tells me he also checked the bike over yesterday. So I put all my over night stuff in the saddlebags, put all my riding gear on and took the bike for a short test ride up and down the block. On the St the seat is adjustable 1.5 " up and down. Well the seat I'm sitting on is way to low. My legs are cramped and I'm sitting right on top of the tank. So Dan and another salesman work on getting the seat adjusted and now that I know how to do it its easy. It was adjusted to suit me. ( After 1200+ miles the seat is not perfect but I can live with it.) With nothing left to do I ask directions to the Freeway and hit the road. The 405 Hwy. to Interstate 5 and on North. In LA the normal traffic flow if its not rush hour is 80 mph. that's what I did. On the St that's 4200 rpm. I had the windshield set at its highest setting and the air flowed right over the top of me and just like the magazines said I had a negative pressure pushing me in the back. At its highest setting there is some flex at the top of the windshield as your riding. You are well protected on the St. The bike has a thermometer that showed 68 degrees as I left the shop. There had been complaints of to much heat being put onto the riders legs from the engine. You could feel it, the heat,but it wasn't uncomfortable.( It still hasn't been over 75 degrees here in Northern California and with riding boots the heat isn't a problem. The gas tank does get warm and you could cook a meal in the left side fairing storage box. Never put a candy bar in there!) Traffic was light and in no time I was at the Grapevine heading North out of LA. It is the road over the hills into the Valley. You go from Sea level to over 4000 feet in altitude. The temp. gauge was showing 46 degrees as I got to the top of the grapevine. I could have used some of that engine heat right about then. The St treated the whole thing as if it were flat. I dropped down into the valley and was going with the flow still right at 80 mph. I don't know if it is the proper break in procedure but that's just how this one was getting broken in. Somewhere on the flats I crossed over a bridge that crosses over one of the many canals and suddenly I was airborne, just for a split second. Just long enough for my heart to stop. Not even a wiggle out of the bike. Then I saw a sign nailed to a tree that said " Trust Jesus. I'm sure everyone that hit that bump was praying for just a little bit. I passed an uncountable number of trucks without even a shake of the handlebars. The same for the rain groves on the highway, they didn't affect the St at all. It must be the new technology. About 20 miles outside of Kettleman City I saw a huge bank of black clouds. At almost the same time it started hailing and then rain. I was pretty well hidden behind the fairing but was still getting a little wet. Ahead was a motorcycle riders best friend, an overpass. I stopped there and put on my rain suit. I didn't have the mittens or the shoe covers. I pulled out into a downpour and heavy head winds. Feet and hands got soaked in a little while, fairing helped but ...they can only do so much. The thermostat was showing 40 degrees. This wasn't turning into an ideal ride. I had checked the weather forecast before I went to L.A. and this wasn't in the cards. So for 45 miles I rode in the rain. I did run into head shake on the St passing trucks in the rain with this headwind. As an experienced rider I just let the bike do it's thing. It was busy moving back and forth, you just have to relax. Finally I ran out of the rain. I rode a few more miles and pulled over to a rest stop. My right hand was curled into a claw shape. I couldn't unhook my helmet. Where was the experienced rider I talked about earlier? I should have pulled over and let the rain pass. Eventually I got warm and got all my gear off. I called my daughter and told her I was an hour away. I turned off on Hwy. 152 to take me over to Hwy. 99. Hwy. 152 had miles of expansion joints. You know, the rhythmic bumps that make your your car bounce up and down. The St front suspension soaked them all up, no problem. The rear was a little stiff. I was cruising at 75 all by myself , riding one hand on the bars when a California Highway Patrol car pulls up along side and looks me over. Then he just drives off, Thank you, Officer! Boy was I asleep at the switch, I never saw him coming. The mirrors are excellent though a little low for some riders. They reminded me of the bar end mirrors I had on my Matchless. Well I made it to my daughters house 341 miles from the shop in LA. Got off the bike and all my bones creaked. Awful old for a hard day like that. There is a group of motorcyclists who ride 1000 miles a day for 6 days. The event is called an "Iron Butt Rally." Boy my hat is off to them, no way I'll ever do that. Next morning I got up and waited for the temperature to go up. While I was waiting I dropped the windshield down to its lowest setting. I also adjusted the rear shock to a slightly, 3 clicks, softer setting. Around 10 A.M. it was 48 degrees so I hit the road. Right off the bat I noticed that with the windshield at a lower setting it made no difference in the wind flowing over the top of my helmet. I raised my hand up in front of my eyes and up to the top of my helmet. I could feel the wind still flowing an inch or two over my head. What I did notice was my estimated gas mileage jumped up. The St has an on board computer gives you a running estimate of gas mileage. With the windshield down it was showing an average of over 40 mpg. When it had been at its higher setting it was averaging around 34 mpg. I was running into a head wind all the way until I turned to head for the San Francisco Bay area. All of a sudden I had a 25-30 mph wind from the right side. I don't know if you have ever seen this following a motorcycle but I know it looks weird. The riders head stays in one place and the whole bike moves off to the side. I was doing this for 20 miles, windy as hell. When you would pass a truck all of a sudden there would be no wind then as you finished the pass, whoosh the wind was back. I pulled in to Novato, Ca to get something to eat. While I was there 3 guys came up to quiz me about the St. So we went outside to look over the bike. Each of them took turns sitting on it. They had all looked at the same comparable Yamaha model. None of them liked the seating position on the Yamaha.
- Bill Barrett, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-21 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode the new ST1300 for awhile, then proceeded to a Yamaha dealer that had a FJR 1300 on the floor because the guy who ordered it could'nt close the deal. Just my luck--so I bought it on the spot. What a bike. The ST1300 is a horrendous piece of s*** up against the FJR! The ST felt loose and sloopy, especially around fast 'sweepers'. And the way that windshield vibrates around was awful. The noise the engine makes reminds me of a bike the 'Jetsons' would ride. Make the comparison before buying the ST1300...Hommie
- Bruce Macdonald, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: