Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda ST1300 reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim Kriegel

PA

Reviewed on 2017-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This has been a splendid bike, but at 725lb., my arrival at 72 yrs. of age, tho fit, has raised questions about my continuing ability to control it at very low speeds. The decision was hastened by the arrival of a 430 Yamaha triple in the fleet. The lighter bike has restored my confidence and almost left me feeling like a kid again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Noll Davis

Winchester, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2012-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it new back in 2004 and I have never put this many miles on one bike before. She is running as strong as the day I brought it home back in 2004. Change oil and filter, spark plugs, brake pads, headlight and tires. I head out tomorrow to the west coast and not worry about it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Wesley Chapel, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-10-31

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It might seem unfair to compare the ST to a luxury touring bike, but the ST is a touring bike too sport touring. First of all, the ST is an awesome bike. It is very agile and doesn't lack anything when it comes to power. It will go faster than the law, or my good sense, will allow. It doesn't have some of the creature comforts of a luxury tourer, but it is also considerably less expensive. A luxury tourer is the more comfortable of the two, but the ST is by far the most responsive. It is also slightly more economical to drive. I have averaged 40 MPG on the highway on my luxury tourer and 50 MPG on the ST. The ST is easier to service and maintain. The fairing is much easier to remove and the air filter is a lot easier to replace. Changing the oil is about the same. There aren't as many aftermarket accessories for the ST and the ones that are available are usually higher priced. I have had excellent service from the Honda dealers, both before and after the sale. I do a lot of my own maintenance and they have no problem with that. The owner's manual even clearly states the owner can do the maintenance and not affect the warranty. Other manufacturers don't allow that, and then charge exorbitant prices for their service. I have taken the ST on 3+ hour trips, ride it daily to work (70 miles round trip), and ride it just to relax. For the past two summers I have taken trips in excess of 7,000 miles. For the longer trips I will take my Wing. I wouldn't hesitate to take the ST on long trips if it were the only bike I had, but since I have the Wing I will use that instead. For trips shorter than 2,500 miles I will probably take the ST. The bottom line is the ST is an absolutely terrific bike. The Audiovox Cruise Control I added is really a must-have for trips. I replaced the stock seat with a Sergeant seat. That was a mistake. It looks a little nicer, but is no more comfortable. The handlebar riser from Motorcycle Larry has an ideal point to mount the Zumo 550.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Schwan

Kewaskum, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2008-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Most of us in our ever growing family of ST-owners call this bike Honda's best kept secret. I mean... How can a bike this dependable, this durable, this comfortable, this fast and maneuverable, and this capable of extreme touring (multiple Iron Butt entries) not be the best selling bike in America??? that's OK 'cuz I love it when I get approached at fuel stops and asked, "What is that?Originally I simply wanted a commuter bike for a 90 mile daily round trip, with storage and wind protection.... and ended up with a rekindled passion for riding. There are not enough stars to rate this bike! And to fellow shorter riders (5'6 with 28 inch inseam), I can flat foot one side and almost the other with the seat in the lowest position. Caution... this bike will cause extreme satisfaction!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd Dean

New London, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2007-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned many bikes over the years and call myself an avid rider. I enjoy 500 mile days and put in at least one 1000 mile day per year, just for fun! My typical mileage is 15,000 to 20,000 per year. The only reason I put this info in is so you can compare your riding habits with mine to see if the ST is right for you. I spent about a year trying to decide between the BMW 1150 RT and the ST-1300. I was looking for a used BMW, as the new RT's were out of my budget, and most of the good used ones were out of state. I settled on a new 2007 ST and have not regretted the decision. I picked it up the end of March and already have over 12,000 miles on it, end of August. I have been very pleased with gas mileage, 50 mpg, during commuting. I typically travel 70 to 75 mph, interstate, and gas mileage stays very consistent. During recreational riding when speeds are kept 60 and below I have had as good as 53 mpg, makes a big difference with gas prices around $3 per gallon. Everything about this bike has exceeding my expectations except for the saddle. This is a showroom saddle, not one that you want to be in for long tours. I will remedy that this winter with an aftermarket saddle, still doing my homework on that to pick a good one. The engine is very smooth at all speeds. This bike will flat out get up and haul the mail. I have had the bike to 150 mph and still did not hit the red-line limiter, it gets there quickly too. I did not buy the bike for pure sport, but it is nice to know that you can twist the throttle and get around a semi in very little time. It carries two-up with hardly even noticing and I'm sure will have plenty of power for a pull trailer. I have been very satisfied with this years color, titan silver, looks clean all the time. I have also been very impressed with Honda's pick for tires on this machine, Bridgestones. I still have my original tires and would estimate to have a couple thousand miles left on them, that is with dealer recommendation also. 15,000 miles especially on the rear tire is exceptional, however, the majority of my miles are commuting at constant speeds, although I'm sure wear is dependant on driving habits. If you are debating between sport touring bikes, you will not go wrong if you pick the ST. One other thing that made me choose this bike was very low maintenance outside of fluid changes, which I do myself. BMW recommends valve adjustments every 8,000 miles, the ST's first scheduled valve adjustment is at 40,000.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob Green

Tacoma, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-04-30

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Last year I upgraded from a 2004 VTX1800N Spec 3. I was looking for a nimble but comfortable bike to do some 300-400 mile days on. The St1300 did not fail me. I have ridden many 300+ days in the saddle in complete comfort. That is with the exception of the seat. Honda's stock seat is too soft and gave me some tail bone pain. This why I gave it a 4 for comfort. A custom seat by Rich's solved this and made the bike extremely comfortable. Out side of the seat no lower back or lower arm discomfort. With the windshield up the ride is amazingly quiet at 75 mph. Great gas mileage (43 mpg) with a long cruising range of over 300 miles on a tank. At low speeds the bike feels as if it weighs far less then it does. In the twisties this bike is extremely nimble. Braking is very good. I own the 2006 non-ABS model. In one incident I was rounding a turn to find a deer crossing the road. The brakes did an exceptional job.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray

Tamarac, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned a 2006 Honda Silverwing Scooter and I loved it, just turn and go, nice. I took a long trip on it and I had thoughts about if it could hold up for a really long tour (not that I plan one, but if I wanted to). The ST1300 was one of three Honda bikes that I looked at, along with Scootie, I also looked at the VTX1300C - three totally different bikes, that I loved for three different reasons - any of which would be enough to buy any of the three... long story short, I now have the ST1300. The power, comfort, build quality and everything about the bike that I can think of is wonderful. The dealer let me take one for a test drive, the ABS model, I was ready to buy it right then and there, but as I did not want the ABS version, I ordered the non ABS one - which is what I bought. I had to wait for a few days until they uncrated it. When I picked mine up, another customer had also purchased one as it was next to mine awaiting pick up. I basically love everything about the bike except my shortness. I have about a 29 inch inseam, and the bike is about 31 inches high, so I cannot sit flat footed. While the bike is indeed heavy, it rides like everyone says, light and nimble. The gas mileage is wonderful and I love the big tanks. My mileage for now is avg. around 38 MPG. I think it will avg out better over time and after break in, but Scootie got 42 mpg, so this is awesome so far! The other thing I have concern about is passenger comfort. My wife is slim and about the same height as me, when we rode the other day to see how we feel about it two up, she was sliding all over the darn place, slick seat, light wife, shifting and braking make for a lot of movement for my little girl back there. I looked at some after market seats, but am not convinced that a new one would be prudent as neither of us wants to break the sexy look of this bike, so I will continue to look around at everything and look over rider reviews too. I'll come back on the site and update this review after I break in the bike and get a couple hundred or so miles on it. Oh, a cool thing about the Silverwing trade in, it worked out pretty fairly, almost as if it cost me just a few dollars to try out the scooter for a year. That made the whole thing very nice... I got a lot of interesting looks whilst riding the scooter - it is huge, the looks I get on this bike are from thumbs up to a lot of folks just kind of admiring it in a lot more friendly way. It is not a crotch rocket and I am thankful abut that, but it is also not the ultra laid back Lazy Boy all day cruiser that the Gold Wing is. I did actually look over the Gold Wing this time around, but that bike is just way too big for me... more to follow shortly, I expect to put a LOT of fun miles on this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Over the years I've ridden five different motorcycles (2 cruisers, 1 standard, a sports bike, and the ST) for long distance interstate riding or cold/wet weather commuting. Now, with my 2006 ST1300, I have my Goldilocks bike: it's just right. The difference between riding the ST or a cruiser 3500 miles in a week or on a driving rain freeway commute (no matter how accessorized, and I tried everything) is the difference between a 1976 VW Bug and a new Lexus SC430. Still, if you just gotta have a touring bike with a lotta chrome, loose front end, uncertain handling, sparking pegs, painful ergonomics, no rain protection, a steady gale-force wind, and soft suspension, buy a cruiser. (I like cruisers but let's be honest.) And if you want 21st century engineering, near-complete weather protection, flawless gearbox, a smooth 100 horses with lots of torque and a totally forgiving power curve, 300 miles between gas stops, and like to be able to walk after 600 miles in the saddle, consider the ST. Alas, the ST is not a sportbike, although it handles somewhat like one once you get used to throwing 700 pounds around. But if you need a sport bike--and you know who you are--look elsewhere--you ain't going X-country on it anyway. (Hey, I keep a 919 in the garage, too. But I sure ain't gonna take it down the highway.) Someone I trust recently told me the V-Strom 650 is the best all-around plus touring bike ever made. Maybe. If so, the Honda ST1300 comes in 2nd.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Smith

Orangeville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-01-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have gone through a number of bikes looking for one that I want to have for the long term. Started with a Rebel 250 then a Shadow VLX600. Next a 750 ACE. Cruisers didn't cut it for long rides. Slow and stable yes, but power is lacking. Not so with the ST. Acceleration is available anywhere, any gear, just twist the wrist and go. I have added fairing flairs, heated grips and a good two-helmet Givi tail bag. Nice to have in the cold months in Pa. You can't carry too much cold weather gear here to ride out winter. Only quibbles I have are: It's slow to warm up and come to an idle, side bags are best left on, saddle in it's lowest position forces the rider to the front and on to the tank. Lower the back of the seat too please...Kick stand is too short. All together great bike, I love it and when I'm 80 I'll still put the key in it. Power, comfort, handling, storage space, can't beat it. Blows by the Beemer riders and sits while they gas up.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephan Matta

Bremerton, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda ST1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has been a joy to own and ride. It is very top heavy for a new or non husky type to ride. I just needed a better pilon bike. The ST, to continue to be sucessful with it's competion, needs to lose some weight and gain some power and farkles while retaining price competitiveness. For me, it was more than adequate for power. You can easily spend thousands in farkles making the bike fit you. The seat is good for only 200 miles (upgrade/airhawk), handlebar risers are a must and you need a trunk. Parking lots are a challenge even for a strong and expierenced rider. It is still a Honda with great reliability and drivability. Sell private if possible.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: