Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ciao2robo

Vallejo, California

Reviewed on 2005-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a gem. I put 30K miles on it: track days, lots of street, and a couple of 6 hour days. I consistently find that owners know and love this bike and the "experts" don't recommend it. It's not a dedicated race/track bike--of course. It took me 30K miles to grow out of it and upgrade to slightly better forks. I frequently blew away all brands: Ducati/Japanese/etc. I also received a lot of flack from other "riders" some talented, most not. Completely reliable enough to instill a ton of confidence from the rider. The only short-coming I see is the brakes: just add steel-braided on front ($65) and engine stalls after stoppies: reroute fuel lines. Biggest and goofiest myths: "Small tank and a gas guzzler" I won't even address gas mileage: it's a bike - enough said. <br />Tank: I could go a whole track day on one tank. <br />Touring: after 2 hours doesn't someone in the group need to fill up or use the restroom? I guess not. <br />Other myths: "It's a girl's bike" (?) Yes, in a way it's a good entry level performance bike with someone with some experience. Strengths: cheap! Pick a used one up with all the bells and whistles for nothing: just pay for tires and you're good to go! You can't break this thing. Totally flickable bike, carbs are incredibly smooth, comfortable, solid, tons of power, power band allows for a lot of ease in accelerating/deccelerating, etc.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

shovelhead_dave

Saxonburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a '98 and can't allow myself to get rid of it for a newer bike. The bike handles great, accelerates hard, brakes well, eats rear tires, but all in a sophisticated Honda manner. I have Two Brothers Racing oval cans on mine, my buddy has the rounds on his- both work great but the ovals sound better. I will never go back to an I-4 sportbike again. Lots of low end, and plenty of high end, if you really feel that you need it. By the way, it has seen 168 mph (indicated) and also a few high 11 second passes at the track. Hey, I weigh around 220, with no drag experience to boot, so I can't complain. I suggest trying one on for size.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Emporia, Kansas

Reviewed on 2002-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
Downers: It isn't the "Super" Hawk we all hoped for when Honda discontinued the original baby V-twin sportbike. Handling feels heavy (a 600 it ain't). won't throttle wheelie as advertised. Short range. Mirrors ('nuff said). Front brake lever pinches fingers against grip (can't correct). Mediocre suspension. UPs: WILL throttle wheelie if you work at it a little. Handles extremely well if you set up your entries correctly. Can't be beat for grins at the exits. AWESOME top speed for a twin (155mph indicated). GREAT for Saturday night at the Sonic drive-in. ("Wow, what's that?) Acceleration? No one's touched me up to 130mph, espec the TL1000 with aftermarket cans and mappable iginition. (Grin) Summary: Needs aftermarket exhaust cans, K&#038;N intake kit and a Jet kit; a Corbin seat; a few more teeth on the rear sprocket; MAYBE some adjustable clip-ons. Thumbs down to Honda. The RC51 is a dirty trick to sqeeze more money out of the buyers. This is one of the best bikes I have ever ridden. Honda could have gotten everything right the first time without telling us "oh, by the way, the RC51 is what we decided the SuperHawk should have been when we decided to take it racing." Worst Feature: I'm stuck with the best back-road twisties-eater I've ever owned...... in Kansas! Someday I'll see the Santa Cruz moutains again. Feel free to email w/responses or suggestions.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

nine96er

Huntsville, Alabama

Reviewed on 2002-01-13

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been jumping from bike to bike for a few years now and I have finally met my mate. This bike is "flickable", fast, sounds great, is comfortable (with Heli Bars and a throttle meister), and is one helluva Deal's Gap Asphalt Surfer. Get out right now and buy yourself one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan S.

St Joe, Michigan

Reviewed on 2001-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is heaven. Torque through the whole band, even low RPM in a high gear. Handles like a dream, Throttle hand goes numb on long straight rides, no big deal. Plenty of power but not overwhelming. Vtwin rumble leaves the inline 4s running for cover and turns heads. Love every minute on this machine, GET ONE.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rudy

NewYork

Reviewed on 2001-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Inline 4, no more. V-twin is in. If your considering one of these, jump on it. You will not regret it. Maximum range on 4.2 gallon tank is about 135 miles. It's worth every fill-up stop.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

russell

Atlanta , Georgia

Reviewed on 2001-01-15

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After removing the junk pieces of the body work (rear side reflectors, lower rear fender and tag light (put clear section in bottom of brake/tail light), rear seat cover and lower cowl) replacing the DOT3 with DOT5 (flush with alcohol, vacuum and flush again) and extending the unreachable side stand tab, I truly am happy with this machine. The stock chip and exhaust set-up are so close to spot on, that the cost to modify vs. the benefits gained is not even a consideration.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

New York

Reviewed on 2000-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike does everything it was intended to do in a fun way. It has the usual excellent Honda quality in engineering and finish. Love that v-twin sound with aftermarket cans. Loads of torque, light, and great handling make this bike easy and fun to ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Fort worth , Texas

Reviewed on 2000-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is so easy to wheelie, I have done several over 3 miles long. One wheelie with my girlfriend on the back was 2.3 miles at an indicated 125 miles an hour, just clicked into 6th gear on the way down. It's awesome!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will

Dallas Texas

Reviewed on 2000-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed1998 Honda VTR1000F Super Hawk

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
What a bike this is!!! This is a very user friendly bike that is a good for those looking to move into a liter bike without getting in too deep. This is a great bike for an everyday cruiser or for a weekend getaway. The only complaint I have is the range is alittle anemic. However overall this has been a great bike and has let me learn how to become a better rider by not punishing the rider when he makes a mistake. It is very forgiving with great powerband range. Very light, very nimble and that Vtwin rumble..
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: