Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

35 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

William Ardrey

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2008-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've taken long trips through the mountains and across the prairies and this bike won't quit. The fuel injection allows this bike to scream down the road at any elevation. For the price and performance I don't know how I could ever match it again. This after 28,000 miles of every extreme condition and speed there is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After shopping for 2 years for the perfect bike, I found a sweet deal on a 3 yr. leftover '03 1800R. I know, how lucky is that? I had looked at several makes and models but being a man of large stature, the 1800 fit better by far. The performance is unsurpassed. I've only put 5k on it but haven't had the first worry about anything to do with the reliability or quality of the bike. And for comfort, amazing. It's great for the big boys out there. If I had 5 thumbs, they would all be up for this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

HUGH

FRISCO, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own an 04 VTX 1800N. It's a sweet and powerful bike. I love it and it has a sweet custom paint job - orange/dark brown tiger strip w/tons of chrome. It turns lots of heads. It's priceless to me, eat your heart out Harley!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Fishkill, New York

Reviewed on 2007-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my retro VTX 06/03 and since then I have bolted on tons of chrome and a set of Vance & Hines pipes. The VTX has been reliable. The only thing I have done is replace the tires at 4500 miles and change the oil every 2500 miles. Honda makes a great product and I am looking forward to owning this bike many more years.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

L.L.Sherwood

Sugar Land , Texas

Reviewed on 2006-11-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2003 VTX 1800R right out of the box. My last M/C was a new 1979 Honda Gold Wing, a plain Jane, nothing on it and it was pure power. My VTX has never been to the shop for anything, I change the oil and it has not been in for the valve check, if it runs good, don't mess with it!It's a Honda, it will last forever, very low maintence. I had the Honda package added at sale, upgraded widshield w/large light kit, studded saddle bags, sissy bar w/pad. Just came back from a 400 mile trip to San Antonio Texas, beautiful ride, smooooooth running VTX with power to spare. The only thing I changed was the seat, put a complete Mustang w/backrest(studded)seat, it rides even easier now on longer trips. I was behind a Gold Wing at 80mph all the way home, not a problems 2 up on my VTX. A superior M/C that you will not want to trade in unless it's for another VTX.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

STEVE O.

OAKDALE, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-09-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I LOVE THE BIG BORE POWER OF THE 1800 BUT, IT'S NOT AS RESPONSIVE AS I WOULD HAVE HOPED. IT'S A BIT TOP HEAVY, SO SLOW SPEEDS ARE A DRAG. THE STOCK SEAT IS A BIT HARD ON THE REAR IF YOU RIDE VERY LONG. THE BIKE HAS A GREAT DEAL OF QUALITY TYPICAL OF HONDA. IT DOESN'T REQUIRE A LOT OF TROUBLE TO KEEP THIS BIKE RUNNING. IT'S A GREAT BIKE AT LEAST UNTIL I CAN GET A WING!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan

Watertown, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2006-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking at the new Dyna Street Bob, and really had my heart set on a Harley, when I came across this beauty sitting up the street from my house. I have had a couple of Hondas previously (81 CB500, 83 Nighthawk) so I took it for a test spin and fell in love with the bike. I don't know if I'll ever get a Harley now, but I'll never want for power or performance from this thing. Just awesome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dale Sallans

Nebraska

Reviewed on 2005-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 03 Retro as a holdover in May of 05. So far I am putting about 2K miles on a month. My last bike was a Suzuki Intruder LC 1500. It was more comfortable than the VTX; however that was the only thing I liked better. The VTX gets 10% better mileage than the Intruder, about 43 on the road, and it is a hoot to ride. You can ride through small towns and drop your speed to 40 without having to shift down. Living in the sand hills of Nebraska, I truly appreciate the way it handles in the wind. Side winds and semis were a problem on other bikes, but the VTX holds the road like a champ. I replaced the tires at 6800 miles with Metzler 880s and so far I really like them. Had trouble with a rattle in the headlight which the dealer fixed and now have to replace the starter solenoid, warranty too. All in all, a very good bike which ran great in the black hills.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dallas Ehring

Eastchester, New York

Reviewed on 2005-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike, it handles well when moving. It's a little tougher in traffic but then again it is a big heavy bike. I did have a couple of chrome problems pop up the first 2 months of owning it but was taken care of from the dealer. I did have a problem when I removed the front wheel for repainting of bike, the front left caliper bracket was rubbing the rotor. It took a while to cure that, otherwise the bike is great and next bike might be 2005 neo, love the looks...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin McLeland

Amarillo, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is an awesome piece of machinery. Almost all of my riding buddies ride hogs, but I couldn't see the extra 10k for what seemed like less bike. Boy was I right! I love to tease 'em when we ride; ride next to them in 4th or 5th and just twist a little and they are WAY back there! I have a Mustang seat and it helps a bounch with the sore butt complaints, but the power on the rides and the looks at the stops more than makes up for any loss in comfort. I had a chance this month to trade-in for a brand new Nomad (I've always loved the Nomad) but I tested it and after my Retro it seemed small and underpowered. I'll keep my VTX for quite a while I think.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 35 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: