Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

50 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Big John

Carlisle, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is an excellent ride especially when you hit the highway. It's better than any other Harley or Kawasaki I have ridden.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thomas D. Kane

Springfield, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2004 VTX 1300 used in early April 2007. It only had 1497 miles on it when I picked it up! It's a great bike but I'm not crazy about the plastic chrome and the motor sounds like it has a little rattle in the front. I don't know if this is normal or not! Over all, it has plenty of power and rides great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Belardnelli

Winter Park , Florida

Reviewed on 2006-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ever since the 2004 VTXC arrived on the show room floors over 2 years ago, I have dreamed of owning one. Ever since I sat on the bike, and put my feet flat on the floor, and after I could feel how comfortable I felt on the seat, I knew the bike was for me. I am a short guy, but big in stature. I like the fact that my bike is 1300 cc's of raw power. I bought the bike in Maryville Tennessee. They gave me a killer deal and great service. I rode the bike back to Orlando Florida where I am from. What a rush. The bike is totally bad!!! Performance and riding all in one!!! This bike moves, I even left those other riders with me (all riding Harleys) in my dust!!! Thanks Honda for making the best bike ever!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BOB OLASIN

LAFAYETTE, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2006-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
AFTER 20 PLUS YEARS OF NOT RIDING, I PURCHASED A USED 1982 HONDA MAGNA AND PUT 10K PLUS MILES ON DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF OWNERSHIP. I DECIDED TO BUY A NEW MOTORCYCLE AND AFTER 6-9 MONTHS OF COMPARING ALL MAKES AND MODELS, I DECIDED ON A 2004 HONDA VTX 1300R. IT'S BEEN 2 YEARS AND 22K MILES LATER AND I COULDN'T BE MORE SATISIFIED. I've BEEN TO NORTH CAROLINA(745 MILES IN ONE DAY)AND AVERAGE 200-300 MILES ON MOST DAYS OFF. I've MADE NO SEAT CHANGE BUT DO HAVE A GEL PAD ON THE SEAT FOR THE LONG RIDES. I WOULD BUY THE SAME MOTORCYCLE AGAIN AND FROM THE SAME DEALER. I ONLY EXPECT ADDITIONAL SERVICE AND ACCESSORIES WITH THE NEW OWNER. THANKS AGAIN.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PP

Port Clinton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-09-20

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 2 years, I could not be any more pleased with this bike. I made the right choice for sure. It's that good. The seat is a little uncomfortable still but that can be fixed with an aftermarket one. I would reccomend this bike to a fellow rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PEP

Port Clinton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I Just got my 04 1300s. It only had 650 miles on the odometer. When I picked her up. I've put 300 miles on it in just a few days. What a great bike! If you're in the market for a bike, look no further. It's that good.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kent Eisenhauer

Herrin , Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is awesome. It sticks to the corners very well. It has a lot of power and giddy-up. Cruises very good between 65 - 80 mph. After replacing the stock seat with a Mustang seat with driver backrest, I can ride for hours without discomfort. The stock seat was the only drawback to the VTX 1300 S for me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider

South West, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike in April of '04, and have approximately 5000 miles on her. It's going to be 60 soon and have a respect for riding motorcycles. Most of my trips are day rides between 100 to 200 miles. This bike truly rides s m o o t h ! Oh, sure it 'klunks' shifting down from 2nd to 1st but Honda reliabilty is more important... I'd buy another!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Lewis, Sr.

Natchitoches, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2005-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I picked up my '04 VTX 1300S in late August 2004, it was my first bike. I have been more than pleased with the performance, reliability, and comfort my "X" has brought. Most of my co-workers ride, they are a split of street bike riders and Harley owners. I can keep up with the younger street bikers and the Harley riders have complimented me by all "wanting the keys to that black bike out there". My only problem is finding more time in the saddle. I was also told to "buy what you want to ride", instead of buying small and wishing for more bike in a couple months, and have no regrets; this bike has basically taught me by itself. Stay safe and zap me if you're riding in the central Louisiana area!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can't give you a real technical reveiw, or even tell you how it handles on long trips. I purchased my 2004 VTX Retro a week before Thanksgiving and have only had a few chances to ride. I have owned one other bike, an older model 500cc that I had for about a year and a half around 15 years ago. I had the desire for a bike and narrowed my search to the 1100 Sabre and the 1300 VTX. The Sabre was winning out smaller and gave the impression of being less intimadating than the VTX's wide and low style. At the last hour a friend gave me some advice "I would rather learn to be comfortable on a larger bike than be comfortable and want a larger bike". Made sense so I went for it and I have no regrets. My Candy Red Retro is beautiful, and it handles fantastic. Now lets talk sound. Before I bought, I read reveiws on the bike where several had complaints on noise. Load clanks and things they just didn't like. I read through them and noticed most of the complaints were coming from people who had owned Hondas before. My guess is they didn't understand this is Honda's attempt at Harley's market. The bike is made to be noticed, not slip by not being heard. This isn't to say it will wake your neighbors, but it calmed my fears of having to put new pipes on just to get some sound. To sum up, I Love It; No regrets. I'll be going to Washington DC this May I'll let you know how it does.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 50 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: