Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX1800R reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ron Higginbotham

Sheridan, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2009-07-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Aesthetically a thing of beauty, a work of art. Jack be nimble Jack be quick Jack jumped over anything that gets in his way. For a cruizer, it's got a little crotch rocket in it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Shawnee, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-11-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First, the background. I'm a very experienced rider (70K+) who was in the market for a new or nearly new HD. I kept dropping by the Honda shop to check out their used Harleys. After seeing the 1800S, it didn't take me long to reconsider. After a test ride, there was no turning back. Less than 2 weeks later, I've racked up nearly 1000 miles, &#038; can't stay off the thing, even in November. Of course, the appearance grabbed me at first glance. I love the classic, retro styling. Sitting on it revealed the most perfect ergos I've ever experienced on a motorcycle. While I'm relatively short, my legs and arms aren't, so it's always been a tradeoff. The floorboards were a hit. I've ridden bikes with floorboards before, but they just didn't seem to be in the right spot. The big VTX fit me like I designed it. Then there's the motor. Visually stunning, and operationally outstanding. Remember, I was in the market for a HD big twin with 70hp/90ft lbs torque, so the 110 inch VTX with its 106/120 numbers was like a dream come true. No more wishing I had more power &#038; torque going up hills or against a big Okie headwind. I've spent the last 5 years on an 883 Sportster, so you can imagine I'm in horsepower heaven. The power isn't of any use if you can't get it to the ground, and I found that the gearing was really spot-on. A low first gets all the mass moving, then 2-4 gets you there with all the thump you need. Fifth is there for the ride when you get out in the open. In fact, it took me a while to get used to using fifth at 55. Initially, I thought I was lugging the motor. While letting my brother ride it, with me trailing on his Road King, the VTX's exhaust note let me know that it wasn't lugging at all. I just wasn't used to all that torque down low. Once you get out on the super slab, that fifth gear has plenty of leg room, with a sweet spot that stretches from 65 to 85. The only downside is that running at 80 will diminish the MPG noticeably. In fact with me at the controls, MPG is always diminished. I just can't seem to keep my hand out of the throttle. Roll-ons are a blast. A healthy dose of throttle at 50 in third will have you grinning' like a possum. Do the same at 70 in fourth and you'll be on the top side of triple digits in very short order. This thing pulls like an airplane taking off. I feel guilty for submitting to this new addiction, but I'm hooked. I've noted to anyone who'll listen, that the brakes on this beast work at least as good as the motor. The modified linked braking system feels very natural, and affords controlled quick stops in about as short a distance as I can imagine. I've yet to lock the wheels, and yes, I've tried. There are not many miles on the odometer yet, but with a grand in the first week, I'm getting the feel of it, and it feels like I'm looking forward to a really long relationship. On a finishing note, the stock 1800S saddle had studs, so I accessorized to match. On my backside meter, I've logged 250 miles in one day with no ill effects. On other bikes, I've experienced the need to get off at as few as 15 miles. My wife is still considering recommending an aftermarket seat, but at this point, I'm very happy with the stock seat, both in appearance/fit and comfort. If I were to ever wear this bike out, you can be sure my first look will be at the next generation of the VTX.<br />
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Norman

Bowie, Maryland

Reviewed on 2007-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went through the MSF Course at the local community college, got my license, and bought this as my first bike. One of the instructors at the class advised us to get the bike we really wanted, instead of getting a smaller one and learning on it before moving up. Am I glad he said that, because I bought a crated 2005 Spec 3, in Black. After adding minimal accessories, like a back-rest and saddlebags, I rode off into the sunset with it, and have had a ball. The VTX is amazingly easy to learn to handle, as long as one remembers to start off slow and not push it's limits while still learning it's temperment. This bike is very balanced, and goes through turns and corners in an almost intuative manner. It is smooth, but with so much power that you need to be very careful with the clutch throttle and brake levers, so that you don't let the bike get away from you. All that being said, this is the most fun one can have out of bed I have ever seen. It is responsive, balanced, comfortable (although I haven't taken it on a ride longer than 1 hour yet), and well designed. About the only downer is the grips could be made more comfortable, but a pair of ISO grips is in this bike's very near future.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have just completed the initial maintenance (600 miles) on my new VTX and can say without reservation that I just love this bike. I was drawn to the 1800 by 'word of mouth'. Originally, I was not considering a Honda at all, but leaning toward a Susuki or Kawasaki Cruiser. My body size just seemed to fit nicely on those bikes. (Ironically, my local dealer did not have an 1800 in stock and I was making my comparisons against the 1300's, which were just a little too small for me.) But, eventually I found a dealer with an 1800 and fell in love with it the minute my tail hit the seat. Then I started my research.....the feedback and data were overwhelmingly in favor of the VTX1800 as being the overall best cruiser on the market. Finally I found a dealership on the web and a marriage was made. I found a 'left-over' 2005 VTX1800S for the right price and it now sits in my garage. Most of my riding has either been trips into town for errands or rides up the canyon toward Woodland Park. The bike is big and heavy but that gives it great stability at highway speeds. Amazingly for this big of a bike it handles mountain corners wonderfully well. I have only had my 'S' for 4 weeks and riden for 600 miles but I can give it two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Antonio Santagata

linton, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-03-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a wonderful machine. Looks, style and performance all in one package. Can't believe the ease of riding such a massive machine. Carries passenger with no effort at all. My Harley friends hate me as they can't keep up!!!Scary fast if you're not paying attention. Wife loves the ride, makes my life much easier!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Scriven

Valley Springs, California

Reviewed on 2007-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
With over 65K miles on my X, I think this is one of the best bikes I have ever owned. Visit some of the VTX web sites and you will find the majority of owners agree. I'll expect to put well over 100K miles on it and know several people that have over 100K on their bikes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Moore

Provo, Utah

Reviewed on 2006-12-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have yet to find something wrong with this machine, well it does get low fuel mileage, (but maybe that's because of the throttle controller, meaning the person doing the twisting) which when twisted responds quite well. With two riders it just glides, and I can't get enough free time to really enjoy it. I bought mine new in June of '06 and then went to Sturgis with a bunch of buddies, what a great time. Mine is a spec 3, S version and I'd buy the same machine for long travel. Piped it sounds awesome, and most newbies think it costs MUCH more than the going price. GREAT BIKE!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dale Sallans

O'Neill, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2006-08-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a 2003 VTX 1800R holdover in 2005. The power, torque, ride in the wind, all of these things was great. At 12000 I started to hear a rattle in the engine and found that the cam chain was stretched, taking out most of the top end when the cam jumped a cog. So far I know of 2 other VTX-s, all 03s, with the same problem. The cam chain is lighter than one put in a four wheeler and has a long run on top of it all. Still don't know if Honda will or can fix it. Get your chains checked if you have one of these critters!! Damage was estimated at $3,100.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Murray, Utah

Reviewed on 2006-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my VTX 1800 R (Black Beauty) from Honda East two years ago. Notice, I'm not even close to Ohio, but, the deal they offered me online was the best anywhere. There wasn't a dealer out here that came within $1k of deal they made for me... and that included shipping. Two years and almost eight thousand miles later and the trade in value of the bike is about what I paid new. This is one of four bikes in the garage, but it is always the first one out, and the others mostly just collect dust now. Love the bike. Although I don't push the limits of this monster, there isn't a cruiser on the road that comes close to its' performance. The stock exhaust is very mild, but, all the folks who ride with me know that sound doesn't equal speed. They know the VTX is relatively silent but definitely deadly. If there is a complaint to be made it would be the seat it's a little hard after about 100 or so miles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy Schaumburg

Killeen, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Last year I purchased my first Motorcycle in 25 years. I purchased a Suzuki C50 to get started in the cruiser line. I have passed it onto my Son because he is ready and I purchased the Honda VTX 1800R. All I can say is what a machine. For a big bike (and I mean Big) it is surprisingly easy to handle. When I say easy to handle I mean at low speeds practicing slow manuvers which are most difficult. On the road it is a dream, smooth, and powerful are the words that come to mind. Fuel is used on the low end at 32mpg and high end 42mpg, it is best on fuel on the road, this crusier likes to cruise. The seat is.... well it is a motorcycle seat and takes some getting use to. Honda could have added a clock but over all I love the Bike and would recommend it to anyone that had been riding awhile. This is a real crusier but not a good first bike. If it proves to be half as reliable as my Suzuki (and I am sure it will) it is going to be the standard by which all bikes are measured. Great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: