Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles Reviews (94)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2019-06-19 2000 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike new in 2001. It still looks and runs like new and still catches the eye of others. It has 1520cc of power, runs very smooth and is extremely dependable. It's great for city and highway driving but due to the fact that it has 6 cylinders, it can be just a tad heavy on slow moving corners because of the wide engine. Overall, a great ride for one or two.
- Robert Rzepka, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-22 2014 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned two Runes and three Goldwings and a 1500 Valkyrie. Needless to say, I'm a fan of the flat 6. I was very excited to see that Honda was brining back the Valkyrie, however, when I saw one in person, I was disappointed in the looks of it. While it had a beefy stature that I liked, I thought it lost much of it's charm. Fast forward several years: I decide to sell my Rune and I was in the market for another cruiser. I looked at Suzukis, Yamahas and Honda's other offerings. I was initially considering the F6B...very seriously. But, since I already have a 2005 Goldwing (which I keep in another state at a vacation home), I wanted something different. The look of the Valkyrie started to grow on me. I straddled the beast and it felt well balanced, minimalistic (in a good way), and broad shouldered. I knew I found my next bike. Without test driving it, I just bought it. It's a screaming joy! Crazy fast, super balanced. Honda scored again. The beast is back!
- Jonathan Preiss, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-21 2013 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The stock pegs/valve cover placement make foot placement cramped and uncomfortable for distance, no problem for short local rides. So I installed Rivco Aero Highway Cruise pegs for the ride home. The Rivco pegs are marvelously comfortable and well worth the investment. Most notable was the high-pitched whine of the flat six, zero vibration at 60-65, and the exceptional balance and feel of the 750 pound Valkyrie. Felt like a 650 pound sportbike. It shifts and rides very smoothly but seems like it could use an overdrive at 80 mph. The windshield is too short and caused buffeting. The bags provided ample storage space and cargo rack worked well. Needs a Throttle Lock, bought a Brakeaway, not yet installed. Overall very fast, powerful, and comfortable with cruise pegs installed, a must if you are tall. At night the LED headlight disappointed a bit, as a thin, horizontal decorative strip bisecting the headlamp causes the low beam to fall short on the road.
- Robert Hounchell, Wellington Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-04-01 1999 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros; fast, comfortable, easy to maintain, beautiful, cheap. Cons; short range, brakes could be better, it's large and heavy. In my opinion, Best Cruising Motorcycle Ever.
- Rick, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-07 2001 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Valk is my 11th bike in 34 years of riding. I had a BMW K 1200 RS before which was a fine bike. Valks are not very common here but when I saw this 11 year old beast by a local dealer I was in love straight away. I was not planning on changing bikes but I did after I test drove the Valk. Maybe because I'm getting older and I found myself hanging more and more to retro styling because all this modern futuristic bikes these days I cannot fall in love with. Also self maintenace is getting very hard on modern bikes these days. Back to basics with carberutors my last bike with that was 12 years ago. I never owned a cruiser before. The Valk is more normal with plenty power to have loads of fun. It fits my style of riding. The bike fits my stature more and it does have a great ride with great cornering. I still drive with some BMW friends and they are suprised at first that I could keep up with them even give them a run down for there money. The only disappointing thing was the fuel usage. I think in the states you travel around 75 miles an hour then this bike is great with 3000 revs but here, well everybody drives around 140 km (90 nm) and then the fuel usage is very high. It means a tank stop every hour, that's shit but I can live with that because the fun factor is very high on this bike. Also the look factor - people look at me and start conversations about the bike and that's a first for me. I like it and I will keep it for years to come. And I am on zero now I could get used to milecounter so I chanced it to km counter now I start fresh al km are mine from now on to make.
- TK, Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-03 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike ever produced. It performs, it handles, it cruises, it tours, it has style, and if you're a good rider you can hit the twisties and keep up with and even blow off a lot of the crotch rockets. It's absolutely solid and dependable and pretty easy to do routine maintenance on if you have a lift. It's too bad Honda stopped producing it. I test ride different bikes every chance I get and nothing is as smooth or comfortable to ride. The Triumph Rocket III is a powerhouse but it's also overkill. More power than you need on public roads (so does the Valkyrie for that matter) and it's not as pretty as the Valk but is very comfortable. I like the looks of the Kawasaki 2000 Vulcan but it's not as comfortable or smooth as the Valkyrie nor can you lean it as far in corners without dragging something. A Valkyrie is better than a Harley in every way. I like to ride and that's what a Valkyrie is for. I guess if I just wanted to ride from one bar to another or hang out at all the dealer parties a Harley would be fine, but bars and such aren't my lifestyle. The resale value of my Valkyrie may be terrible compared to Harley but who cares? I'll keep mine 'til I'm dead anyway.
- Mike Giebler, Louisburg, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my second, I trashed the 1st one on a deer at 48,000 miles. I have 43,000 on this one. I also have a 1800 VTXc that I use to commute to work I prefer the Valk. I can afford any bike I want but there is nothing finer than a Valk. Power, looks, comfort, style and quality. I did 5500 miles this year in two weeks; Chicago to California and back via Phoenix, San Diego, LA and SF and back. The year before it was the northwest and this coming year it will be the northeast. Never a problem, flawless performance, absolutely dependable machine. Honda made a huge mistake not upgrading the Valkyrie as it was with an 1800 engine. I'm looking for a tourer to replace my VTX so I can have two Valks.
- Bud Harton, Lleland, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had two Valks now, a 97 Standard and now have a 99 Tourer. Most reliable comfortable bike I have ever owned. I can and do blow Triumph R3's away in the real twisties. Have ridden all the new 06 and 07 cruisers that they are putting out, including all the Honda twins, (Hear me Honda, if I wanted a twin, I would buy HD) and not one of them feels or goes as good as a Valk.
- Colin Manion, Taumarunui, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O-Yea, ridin' buddy, my son and I, we've been ridin' the beast for three years. Lately we've been on the look out for a better bike. Think we may be ridin the beast for many more years to come. We live in MI where it's cool to ride most of the time, so we really enjoy the furnace between our legs, (nicknamed the turkey cooker). At 25 mpg it's nice to know you are getting dual use for your fuel. By the way, Baker Air Wings are the best up grade you can buy for the beast. Two of the Valks have driver's back rest which makes the Valk real close to my Lazy Boy. My riding bud really missed the handle bar buzz that he enjoyed on his old Kawie Concourse. At the Hoot. We had our beasts off road (through the median) and hill climbin in the hills of Kentucky, they'll do it all but it takes some good sized kahunas, and o-yea we've got-em.
- S. Maier, Caledonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike I have ever had the privilege of riding. Awesome all around. Oh by the way Harley guys, the next time we meet at a stop light I would love to answer your question "So, what is that anyway," but I don't want to embarrass you around your buddies after my Honda blows the freakin' doors of your little hoggy.
- Anonymous, Kokomo, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-23 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Until this one. The looks, the power, the weight, the speed, the comfort, the handling, the torque, the reliability... Well, I could go on. I ride this thing in all types of weather and all year around. I've never done that with any other bike I have owned. This bike doesn't do well in the grassy areas. Well, use common sense. When gassed it will go straight to the ground. It will also do wheelies, but will come down hard at high speeds.
- Niterider, north, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-13 2001 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Valk in August '04 and was able to get a good two months of riding in before winterizing. The upcoming season will only be my fourth, and the Valk is my 3rd machine (following a 600cc Kawasaki Eliminator, then trading up to a BMW R1150R before moving up to the big Honda). I thought my Boxer Twin BMW engine was smooth, and it is. HOWEVER, it doesn't compare to the Flat Six. Admittedly, the Beemer is quicker, being over 220 pounds lighter, but when you get to 80-90 mph it starts to feel a little bit uneasy. Conversely, the Valk lives for high-speed cruising. 90 mph feels like 60 on a smaller bike. Another comparison: The BMW is better in slow-moving traffic and in the parking lot. The Valk can handle the slow traffic okay, but isn't its natural habitat. Once you get moving to at least 15 mph it feels just fine. The one thing I absolutely love is how authoritative this machine is on the road (seems to say "Here I come; get out of my way"). It's one of those bikes that people tend to gawk at--primarily because of that engine. It has a definite PRESENCE. Another cool thing is how a lot of diehard Harley owners admit that they admire the Valk, as opposed to other non-Harleys. I couldn't think of a more appropriate name for my bike than "Bruiser." There are bigger machines, but you won't catch me on a Boss Hoss anytime soon. Bruiser and I are compatible with each other and it should be a long relationship. Never say never, though. Should Honda bring back the 1520cc Valk with fuel injection, or better yet, a redesigned V-65 Magna, I may be tempted to make another switch.
- Matt Woodruff, Traverse City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2000 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You have already heard everything you need to know about the Valkyrie from a technical point of view. Let me take it to the next level. You are riding through the hill country of central Texas or the mountain highways of Colorado. On a Harley, or Harley equivalent, you will be able to associate yourself with Mother Nature. At the same time you will always have a strong association with the motorcycle due to its predominant sound and pulsation. On a Valkyrie the trip takes on a different dimension. The Valkyrie has no sound and the only physical sensation is the slight twist of your right hand on the throttle and the subtle but forceful acceleration of a quiet engine with exceptional dynamic range. After about 20 miles of riding you can completely disassociate yourself from the Valkyrie and it will be just you and Mother Nature. You may have to keep reminding yourself that you have not died and gone to Heaven yet. You simply experience Heaven on Earth on the latest evolution in motorcycles.
- Jerry Spoor, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-08 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned Valks since they came out in '97. My present Valk is the Interstate. I have over 150,000 miles on them with no warranty claims! It is simply the "last word" in high quality heavy cruisers! The only draw-back I have noticed is the fuel economy on the road at high speed. When cruising at high speed the Valks will drop drastically in mpg, as low as 25 mpg. However, in town, nursing the bike, I get over 40mpg!
- Ben Sanders, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-21 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You have already heard everything you need to know about the Valkyrie from a technical point of view. Let me take it to the next level. You are riding through the hill country of central Texas or the mountain highways of Colorado. On a Harley, or Harley equivalent, you will be able to associate yourself with Mother Nature. At the same time you will always have a strong association with the motorcycle due to its predominant sound and pulsation. On a Valkyrie the trip takes on a different dimension. The Valkyrie has no sound and the only physical sensation is the slight twist of your right hand on the throttle and the subtle but forceful acceleration of a quiet engine with exceptional dynamic range. After about 20 miles of riding you can completely disassociate yourself from the Valkyrie and it will be just you and Mother Nature. You may have to keep reminding yourself that you have not died and gone to Heaven yet. You simply experience Heaven on Earth on the latest evolution in motorcycles.
- Jerry Spoor, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-26 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding Harleys, Moto X and 1100cc sport bikes, this is the last bike I'll buy. Good comfort, fantastic beast of a motor, sounds like a NASCAR and has the guys at the Harley shop drooling and scratching their heads. Predicatable Honda reliability, but I'm not sure if some of the cheesy plastic chrome parts are for weight savings or cost reduction. Best bike I've ever owned! Get one while you can.
- Grant Leslie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-11 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the Valkyrie for a week and a half now - what a bike! Smooth and quiet (especially compared to the VTwins I'm used to riding). Big, but doesn't feel like it. Handles great. Screams "customize me!", which I'm in the process of doing. A definite winner and keeper here!
- glenn0327, clifton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-06 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my valk in May 03 after not riding for about 23 years. I have logged 4000 some miles on her without one problem and have clocked 140 miles an hour with no trouble. I rode from Missouri to West Virginia round trip last October through rain and sunshine and she purred like a kitten. I will never part with her.
- Chuck Dodrill, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-02 1999 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden since I was 13, I am 45 now. Bought a 1998 in 2000. It had 8000 miles on it. It now has 44000 miles. Starts every time, even after sitting two weeks, starts instantly. Will run 100 mph all day long with two up plus gear, not even a deep breath. Not one drop of fluid has leaked. Big head turner. I commute 80 miles a day on it. Many trips to Vegas, Tahoe, Sacramento, Reno, Death Valley. (did vegas to santa rosa in 8 hours) It's the only type of bike I will ever have from now on. Only thing I care about more is my kid, but just barely. (Just kidding)
- mitch davis, santa rosa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-21 1999 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many years without owning a bike, I decided it was time to purchase another one. My first experience was on a Yamaha Radian (600cc). My first ride on the Valk was a tad intimidating, just based on the size alone. It's a 99 that I purchased in the fall of 2003 with only 2200 miles on it!! I've added another 1300 miles in a few short months. My wife and I love the comfort and quiet when we go out for a ride. Being the Orange/Black paint scheme- it turns heads everywhere we go. I will own this bike for many years to come!
- Steve, Penacook, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is heavy, but a dream on the road. Needs a windshield (which is ordered), but is a mechanical miracle. It draws looks wherever I ride or park it. I like it almost as much as my Acura CL-S. No one builds motors like Honda (see the Indy 500) and this is no exception.
- Jerry C Larsen, Seabrook, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-24 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a few months ago I purchased a new 2003 Valkyrie. I had wanted one of these beauties since I saw one for the first time. This bike is everything I thought it would be. Even the most die hard metric hater can't say that this bike isn't beautiful. I knew it would move, but I continue to be surprised at just how fast it is. It also handles incredibly well. It weighs in dry at 681 lbs but it handles like a much smaller bike. I have had a couple of run-ins with sport bikes which left them wide eyed. They finally caught up to me and wanted to stop and look at the Phat Lady. Their best parting shot was I bet you can't do a stoppie with that hoss. I prefer both wheels on the ground. This baby really performs, is comfortable, handles great, and can cruise at high speed all day long. This is a do everything cruiser. I LOVE IT.
- Roy Bradshaw, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-01 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agonized for months before pulling the trigger. I love the looks and the feel of V-twins and the Valkyrie stands in stark contrast to everything V-twin. That said, I was wooed by the legend of the Valkyrie: terrific handling, exceptional performance, maximum comfort and all of this in a bullet proof package. I took the plunge without even test riding one. After 1000 miles, I can honestly say that it was one of the best bike related decisions I have ever made. The Valkyrie is everything they say it is and more. The engine is amazing. Silky smooth and she can run all day long at high speeds without breaking a sweat. The best thing about the engine is the go power. I mean crack the throttle, and it is GONE! Handling? This bike, despite it weighs 700 lbs, handles as easily as my Ace 750 once you reach speeds of a few miles per hour or more. And the fact that it uses pegs instead of floorboards, (dictated by the engine) means there is considerable ground clearence. You can really lean this bike over on her side before any touches pavement. This bike really is the great all around bike. It's a great touring bike, a boulevard crusier, a performace bike, you name the game and she's ready to play. If you love V-twins, it will take some time to get used to the new lines - and some may never get used to them. I guess it may come down to this: Do you buy a bike to ride or to look at? If you want a bike to ride, you must test drive this bike!!!
- Jladd, Crystal Lake, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2001 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I tested several bikes before going with the Valk. I have no regrets, it is the smoothest, most comfortable ride on the road. The Cobra straight 6 pipes don't hurt either.
- Scott, Sumner, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-19 2001 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you don't mind looking a little different from the others, this bike will do long, smooth, trouble free, trips. No shaking or vibration, plus lots of power. With the price of the newer models and this to my knowledge no longer being offered, it's a good deal and alot of bike for the current used prices. If you find a garage queen Valkyrie you should jump on it even if it is over book price. Power and quality ...
- no one you know, Daytona, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: