Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

23 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

James Vander Poel

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2017-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A comfortable ride for one. More power than you can safely use. Good riding position, low center of gravity. A 900 lb beast that draws attention everywhere. Especially noticeable when riding with a group of Harleys.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

barron

boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2008-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Rune is a wonderful ride. It is smooth, comfortable, reliable and fast. The elaborate trailing link fork does not dive - not at all. The engine accelerates effortlessly and on a slow summer day, I've seen 51 mpg. How cool it is to have a flat six cylinders on two wheels! High speed handling is like a locomotive on wheels. The low speed handling requires good form and confidence. The long wheelbase, hardtail style rear end, trailing link fork and 811 lbs dry weight create rock solid feel on two lane roads and highways. This bike will spoil you. Build quality is unbeatable, layer after layer of precise-fitting chromed parts. The only negative thing I find is the lack of a self-canceling turn signal.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck Shickley

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2008-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike new 2 years ago. I split lanes on the 405 the first day. It has heavy steering and requires very deliberate force on the handlebars to corner tightly at slow speeds but the amount this bike can be laid over in a smooth turn is amazing considering how low it is. Get it out on the freeway and this cruise missile keeps up with the crotch rockets to about 120mph where I tend to start to contemplate my mortality. Longest ride was to Big Sur with a couple Beemer guys. It is not hard to ride at high speed without a fairing. The stretch of the headlight creates a laminar flow of air that if you lean forward into it holds a full face helmet up nicely with no buffeting in the head or chest. It turns heads in Brentwood here in West LA and that's not easy with all the Aston Martins, Lamborghinis, etc. People ask me what it is all the time or just stand and stare at it. Always remember to stand up over big freeway bumps. The rear sport suspension can pound you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nate Monie

Woodstock, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike without ever riding it or ever seeing one in person. I knew from the day my friend emailed a photo of it to me and said 'THIS bike is YOU' I had to have it. Once I took delivery of it and straddled this beast and fired it up, the grin did not come off my face for hours. My inaugural ride was over 500 miles from the dealership to my home and I could not have been happier. It performs even better than it looks. I have only owned it for 5 months now, and already have 10000 miles on it. The power from the HO six engine is super smooth and the torque is unbelievable, and the linked braking system is awesome. The only thing I wish Honda had done better is spec'd a more durable front tire for this beauty. I've had to replace the front after only 5800 miles and I am close to replacing the front again, while the rear tire still has lots of tread. That said, this is the most refined, elegant, and complete bike I have ever owned or ridden in my 40+ years of riding, bar none!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Danny Davis

Mount Juliet, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2007-09-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I never knew that this bike even existed until my son told me to go and take a look at the 2004 Rune. After the test ride I said, "Let's make a deal.I had just seen the Harley Rocker C pictures on the web site and bike fever started to come over me. But I'm very glad I did not make that choice now. My 2004 Rune had only 4 miles on it when I bought it the month of September 2007 and I've only put 400 miles on it so far. But I can tell you I've found my friend for life. My wife likes a cool looking bike and I doubt I'll ever find one that looks better than this one. The ride is smooth, the look is great, and people strain their necks to get a look at it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Harleyfan

pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-01-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well it runs smooth, powerful, handles well and is quite comfortable and sometimes it takes a little muscle to move it around but man this thing just looks great. It could use a beefier deeper exhaust sound though. Why Honda only made this bike for one year is crazy. They should keep making this bike and offer it every year in limited production. Price is a bit steep on this one, but look what you get. A one of a kind and there is no mistaking this for any other bike. I have ridden Harleys all my life but when I saw this, I had to get one. Nice bike and I haven't had to wrench on it yet or take it in. Great bike but the price....OUCH.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Melik

Salwa, Kuwait

Reviewed on 2006-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own several bikes inlcluding Harleys, BMWs, and other. None could match the performance, styling and comfort in its class. What a wonderful shift of Honda's design team. I hardly ride my BMW now, I do still ride my Fat Boy but prefer riding my Rune. I would love to ride it all the way to Baghdad, Iraq.. but I may want to wait until things settle down a bit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Culp

Shreveport, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2005-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased my Rune and at first was concerned about the weight. The weight goes away very quickly and after about 40 miles I felt very comfortable on the bike. (This is my 40th something bike and I currently own other V-twins.) I just returned from Daytona and had a great time with the bike. At Daytona one gets to experience first hand how a bike handles in stop and go traffic and also on the open road. I give the Rune good points on all around handling.<br /> This Bike has to have costed Honda a lot to make and probably has lost money on them but it does make a statement.<br /> Everything about the bike is so different from the normal bikes of today.<br /> When the grip is twisted things happen. And they are good things. It has a lot of torque and the sound is great although a bit quiet.<br /> The backlash and throttle sensitivity are a bit of a pain. I put a couple of o-rings on the twist grip (between the grip and housing) and that gave me the slightest bit of friction and solved the problem.<br /> The riding position is a bit cramped for my legs but otherwise is a reasonably comfortable ride. People seem to love it including the v-twin guys and most appreciate the work that went in to the building of such a bike. Kind of like the union between a locomotive and motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

water boy

cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine last week. It was a sweet ride. Best ever. Some chicks were checking me out and I popped a wheely to impress them and the bike just took off on me. I slid down the expressway for about a 500ft, the bike ghost rided for a mile then just vanished into a guard rail. I must say the bike was easily fixed. It held up to that crash. that's because of the quality Honda puts into their bikes, this thing helps up good. I did the same on a kawasaki and it disintagrated when it got hit. Good job honda. And know, I didn't get those chicks phone #, so no doing wheelies!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Foolardi

Cleveland,O., Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can't stand it any longer.I've owned my Rune for 2 years this july,and cautiously waited until i reached the 10,000 mile marker before stating my viewpoint. The Rune is far &#038; away THE finest Motorcycle, by and large,ever manufactured.It Rules. It is heavy,but does not feel hefty,once in gear.It's long,which makes for true balance and ride-ability on the straights. It handles very competently, and with swervy grace, along the twisties. It has more than enough torque. Overall...an absolute sweet ride!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 23 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: