Honda XR400R Motorcycles Reviews (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda XR400R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda XR400R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-03-15 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My only complaint is that it can be hard to start especially when it's below 50 degrees. Other than that I couldn't ask for a better trail bike. I am a large person and the bike is plenty big for me. Its also good on gas and very easy on maintainance. I've never had a problem with the bike. It's still running on original everything except gas and oil, including tires, which is amazing because this thing flies! I've clocked it at 78 mph. on gravel, a 200-pound rider could easily break 80 mph. on asphalt. It wheelies with ease and if you give it too much gas in 1st gear, it'll put you on your backside in a hurry. Which reminds me, it's been laid over several times without any visible damage to the bike. They should never have stopped making this one.
- Tom, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-23 2002 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike for what I do. I am all over the desert trails and this bike has never let me down. It is very fast and nimble. Perhaps what I love most about it is how comfortable it is. It's like riding a Cadilac over the rocks. The only thing I wish it had was electric start. I love how simple and bullet proof it is. I owned an XR250R for a while and loved it too. The extra power comes in handy on this bigger bike.
- Shawn, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one the greatest bikes I have ever had! It's fast and can go up any hill. There's nothing wrong with it. No radiator for lighter performance if you want a trail-race-hill climber. It doesn't really do wheelies but sometimes you can wheelie for a moment. A+++
- nick chat, lake hughes, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-12 1999 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
These are the ultimate Trail Bikes...durable, easy to maintain, good power and affordable. While the 1995/6/7 models had some carburation glitchs and unusual suspension settings, the post 1998 bikes saw those items addressed and yielded fine machines that were fun to ride. With occasional valve clearance inspections/adjustments and oil & filter changes with a quality oil, these bikes are capable of many thousands of miles without any motor work. I know, my 1986 XR600 has logged over 30,000 miles of Colorado 500 and Baja trips with NO motor repairs whatsoever. It continues to run with the pack as it accumulates greater mileage. The 400 has a lighter feel and makes a better woods bike while possessing all the legendary dna that made XRs famous.
- Larry, Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-04 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an extremely FUN bike. It has usable power throughout the power band, excellent brakes and semi-tunable suspension. The bike is predictable in nearly all situations except soft sand where it tends to wander and nose dive at slower speeds. It has amazing grunt at lower RPMs in steep, tight situations. Very good clutch out of the crate. It's an excellent wheelie bike in the first three gears. The bike starts easy but is cold blooded. Very seriously FUN play bike for those more interested in riding enjoyment than wrench turning. Air-cooled does not overheat even when hammered under desert conditions over 100F.
- John Moffett, Yuma, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-25 1999 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the XR 400 with the 440 power up kit already installed. It has the packing removed from the muffler (which I am told by a Honda dealer can't be done, but I have proof it can) the air box lid has also been cut out to allow for better air flow, but it has the stock carburetor, I am unsure if the jets have been changed out, but I do know it has been dialed in for maximum performance. I am very impressed with the power of this bike, combined with the light weight and maneuverability. I am comparing it to the XR600, which has a much heavier feel, and although the XR 600 has more power, I have not been at a loss for power or speed. The XR 440 in my opinion does outperform the XR600 on everything but a flat out drag race. (One of my riding companions has an XR 600) I have read reviews that the stock XR400 suspension is not adequate and I disagree. I am not a small rider, and the suspension on this bike has performed very well for my style of riding, mountain trails, open desert, light jumping, etc. Overall, I highly recommend this bike, the only flaw I can find is hard starting when cold, which I am told is typical with XR's, but mine may also be due to the 440 kit.
- B, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-18 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been over twenty years since I rode in the dirt with my dad. I picked up a used 2004 XR400R to join my son on his 125 and what a ride! It does everything extremely well (braking, cornering, and climbing). The suspension is so plush, but very responsive and predictable. Plenty of stock power across the entire band. Enjoy!
- Clint, Los Gatos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-30 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The XR400R is the best bike for riding with your friends. It is a great play bike for riders who know what they're doing. I have been riding it for 8 months straight and the bike and I are like one. Unbelievable wheelie power. I always spray my friends with dirt when they're not paying attention. My friend Mike who rides an XR250R can never touch me when we are racing even though he has one more gear than me. The 400 has blown away any bike we have gone up against.
- Billy Worthington III, Derwood, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-20 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. It climbs any hill I want it to and it's always gotten me home. It runs with any bike I've ridden with. I just raced my first haire scambel about 2 weeks ago and this bike dominated the competition.
- Ryan Mongillo, bradford , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-29 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I must say I was a little intimidated by the 400. It's tall and pretty heavy, but once I got up on it I felt right at home. The power came easy, the bike gets me through everything that I could possibly go through, and I've gone through a lot. Well this is a great bike, I highly recommend it, so have fun and be safe!
- Trey, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-05 1999 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well in my opinion this is a great bike. After a year and a half of trying to figure out what I actually wanted. I started off with a SP250 Suzuki. Nice but too under powered for a guy at 190 lbs and 5'11" tall. (30" inseam). Then I went to a Dr600 Dakar Suzuki. Nice also but a little heavy for woods riding. I also had a few ATV's, a Wolverine, Warrior, Kodiak, Grizzly and a Raptor. Now, finally the answer to my prayers, or should I say my wife's. She is tired of the buying and selling thing. THE XR400 . Mine is a 1999 and it has a K and N air filter and the exhaust has been unplugged. The gear ratios were changed as well. This bike rips. Yes I used the word rips I am 36 years old. It will wheelie in any gear, especially with a small hill. There are lighter bikes out there like the wr450. But I love the low end grunt of the Xr400 for hopping logs. Anyways this bike was worth the wait. Happy riding is what it's all about. Ride safe.
- Murray, Cranbrook, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: