Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda XR650L reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

46 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Steve

Slidell, LA

Reviewed on 2018-06-23

Motorcycle reviewed2015 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Found the bike I was looking for on Cycletrader.com. I found a good, clean, used bike , with low miles on it that was within my price range. This website was easy to navigate and made it easy to pinpoint the bike that was right for me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

erik

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2013-01-21

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2009 new off the floor in 2012. I have to admit it's one of the best bikes I have ever ridden. This bike is very reliable, decent on gas, plenty of power and by far the best dual sport for off road. Another upside is that the design hasn't changed since 1993 so there are plenty of aftermarket parts and you know this engine is dependable. Now the down side is from the factory. It doesn't quite run right. don't let that put you off because with a few mods it runs great. It just needs to be rejetted and add a new exhaust. But that's just what I have done and what has worked for me. Other people might find they like it stock.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

Woodbridge, Virginia

Reviewed on 2011-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my XR650L as a 2009 leftover new. Power is great from the factory. Seat height is very tall, I'm on my toes at stop lights. The height of the bike can be very intimidating but don't let that stop you from buying one. It feels much smaller once you're up riding it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

todd

vancouver, Washington

Reviewed on 2011-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a beast. It always runs. It never leaves me stranded. Aye, she's a heavy one, and you need to be at least 6 ft. tall and have a strong fortitude to handle it, but, if you do, there is really no place you can not go. The low end on it can pull boards from the floor and just chew them up. It was some of the best money I ever spent.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JO

Jonesborough, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2010-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Yes it is outdated and Honda gives it no respect, meaning no updates since '93(1st year?). But it is everything anyone needs with a true dual sport. Only tough for short riders on uneven terrian if you had to put a foot down. It can handle the roughest single track and zip down the interstate with ease. There are better dirt bikes, and better street bikes, but this big L works well as both. Simply set it up for your preference.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

peter

shawnee, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2009-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Currently own 2 Honda atvs, so Hondas are no strangers to our motoring fun. The big XR is pretty top heavy and not for a beginner or even those that are a bit out of shape. The XR is excellent, though once underway. It can sip fuel at 55 mpg and can still rage up to a three digit pace if needed. Engine is bullet proof, quiet, uses no oil, starts impeccably and vibrates very little. It is hard to believe it is a single, it is smooth and comfortable about town, and only gets tiring after a 100 miles or so in the saddle. Workmanship of paint, fit and finish is the Honda of old, with a metal tank, no oil leaks and just as tight as could be. Highly recommended on road or off.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chad

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-11-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 1996 model that has given me a lot of service after much abuse and play. I had a cam bearing problem that my extended warranty took care of. I have had it stolen/blown up once. I have run it out of oil and taken it swimming. I finally put a new piston in it three years ago and found that the head was cracked by the spark plug hole. My connection at my CDI box was making the bike shut off on me but I found it and fixed it myself. I have a lot of miles on it for what it is but it is always ready. And now that all of the bugs have been worked out I plan to go super moto with it. For the the low price I paid a decade ago compared to the performance, I really can't complain about bugs after all of the abuse I have given it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DukeRyder

New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2006-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my XR650L since last December, and I've rode this bike like crazy. Never had ONE single problem. Change the oil every couple thousand miles and check the valves 2x (no adjustment necessary). I've got the bike set-up as a supermoto for everyday riding and some Pirelli MT-21s mounted up to the stock wheels for dirt action. ON the street this bike kicks major butt, 100mph on the highway, twisties faster than any sportbike; you name it, it'll do it. Dirt is its weak spot, it's a bit too heavy for serious dirt riding but it will go anywhere just not as fast as a lighter bike (can't say the same about the KLR). Quality (Fit and finish, componetry) is better than the other bikes but not as nice as KTM. KTM (625cc LC4) also makes noticably more power than the Honda; both bikes uncorked with no internal motor modifications.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin Stevens

Idaho Falls, Idaho

Reviewed on 2006-06-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I live in the country and drive 12 miles a day into town to work. This bike gets up on the highway 70 m.p.h. easy, and yet performs great in traffic in stop and go traffic. I've ridden it in the rain, hail, high wind (yikes), off road in heavy mud, even dropped it going up a muddy hill in the hailing wind storm, it's a tough bike. No problems yet. The seats a little hard after 50 mles of riding though.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kendell

Liverpool, Nova Scotia

Reviewed on 2006-05-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda XR650L

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So for so good. I use the bike mostly on the street and it handles quite nice for such a high center of gravity. Plenty of power to keep up with traffic on the highway but a little scary with the wind blowing any amount. Find the seat a little hard for long rides but with the small tank you get to stretch quite often at the gas station. Overall I am very happy with the bike and would recommend it to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 46 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: