Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy reviews

4.3
Write a review
Reliability
4.3
Overall quality
4.3
Performance
4.2
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike

Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the most comfortble bike I have ridden. Of course, I did some modification because I like to ride distance. The bike is awesome looking and good for traveling. I would trade my 2001 even up for another brand new bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Nelson

Seattle , Washington

Reviewed on 2006-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike does it all for me, I rode a hardtail Evo for 10 year's and had many crotch bikes as well, Included in there was 2 FJ1100's. Lets see, I push the button and the thing go's and I meen fast, hugs the road great, took it to Sturgis last year, no probs at all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D. Etheredge

Birmingham, Alaska

Reviewed on 2002-08-03

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had mine for 1 year and love it. To me it is the best looking Harley. I like everything about it except for cornering. The foot boards scrape if you lean into a turn too much. A lot earlier than you would think. Otherwise, Awesome!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TW

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2002-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A nice bike, and it better be for $20K. Smooth and crisp response with the EFI. Exceptional ride, especially in the rain. Now the bad points. 1. On the EFI model there is NO reserve. When you're out, you push. And don't trust the fuel guage. I ran out once, and the guage said I had a half tank left. 2. The EFI gobbles gas in altitude. In Sturgis I was getting about 170 miles to the tank and my carb buddy was getting 250. 3. I threw a Hypercharger on mine and I can barely get my heel on the right floorboard, it should sit out an inch or two more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy

Tupelo, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2002-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I am 42 and grew up on motocross and dirt bikes of all makes and models. I have owned about 20 bikes and currently ride a 1981 Honda CB 750 Custom and a 2002 Goldwing. I recently rented a 2002 Fatboy and rode it about 100 miles. To me it was too smooth and resembled a rice burner except that the performance was not at all stimulating. My 750 will eat it for lunch and my wing will wheelie through the first three gears fully loaded with two up!! the brake is in a good position for you to be killed in a panic stop. but, it is a Harley and it does have a certain SEX appeal that only a Harley has, so, to each his own!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Abby

Ft Walton Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-03-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As a 41 year old motorcycle enthusiast for many years I have been through the crotch rocket stage (thank god I'm still alive). With age, you look for a more comfortable riding position and speed is really of no big concern any more. The Fatboy is really without a doubt the best cruiser on the planet. I have a pearl white fuel infected 2002 and LOVE IT. It is really hard to describe the feeling of riding a harley. You can't help but smile because it makes you feel like a cross between James Dean, Marlon Brando, Peter Fonda and Arnold from Terminator 2. It is a deep visceral experience like none other. I've also had 2 jap cruisers (Vulcan 1500 and the V-Star Clasic) and still everytime I passed a Harley I had serious Harley envy. They were great bikes but they just weren't for me. In short, ride a Fatboy and experience it for yourself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dale Preston

Moncton, New Brunswick

Reviewed on 2002-01-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This machine is more than I imagined.Looks great, sounds great, and works and handles even better. My Fat Boy has fuel injection and I added screaming Eagle 2 belony cut slip fit mufflers.Owning several bikes before this one I am glad I bought a harley.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barry

USA

Reviewed on 2001-11-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
I've been riding two wheelers for the past 35 years with some 20 new bikes under my belt including H-D's. After continued pressure to buy a Harley instead of the metric bike I currently own, I took an 02 Fatboy for a test drive in September. To start off with, anyone stating this thing has lots of power must have been riding a moped all their life! My wife's V-Star 1100 will run away from the Fatboy in a roll on without any problem. When you shift gears, it sounds like someone beating on a big tin can from the inside out. Vibration wise, it okay, about the same as the V-Star. Since the mid 80's, H-D has said, "buy American motorcycles". A recent program on TLC stated that on the average, only 52-54% of the parts in a Harley are made in the USA. Good one Harley, by America, right! I've seen more American made accessories in a Honda shop than you see hanging on the walls at your local HD dealer. The dealer thought 20 G's about the right price, 12 more than I paid for my wife's 01 V-Star 1100. I thought, 20 grand FOR WHAT!, to stuff the pockets of HD and the dealer, no thanks! To sum my ride and experience with the Fatboy, "fat price...for what?", possibly image, which is worth zip to me. I am buying a Honda VTX. For what its worth, it too, is made in America.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry

USA

Reviewed on 2001-11-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have just turned over 2700 miles on my 01 Fatboy and have had no problems. I recently went to the KC plant "open house" to ride the new V-Rod which was great, but while I was there I also rode an '02 Fat Boy to see how mine compared with a stock bike before I payed the "Harley tax". I was surprised how much improvement a pair of slip-on's and jetting would do. It seemed the stock bike would not build any revs. I've never owned a "new" bike (Harley or otherwise) and I had this $300 modification made before I picked it up. This may explain why riders that rent bikes are not thrilled with the stock performance. I think it runs pretty good, although it still would be beat in a flat out race by a Jap bike. Oh well...I guess a Jap guitar may play better than my American Fender Strat, but I wouldn't play one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Greenham

Toronto

Reviewed on 2001-10-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I rented one of these for a day in Hawaii. I own a Honda 929RR and thought this would be an interesting experience since I have never driven a Harley. All I can say is get it into top gear as fast as possible, as it does not like revs. Cruise at about 50mph and hope the wind is with you. This bike sounds great at low revs when you open it up. It also looks good. Other than that it is slow, heavy, does not brake or shift well and handles and brakes like a log rolling down a hill. It reminds me of my first bike, a 1968 Triumph. Imagine, 1960's technology at 2001 prices. It is expensive. I guess it does hold its value, although I do not know why. There must be a lot of insecure males out there that want to be seen on a tough looking machine. I will take a Japanese sport bike any day. that's a mans bike. A Harley will never scare the pants out of you like a litre sport bike. See you in my rear view mirror.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: