Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

69 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

JCB

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding motorcycles for 30 Years now all Kawasaki except when a friend loaned me a Honda and a few times a Sportster. I have dreamed of owning a Harley Davidson my whole life as long as I can remember and this bike has made that dream come true. So far I only have 110 Miles on her, but they have been the greatest 110 Miles I have ever driven. This machine provies Great torque with speed and comfort. I've owned Dirt bikes and been riding on the street for over 30 Years and I have to say I will keep this bike until I die. don't get me wrong I will buy another Harley down the line, but I will NOT EVER get rid of this beauty. I hope you take my advice and go buy a Dyna Super Glide FXDI especially a 2005 model if you can find one, because you WILL NOT be disappointed. Thank you for your time and Please everyone Ride Hard Die Free and Enjoy every minute on those beautiful Machines.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

buckeyenick

Adrian, Michigan

Reviewed on 2007-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2001 H-D FXD in July, 2005 with 14,000 mi. Finally, after owning Suzuki and Yamaha, my first Harley! I knew for a long time I always wanted a Big Twin, but I didn't truly understand why until I finally owned one. The feel, sound and power are euphoric. It gets people's attention everywhere I ride. The bike is reliable and comfortable: commuting to work, cruising swiftly on the Interstate at high speed with ease or twisting through The Dragon. I've got over 26,000 miles on it now and it just wants to keep going! Thanks to H-D for making such a great ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Eggerman

Stillwater, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-01-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this carbureted Superglide on ebay almost two years ago (immaculate, 8,300 miles, already fully accessorized). I previously had owned an 883 Sportster, after numerous UJM's (1970's-80's Universal Japanese Motorcycles) and then a 12 year hiatus from cycling. To anyone who wants a Harley and is considering the Sportster as a starting point, do yourself a favor and get a Superglide. It's a lot more bike for just a little more money. The bike has just turned 30,000 miles, with no problems whatever. I have done only the prescribed maintenance plus replacing tires and brake pads, and without Harley's high dealer shop rates. It's a solid, low tech machine. With basic tools you can do your own routine maintenance. With proper care, my Superglide should go a long ways yet. For the kind of riding I do, this bike is ideal. I typically ride one-up 30 or so miles daily, with a 80-100 mile ride once a week and some summer tours of 2,000+ miles. The bike handles the tours nicely (it's not been that long since a 650cc bike was regarded as a big road machine!) and is a dream for evening cruising close to home. However, I would not recommend it without highway pegs or forward controls, as the stock mid-controls are somewhat confining. Also, it is not a suitable machine for two-up touring. Power is ample, but the seating isn't spacious enough for two people to go any real distance in comfort. Every now and then I get the itch to trade for a larger Harley or a metric, but keep coming back to my Superglide. The price difference between this bike and an Electraglide or Road King just isn't justifiable for the kind of riding I do. As for metrics, I've recently tried the Yamaha Road Star and Stratoliner, and the Kawasaki Nomad. They are excellent bikes, and Harley prices are indefensible when compared to them. But they just don't give the almost indescribable feel that the Harley look/sound/pulse does. The Japanese consistently build bikes that are just a little too smooth and refined. If they ever figure this out and correct it, Harley will be in trouble! So I will stick with my Superglide a while longer, and let you know how things look at 50,000!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Kailua, Hawaii

Reviewed on 2006-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't ridden for 15 years ( on enduro bikes)...Have always wanted a Harley but timid about the size ( and my age...47) This bike rides so smoothly. Easy to handle. No regrets at all. This model doesn't have many bells and whistles but that's how I like it! I highly recommend the safety course even if you know how to ride. Worth every penny (the bike and the safety course) .....Enjoy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sarge

Greencastle, Indiana

Reviewed on 2005-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife and I just bought our 05 FXDCI Superglide Customs on July 3rd. I traded in a 99 Softail Custom and she traded in her Honda Shadow VLX. I thought I would be downgrading by going with the Dyna, but I was wrong. The ride is impeccable and the performance is arm-stretching. The only thing that bugs me is the narrow front end and headlight. When seen from the front, less experienced people mistake it for a sportster. It DEFFINATELY is no sportster!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kenny Krietemeyer

Evansville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2005-04-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
We just got our Super Glide April 28, 2005. It rained that day and I drove it home anyway. This bike handles great and runs great. I put new pipes on the first day, just didn't care for the sound, put a set of screamin' eagle 2`s on it and a lowering kit (for my lady to learn to drive). This bike has all the power you need to just enjoy riding. It's rained for 2 days and as weird as it may sound we`ve been out on it for 2 days. Easy to do upgrades and customization however you want. Took about 30 minutes to do both the changes. There is nothing bad I can say about this bike and I sure hope you enjoy yours as much as I have enjoyed mine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Preuss

Liverpool, New York

Reviewed on 2005-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First bike in over 20 years. I looked at all cruisers from all manufacturers. Love being American, love buying American. The Super Glide was the best choice for me. I've got 850 miles on it so far. I don't believe any other bike known to man has the level of character that Harley does. This thing feels good, looks good, and rides good. Take my advice, at least go look at Harley before you buy something else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Forte

Westrford , Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike because I really liked lowriders and especialy FXRs, but I knew I would be changing and adding a lot of things so went with the lowest priced big twin. Best decision I could have made. I haven't done a thing to it repair wise besides typical maintenance. I can only dream that my snowmobile ran as good as this.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chip leahey

blairstown, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-03-25

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started with the Sportster which was just a little small for me. So I upgraded to this bike. This bike has plenty of power and looks to go with it. I am very pleased with my decision to purchase this bike. I'll be out to Laconiain this June, see ya there!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

Port Royal, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-09-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been 20 years since I was on two wheels, the last one being a Yamaha 650 Twin. The Super Glide fits me perfectly! Just the right seat height, comfortable, plenty of power and easy to handle even with two up. I rode a Wide Glide but the peg placement was uncomfortable for me. Plenty of bang for your buck. No frills, just raw Harley-Davidson power and looks. I love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 69 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: