Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

26 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

udi Hacohen

Tel Aviv , Israel

Reviewed on 2010-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this bike for over 2 years. I got it used with 30000 miles on the clock. Now it's got 75000 miles on the clock. Fast, hard and real. As soon as Harley starts remaking them, I'll get a new one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen JP Ingley

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this Harley on eBay 2 years ago. I am the 3rd owner. Harley bought my first bike back under the Lemon Law and treated me very good so this purchase had some apprehension attached. The bike has been a blast to ride and real easy to own and service. I replaced a ZX11 so still wanting some 'sport' qualities in a bike I can honestly say that Harley has done it right in their Super Glide Sport. As long as you respect the limits and capabilities, this bike will not let you down. Plenty of power, flickability, lean angles you wouldn't expect on a Harley, and consistent 44mpg combined. I have never had a leak, a seep, or broken down. Dependable, Faithful, Assertive, and Reliable. Best of all it sounds great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Evan Stevens

Boardman, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Super Glide is the most affordable big twin. For the money you get 88ci 68hp [carb.] 81 lbs torque. Though over 600 pounds, the Super Glide feels like a sack of feathers. It is one of the most versitile bikes made. The Super Glide will turn on a dime and leave a nickle change. I am a sport bike rider, and a dirt biker. The Super Glide is my first Harley. After the short time riding it I must say I may never ride a superbike again. In the future I plan to write a review of performance upgrades. This will be in the Fall of 2005.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Spadoman

Saint Paul, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this FXDXI last season. Only a few rides this year, (2005) so far. All the miles are my own. I like this bike. The handling is surprisingly good for a heavy Harley. The shocks and forks are adjustable for tuning a stiffer ride. I kept the mid-controls, I don't want to ride on a lazy boy. The "Sport" designation in the name of this bike is true to form. It is more like a sport cruiser than a road bike, but it will serve up the highway miles if needed, (a 1400 mile trip last Fall proved to be a comfortable trip). Harley options like the windshield, two-up seat, backrest and luggage rack are all clip on/off. They remove quickly and easily to change the look and feel. I also added quick release saddlebags. I take the extra 10 minutes to change the seat from the two-up sundowner to the corbin solo rider and I've got a great boulevard cruiser around town. Performance is stock at this stage. I plan on riding this scooter until it needs a new motor before upgrading. Seems to have plenty of power and torque for me. The added fork brace took the little wobble out of the front end on hard cornering and hard braking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marvin Catlett

Livorno, Italy

Reviewed on 2005-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have replaced seat with H-D Sundowner seat. Also added backrest, quick detach saddlebags, and forward foot rest. Seat is much more comfortable and puts me further back, with forward foot rest it gives me the room I was needing. Fuel is to be ignored. Fuel low light comes on when there is still half a tank showing on the guage. Remove fuel cap and neither one seems to be correct. Looks like less than half a tank but not low enough to be needing a warning light. All in all, bike has been pretty good so far. haven't had much riding time so far due to weather. Can't wait until spring when I can put some serious miles on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jenn

Savannah, Georgia

Reviewed on 2003-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
One year into what I think will be a long, happy relationship with my '03 FXDX. Very responsive handling for a cruiser (adjustable suspension is the ticket), good looks, easy neutral riding position. But know this: you gotta do over the air cleaner and pipes for acceptable performance, straight out of break-in, and most folks will want a better seat. I had to put on handlebar risers, too, and am still fighting with adjustments on the carb to reduce decelleration "hiccups." If you want a responsive, strong cruiser, this'll do it. But just add on the price of these kinds of things to the price out of the dealership when you're doing your homework-- in my case, it's been well worth it-- I am one happy rider!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dirty Larry

Adelaide, Australia

Reviewed on 2003-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Not sure if they take longer to send out to Australia. Maybe Willy G didn't put enough postage stamps on my bike when he sent it out. Nine months waiting and on road for a 2003 FXDX. Only went as far as a set of Vance & Hines 2 into 1 pipes and a Doherty Machine Power VACC and the Power vents. Not going to waste money trying to make the bike faster. It is ok as is. If you want a bike with 100 horsepower then buy a Japp bike as a spare. The only down side to this bike ( if you can call it that) is once you go for a ride you want to keep on going. Then you end up without enough time to wash the car, mow the lawn, and all the other exciting things in life.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

k.marks

london, Great Britain (UK)

Reviewed on 2003-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having not been on a bike for ten years in feb 03 ibought a 01fxdx.They say harleys don't handle well have I got news for you,this baby does and with a stage 1 has plenty of power.The sticky tyres it wears give great grip in wet or dry the twin piston dual brakes have enough stopping power to cope with this big heavy bike.This is a great bike which you very quickly feel at home on.I am goiong to Italy on mine in July so i'll let you know how it handled the long haul.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alan

Colonial Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2003-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned my Real Red 2002 FXDX for 13 months and would like to update my impressions. The original seat was terrible - I replaced it with Harley's Sundowner accessory touring seat and am very happy. I never liked the black exhaust - I replaced it with V&H Longshots (with baffles), had the carb rejetted, and had a Screaming Eagle high-flow breather installed. The improvement in throttle response is very impressive. It also runs a lot smoother and the occasional, annoying carb backfire is gone. The suspension and brakes are excellent - once I got the adjustable suspension set where I like it, I haven't messed with it. Better tires, than the stock Dunlops, would greatly improve the machine's handling and braking abilities. Nonetheless, it'll hustle down a twisty road at a satisfyingly brisk pace. I recommend using synthetic oils. I use Amsoil in the engine and tranny and Harley's primary lube in the primary. It shifts noticably better and runs a lot cooler. Finally, I like the fact that I've never seen another one like mine. Like it or not, it stands out from other Harleys because of it's lack of chrome. With the installation of a few select chrome goodies, it's a real stunner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B Brock

Texas

Reviewed on 2003-03-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had a sportster. Bought an '03 FXDX and the difference is night and day. Been on and off bikes for nearly 20 years. This one is the keeper! Some bikes are pure style, some pure comfort, and others pure handling. The FXDX is the perfect blend of all three. The motor is strong. It sounds great with Stage I. The most impressive is how solid it feels in the wind. It also tracks a line like nothing else I've been on. I very happy to have found the exact bike for me (6'00', 32" inseam, 200 lb). I really don't have a single complaint other than overall price-that's really mitigated with value retention in the end.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 26 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: