Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chris Spies

Cambridgeshire, Great Britain (UK)

Reviewed on 2005-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since I wrote my last piece on the FXDXT. We have been lucky enough to travel thousands of trouble free miles. One trip that I will never ever forget was in 2003. We shipped our bike from the UK to San Fransisco, rode along the west coast to visit friends in Mount Vernon, Washington state. At the Cascades NP we turned right across the US to Milwaukee, stayed a couple of days for the party, then on down the Mississippi and then back to Chicago for home, we had sunshine every inch of the way and the "T" sport never missed a beat. It's a shame Harley dropped this model from their range. It does it for me and it does so well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Bonifay, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
About eight weeks ago, I bought a used 2001 T-Sport with 500 miles on it, and I now have about 3,500 miles on it. I ride the bike fairly hard, and I'm very pleased with the way the bike handles. I've had no problems with shifting, detonation, or squeaking brakes. I did find that upgrading to a stage 1 (pipes, jet kit, and air cleaner) gave me about 10% more horsepower and made the engine run smoother and cooler. Besides the stage 1, I added an engine guard with halogen lights and long-stem mirrors. I've been riding for more than 25 years, and this is the best bike I've ever owned. I especially like the fact that this bike has a tack, dual-disk brakes, standard footpegs, and good ground clearance.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Sydney, Australia

Reviewed on 2003-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding Harleys for 11 years and have owned an array of shovels and evos. If you had to pick one Harley to do it all it would be hard to beat the T-Sport. In standard form, performance is not that great. With the following mods it is quick: 1 size bigger low speed jet, 1 size bigger main jet, Ness air cleaner, free flowing slip-on mufflers. Suspension could be better (firmer) for improved ride but otherwise it is a ripper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mongrel

queensland, Australia

Reviewed on 2003-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Owned sportster for 10 years , FXR for 8 years ,loved this bike as soon as I saw it.mag wheels,black motor,not much chrome,even the back of the mirrors are black.So I have more time to ride than cleaning.Best brakes ,surspension & A! comfort , with screaming eagle aircleaner&mufflers & bigger slow jet goes 50% better even better fuel economy . But I still scrap pipes round corner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ben

Bay Area, California

Reviewed on 2002-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I upgraded from a Sporster because I wanted to keep my teeth fillings intact, and wasn't disappointed. I chose the T-Sport because it best met my needs for a reliable commuter, sporty enough to be fun on twisty roads, and comfortable enough for long mountainous day rides or overnighters. If you can only keep one bike, and want a Harley, this is it! After 20 months and 21K troublefree miles, (only addition was a new seat) I'd acquired a used Road Glide and a Honda VFR. My wife no longer wanted to ride on the Dyna. I found myself using the other bikes except for commuting, and there are better (i.e. cheaper)commuters out there. But it was fun while it lasted, and held its resale value pretty well too.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Roberts

Newcastle, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Well, Ive had my bike for exactly 2 weeks and managed to put on 480 miles !. I am very pleased with it, great torque, good ride & handling, predictable & powerful brakes. Must be getting over 40 MPG. It is loosening up nicely & I think it will be more than fast enough for me when it is fully run in. I will probably fit some nice exhausts - but not too loud. Downsides, I have also experienced the brake noise, although this seems to be getting better as the miles roll by. I also find the windscreen a bit low, but have fitted a Badlander seat(similar to the standard Sport) which drops the rider down a bit, as I almost never carry a pillion this is not an issue, & I find it comfortable enough. I find the bike very heavy and low speed manouvering is a pain. As this is my first Harley I think it is just a matter of getting used to it.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve B.

Mesa, Arizona

Reviewed on 2002-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased the T-Sport used from a Phoenix car dealer. It had 1350 miles on it and I paid $11,650. Because of the lack of history I then paid the local Harley dealer $250 for a 5000 mile check. I did this one because it drains all the fluids, lubricates all areas and tightens all fasteners. This bike rides much smoother that my 1200S sportster. It handles my wife and I much better and the ride is much less harsh. The torque feels strong, even with two up and the handling is really solid and predictable. The mileage with two up has been a bit only 40mpg vs. 48 with the sportster. It is totally stock and I am considering the air cleaner, jets and exhaust. At this time I do not want to get into the motor. My wife wants a back pad which we will invest in soon. So far I like it very well. I have experienced the brake noise related in other reviews, but not the backfire/hesitation. It has run perfectly.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Two gripes: 1)Windshield too short 2) brakes make a constant rubbing noise. The windshield problem is fixed by buying the optional taller windshield (P/N 57736-01) Harley dual rotor machines all make the rubbing noise and while it is very irratating, it is normal.... I just finished a 600 mile road trip over two mountain passes and it was a blast. The bike handles well and has plenty of power. I did drill holes in the baffles and add a Screaming Eagle air cleaner. Also added an engine guard with twin halogen lights. Otherwise, the bike is stock. I like the fact that I can alter the suspension based on the load I am carrying to tune the ride and handling to my preferences. The saddle bags carry quite a bit of "stuff" when expanded yet I can take them off in 10 seconds for the sporty look when riding around locally. All in all I think this is an outstanding machine. Kind of a mix between the Sportster and the Road King.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just took delivery of my FXDXT about a month ago. I have just a few complaints that I must get out of the way first: (1) The carb pops which is quite annoying. The dealer says it is due to my addition of screaming eagle slip-on pipes? I will live with the pop sounds, rather than the factory roar similar to a Suzuki Intruder. (2) The front brakes scrape most of the time. I have found that cleaning the discs with a little bit of brake cleaner after a few hundred miles does away with the noise for awhile. (3) One nylon saddlebag pops loose sometimes due to a faulty latch/spring that the dealer cant fix. (4) The useless mirrors belong on my 10 year old's plastic BigWheel, as I can only see myself with them. The good news: Great acceleration and low end torque. Tranny Shifts with precision, and I have no first gear problems to this day as other riders complain about. This bike really loves those twisties and is also comfortable cruising around town. I have adjusted the front and rear supspension a few times and could never do without it now. The fit and finish is excellent including the paint which is simply perfect. I hope Harley considers a bit larger windshield as standard equipment for taller riders. I ordered the optional windshield which is about 3" higher. Some locks would be great for the bags to deter theft. Overall IM 100% satisfied with my new Dyna T-Sport!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Kilgo

Spotsylvania, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I took delivery of my 2002 FXDXT last February and by and large I am very satisfied. I had previously owned an XL1200 Sport so when I decided to move up to a big twin the FXDXT seemed to be the logical choice. I loved the look, performance, and feel of the 1200 Sport and the FXDXT is just a larger version of this great bike. I now have 2400 miles on my FXDXT and I have to admit that I've experienced some of the same annoying quirks described in some of the other reviews. I too have experienced the brake dragging noise from the dual front discs but I had the same noise from my Sportster so I figured it was no big deal. I assume that this is from the new brake pads rubbing the discs and the slower I go the more noticeable it is. I've never had this checked out and it doesn't appear to affect braking. I also experiencing the carburator popping described by the other reviewers. I did have this checked out and the dealer told me that it was caused by insufficient jetting in the carburator. I also have the high flo air cleaner and Screaming Eagle 2 into 1 pipes so it apparently was not getting enough fuel air mixture. Why they didn't install the new jets upon delivery remains a mystery. Bottom line though the popping problem went away. I have not experienced the shifting problem but I suspect this may be more due to my riding style than anything else. I always shift down to 1st when decelerating to a stop and I hold in the clutch while waiting to proceed. Consequently I've never had a problem with the bike not being in 1st gear when I take off. I also installed the longer mirrors to solve the problem of not seeing around your shouldders. The only other complaint I have, although it is more of a quibble than anything, is that I couldn't get my FXDXT in Real Red like my old Sportster. I like the Diamond Ice though and it really looks good with the blacked out engine. This is the perfect bike for my riding style and I love the power and torque while riding the back roads here in Virginia. The bags provide a much needed storage option that was not available on my Sporster and I put them to good use. This is a great bike overall and I would recommend it highly to anyone looking for a Sport Touring machine
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: