Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike

Detroit Lakes, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Deuce when I was downrange in Afghanistan and had it delivered to MN. This is my first Harley. Initially, I was very disappointed with this bike because it was popping through the carb and jerking when I rode it. It was quite embarrassing to be seen on such a nice looking machine when it was acting up like that. As it turns out the needle jet was defective and the HD shop rectified that problem. After that was dealt with, the bike ran like a champ. I was very happy with how the bike rode and handled after it was fixed. I logged over 2,500 trouble free miles after that point. The bike is no powerhouse but I didn't expect it to be so I wasn't disappointed by that fact. I have a 2006 GSXR-1000 so I have all the power I need if I am feeling the need for speed. I was initially aprehensive about the foot peg location on the Deuce but it turns out I was worried about nothing. The riding position after a few hundred miles starts to give me a cramp between my shoulder blades that annoys me but maybe a different set of bars would fix that situation. Overall I am very happy with this bike and I have plans to do quite a bit to it in the future to make it look the way I want. The main reason I bought the Deuce over the other models is because the Deuce looks good enough stock to leave alone for a while and the others don't. Oh yeah if I had it to do over again I would go with fuel injection as the enrichner knob is an annoyance to say the least.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Les P.

Roanoke, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Deuce is a boulivard cruiser - it is not a tourer! It looks great slicing down the highway with its raked-out front fork and layed back attitude. It's great on day trips out into the countryside. But, it wouldn't be my first choice for a long journey spanning several days. There is just no storage space for those extras, and adding saddle bags and a windshield is expensive! Overall this bike is great and has never let me down!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt L.

Amarillo, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-03-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've always wanted to own a motorcycle, and knew that I wouldn't be happy with anything but a Harley. I started getting serious about it the past couple of years and had a very difficult time deciding what model to get. What drew me to the Deuce initially were the looks (stretched tank, lots of stock chrome, fat back tire with solid rim), and also for the fact that you don't see a lot of them. When I sat on mine at the dealer, I knew this was the bike for me. I have the Brilliant Silver Pearl color, and you truly have to see the paint in person to appreciate it. The pictures in the brochures and on the web sites don't do it any justice. It is absolutely beautiful. The seat position and the handlebars fit me perfectly. I'll admit that the forward controls were a bit intimidating at first glance, but after riding it I can't see me owning a bike without them. The bike handles great with or without my girlfriend on the back. I'll most likely get a different seat and a detatchable sissy bar so that she's more comfortable on longer rides. The Screaming Eagle Pipes give it a nice sound without getting too obnoxious. I keep the windshield on because there is an extraordinary amount of loose stones on the roads in Amarillo. The saddle bags are still in the boxes in my living room. I realized after the fact that the Deuce is the only model that doesn't have the quick release feature on their bags. Hopefully Harley will change that in the near future. I was told by a friend that installing and removing the bags is pretty simple if you have a motorcycle jack, but I haven't got around to trying it myself as of yet. All in all I have to say I was fortunate to be able to own a Harley as my first motorcycle. After every large purchase I've made in my life (house, cars, computers), I've always had varying degrees of doubt and regret. Not the case with this purchase... after two months I'm still smiling. I love the Deuce and will have this bike for a long time to come.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Batt

Lawtons, New York

Reviewed on 2003-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Well I've got 6000 miles under my butt on my brand new anniversary edition Softail Deuce. I took it to the Milwakuee event this summer and back, 14 hours on the way back. I can tell you this, the Deuce definitely has curb appeal. I get people asking me who made it, like it was a custon or something. OK, to make this bike really what I wanted out of it (I compare it to my previous girlfriend, a 1979 Kawasaki KZ1000LTD), which was faster, faster, faster, I will need to go for the 103 kit. I'll have it lowered an inch (or two if it can be done) and I'll get new bushings to rake out the front fork to match the new lower height. I already have custon exhaust and Stage I air cleaner, this bike is gonna bark and growl when I'm done with it! Batt
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MANNI Luca

Grosseto, Tuscany, Italy

Reviewed on 2003-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I think that the Deuce is the better HD that the factory produce in 100 years of story, but his look is too much futuristic and the people don't understend it. I want know if there is a DEUCE club in USA.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big D

Rancho Cucamonga, California

Reviewed on 2003-04-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the 2003 Duece Softail and love it. I was concerned it was small for long rides and found it handles well. Feels great on the road, including ruff freeway riding. I'm hoping to add some bags and a sissy bar for the old lady.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Courtlen

Southfield , Michigan

Reviewed on 2003-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a Deuce May 2002 and put about 4000 miles on it during the summer. I anticipate the 2003 cycle year. I had the Deuce bags put on at purchase. They don't do much for the look but they sure come in handy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Len Siciliano

Runnemede, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2002-01-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This past weekend I took a little winter vacation and spent 3 days in Fort Lauderdale. I rented a 2000 Duece for 3 days. I currently own a Heritage, and had owned a Fatboy and wanted to give the Duece a try. The one major thing I didn't like was how the rear brake pedal is positioned, its very hard to apply, you have to twist your foot to use it. Second was the steering, I found it to be quite unresponsive. It almost felt as though I was fighting the bike in turns and curves. Other then that, I found the Twin Cam delivering impressive power. This was my first ride with the new motor. The looks are great. I did miss the tripometer though, the Duece doesn't have one, and I did like the factory security system. Overall, I still wouldn't give up my Heritage.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ellen

Acton, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My Duece has the best ride and feel of any bike I've ridden. It is the first bike I will not give up (had 4 others in first year of riding). My husband, a BMW fan, rode my Duece for a few miles and is trading in his BMW this year for his own. He couldn't believe how sweet it is, such personality, responsiveness and shear pleasure. The Deuce has it all!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Ontario

Reviewed on 2001-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTD Softail Deuce

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had my 1st anniversary ride on my 2001 Deuce yesterday! Almost 10 000 miles in 365 (minus 6 months because of snow). I posted in February how much I loved my ride and it has only grown stronger since then. I've added Vance & Hines pipes to give it some solid bark (It worked - she sets off alarms all over the place), hard saddle bags (quick release - my ass!) and various pieces of chrome. A few weeks ago I rode from Waterloo Ontario to Manhattan down I81 and really found out what live to ride ~ ride to live means. I thought I understood the feeling before ~ I know I do now. Riding through the Adirondacks on my Harley was even better then my ride on a rental Road King on the big island of Hawaii! Coming back from Manhattan I road straight up I90 and made the 981 km journey in 10 hours. While I was sore it was a great ride, one I'll never forget. There will NEVER be a different manufacturer between my legs - This fool will part easily with his money - nothing compares NOTHING!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: