Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson Road Glide reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dennis Kraus

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike..I am the second owner and have made many upgrades to the bike.. All LED lights, Removable Tour Pack, Painted the inner fairing and repainted the Desert Dogs Front and back.. Just installed a new rear fender... What I like best is the fact that if I am not on a long road trip I can remove the tour pack in a few seconds and install the riders back rest that goes with the bike along will all the luggage ...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Midwest

Reviewed on 2016-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Very good stock ride. After some upgrades....Great Freakin'Ride! Smooth, fast with plenty of torque. I have a Softtail sitting in my garage and for anyone who knows, they are the most easy riding Harley ever made, this glide surpasses it. Con... The first get is just a bit to tall in the stock tranny for 500+ lbs of the line, Ok for 1 up but two could use a shorter gear. I have plans for that issue though
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2010-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had the RG a little over a year now, and I've had a chance for a couple of long trips. When the weather got hot I decided to take off the lower fairings, which brought the buffeting back. I found some new wind deflectors that Harley just released this year, that mount in between the gas tank and forks. I also went from the Klockwerks shield to a Clearview (large). WOW! What a difference! This bike is 100% more comfortable than the stock version. With or without helmet - no buffeting! My glasses don't get ripped off my face anymore either. Well done Harley. I also added a Power Commander from FuelMoto. Right now the bike is dialed in just like I want, and I'm really looking forward to some major trips next year.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

caymen8

Aurora, Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is the most fun I've had on a motorcycle, and I've had a lot of them. It's super comfortable, handles great, has adequate (although certainly not overwhelming) power, and looks fantastic. The quality of the paint and chrome on a Harley is in a class by itself. I've done lots of 500 mile days and even a 750 mile day and the bike runs smooth and comfortable the whole way. I traded in a Goldwing to get this bike. The Goldwing is an awesome motorcycle, and I would also give it five stars. However, it has no soul like the Harley. It's more like a Civic on two wheels. The RG looks better, sounds better, feels better, and is just overall a more enjoyable ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Me

Rochester, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2009-12-12

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I am now about 10,300mi and the snow has arrived. Overall this bike has performed better than I thought. I changed the oil 4x and won't be due till 15k. The only thing I do not like is the bolts that hold the windshield on, I switched to a shorty windshield when it got real warm, the plastic bolts never seem tight so you end up overtightening them and I had one fall into the fairing. I have yet to find a permanent fix for this and have written to HD but I guess they have had this set up for years and do not intend on creating a permanent fix. Other than that this bike rides like a champ, I have not experienced any wind buffeting even with the shorty on. MPG is app. 45 normally and about 52 with cruise control. The rear tire is in great shape after 10k and I bet I can easily get another 5k out of it. I may do the stage 1 this spring but I really don't see a need for it. The radio is a great addition but is kinda tough to hear above 75mph, although the CD player is much louder. Definetly getting the J&M speakers this spring. Have looked at the 2010's and the lowered rear end does not look right to me and I imagine will not corner nearly as well, although the rear fascia looks beautiful, also the 2-1 pipe looks ridiculous from the rear of the bike IMO. If you can find an 09 go for it, they are truly one offs. Feel free to write me if you have any questions.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jason

san diego, California

Reviewed on 2009-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
O.K. I sold my 2003 Roadglide and when I learned H.D was discontinuing the FLTR, I went down to my dealer and came away with a superior bike in every way. Abs brembos, 6 speed cruise drive, 96 cu in., 6 gal.tank, big 180 rear tire, much stiffer and better handling frame, less heat as muffler is now under bike and not next to the passengers left leg, better cd, radio, better speakers, more watts, I can easily hear at 80 m.p.h., better looking tank console, seat is more confortable, all in all this 2009 will run circles around my 2003. The old frame is what realy is bad about pre-2009s, as it wants to flex and wobble in corners, and the way too small rear tire (130) does not put enough rubber on the road. The new 2010 Roadglide does not come with cruise control, has too short a windshield and has lowered suspension, so the ride is harsher. If you want the best, buy an 09. I am surprised it took Harley soo long to finally upgrade the frame after 28 years. An 800-plus lb. bike does not need to be rolling on a skinny rear tire! Thank you H.D. - you hit this one out the park!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marko

New City, New York

Reviewed on 2009-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a hard time choosing my first Harley 3 years ago. The RKC won out over the Heritage softail classic and the Road Glide. Well...I rocked 37,000+ on my Blue Moose RKC. Rode it like a sports bike a good part of the time. Rubbed her boards on mountain roads on the right coast from Maine to Georgia. Even rode the highways (only when real life interfered). Loved it, but it did have its limitations. Well...the 2009 RG does not have such limitations. It is one totally fantastic machine. Rides steady and predictably, has good power, and comfortable. The new frame is SOLID, the new brakes are REAL BRAKES, the ABS works real well. So far heat is not an issue, but the re-routed exhaust can't hurt. The new wheels are HOT. The radio is way cool. No more earphones, it sounds great and even has an input for my Zumo to play mp3s. The only negative is the windshield is a couple of inches too low. (Sing along with me: A shopping I will go, a shopping I will go, hi ho my derriere, a shopping I will go). Anyway, to wrap it up, this is absolutely the funnest thing I've ever made payments on in my life. Still need a name: maybe simply Orange Crush, or Creamsicle (mines in Mirage Orange Pearl and I'm the old vanilla boy in the middle, hee hee). Ride on and ride safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

blur

butte, Montana

Reviewed on 2009-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased a Road Glide. I had rode a couple of new stock 08 models. I liked the ride and feel of the 08 but I have to have the loud pipes and ape hangers. The used model had all this on it and 13000 miles. I also got the 103 motor, with true duals, and race tuner. The 96 inch motor with six speed was not bad that I drove, but it wasn't all that people made it out to be. The 103 is a better option. I think riders looking to compare this to any sport import will be disappointed. It's apples and oranges. I would have gone along with the 96 inch motor but when I saved a few thousand and got more for my money, why not? I have not heard the 5th gear whine. I have noticed I do listen closer to the transmission. I think this has more to do with less wind. I never rode a bike with windsheild and fairing. I did test ride Electra and Street Glide and found this more comfortable for my size. The motor does put out some heat at stop and go traffic. I don't do a lot of that so not an issue. I also think it's important to keep in mind it's an air cooled bike so it should be expected. The bike to me feels like a tour bike, but will also be great for day rides. I plan to ride it on vacation next month putting on 3000 miles, with the wife on back. I do hear that most riders go thru various wind shields. I have a klock works wind shield. It allows the bugs to fly over head and for me to feel the right amount of wind. I did not like the stock look or trying to look thru or over it. Besides that's what makes Harleys great - dressing them the way you want. I have had a few Harleys and will proably buy another Road Glide when I wear this one out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for a few years but this is my first Harley. I almost bought a Star, but then I test drove the Road Glide. Thank God. It's an awesome ride. I've ridden in wind, pouring rain, even caught hail once. This bike handles it all extremely well. Took a four day camping trip on the bike and it was a blast. Great value, no matter what people may say about HDs. My buddy got a 09 Classic about the same time I picked up my FLTR, and I gotta say you can't go wrong with either bike. For a bike this large, she handles amazingly. Turns great at slow and fast speeds. Once you start riding you hardly feel the weight. It's very well balanced and a smooth ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

San Luis Obispo, California

Reviewed on 2009-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I agree with Richs' review. I came from a 2007 Ultra and this is a definite improvement over what is a good bike. My first day out was windy and the bike tracked so much better than the Ultra. I know some people don't like the looks of the fairing but it sure seems to work better than the handlebar mounted ones.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: