Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson Road King Classic reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Me

Rochester, Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-02-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this fine machine after a lifetime of second hand Harleys. I wanted a bagger but didn't want all the radio BS so this was perfect. The two years didn't see many miles due to a busted leg but 2009 proved to be the true test. I rode from Michigan to the florida Keys 2 times and to LA once and numurous 3-5 hundred mile weekend rides. The only problem I have is the seat because of my large body and boney butt. I love this bike. It even was a small part in the reason for a divorce :)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill C

Hamilton, Ontario

Reviewed on 2011-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded in my 2009 Ultra. I had owned two Harley Ultras previously (2004 and 2009). The 103 is an improvement over the 96" - enough power for two up riding. Agility, braking, visiblity all are very good. It runs cooler, probaly because of the oil cooler, than my 2009 Ultra with a noticeable improvement in power. The transmission is smoother and no 5th gear whine. I used ABS once - it was good - but there is a groning noise (was not used to it.) The only negative is from the passenger - I now replaced seat and side guards (with comfort guards) - big improvement for her. I really like the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

harley owner

arlington, Virginia

Reviewed on 2011-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just bought a 2012 Road King Classic after owning a 2001 Superglide. When I first rode the bike, I did not like it because it felt like a scooter, especially if you buy it out of the showroom. It sounds like a Suzuki. But put on Vance pipes and now it sounds good and makes a big difference on how you feel on it. I am starting to enjoy it more with every ride. If you're used to a Dyna, you're going miss the first three gears of the quick respondence that the Dyna's offer. you're also going to miss leaning in the turns. But overall, this bike you get a lot of miles in before your body feels exhausted. I also feel good in being tall and weighing 200 lbs. The bike fits me better. It takes a little getting used to the weight but you can't feel that weight until you brake and come to a stop. In the look department I think this bike gets an A+.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J D K

Kansas City, Missouri

Reviewed on 2011-04-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I took better than six months for me to find a pre-owned Road King Classic, and I found my '06 in vivid black (looks just like the pic) with only 3K miles in cleaner than new condition and all the right mods alreaady made for me: V & H slip ons and re-chipped, HD backrest, plus all HD upgraged chromed grips and lower controls...the bike is pure eye candy. I've ridden sportbikes since 1984, and still own a 2000 Hyabusa. But my sixth grade son says the Busa scares him (it scares me too!)...so I finally made the jump. My boy and I always go out together riding on the Harley, and all I can say is that you just can't stop smiling while you're on it. It is the most comfortable riding experience and really lets you enjoy your surroundings in a completely different way than on a crotch rocket. I have yet to try out the cruise control. If I ever do get rid of my '06 Road King Classic, it'll be for only one reason - to get into a newer 103c.i. version!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JB

Rochester, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2010-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
We had an 09 Electra Glide Classic, but being as though we don't ride long distances very often, the bike was almost too much. We went back to a Road King, and for the wife and I, it's the perfect machine. The comfort, performance, and handling are sensational. I did add a comfort stitch seat, rider & passenger backrests, and 14" ape hangers handle bars. The bars make all the difference in the world. It's a great all-purpose bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

thefloasyouknow

Auburn hills , Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-08-03

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased this bike over a year ago and 5500 miles later it is still running perfect. The performance on the bike is the only negative especially if you want to get on the freeway. It vibrates badly at speeds over 80 mph. I solved this problem by having a 103 engine installed and now it is perfect. The handling, comfort (with modifications), style, reliability and now performance are perfect. I have had three different Harleys and this one by far is the best. In my humble opinion the Road King Classic is the perfect blend of a classic and modern cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Peekskill, New York

Reviewed on 2010-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Can't wipe the smile off of my face! I had a super glide and Yamaha Roadliner. This bike handles great, very smooth on the highway and sounds great. Just have to get used to finding nuetral. Best of all, I don't have to explain why I'm not on a Harley, it's good to be back!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

New Oxford, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started my Harley ownership with a 2004 Superglide and was very happy. I test rode a 2006 Roadking and fell in love. I bought the Roadking the same day. The bike fits me well, I just need to change the handle bars to Heritage bars and a more comfortable seat. I have to make it my own. Overall this is my perfect bike and I plan on having this bike for years to come.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Konn

Naples, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love the bike. I had a Dyna Low Rider for years, and it was time for a touring bike. I walked around this bike after reviewing it on the web. The 5th gear noise is not a big deal at all. The engine does run hot, but I live in Naples, FL. It gets hot here people. I made some changes the are listed below that really helped cool the bike down.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Stubblefield

Lawton, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Absolutely love this bike. I waited until I actually had a few miles on it to review it. Now that I do (5000+), I can say that this bike is made to run! It looks great! Turns heads wherever I go! The engine has more than enough power to do what I need it to do. I am not a stoplight-to-stoplight kind of person but, then again, this bike wasn't designed for that either. On the highway it rolls effortlessly at 80+ and still had the guts to pass trucks and such. I have had it faster but that is classified! The cruise control is a nice touch too. In town, it turns great and I don't feel like I am trying to steer a tank. Great stopping distance too. Even my wife enjoys the ride. Only thing that I would have changed on this bike (other than the pricetag) would be the things I have already changed...the bars, seat and adding highway pegs. I will probably do a Stage 1 upgrade and put on some V&H Big Shot Duals but that is a want, not a need. I rode several bikes before choosing this one (Sportster, Wide-Glide and Heritage Softail CLassic). This one is IT. If your riding habits run like mine, 60% trips under a hundred miles and 40% day/weekend trips then you won't be disappointed. I have no doubts I could take this machine on a three-month long cross country tour with no problems. As for the issues you may have heard about like 5th gear noise, engine heat, etc...I haven't had a problem. Does the bike sound different in 5th gear? Yep. But if I wanted complete quiet, I would have bought a Honda....or a washing machine. ..or just stayed home. When you ride this bike, you know you are on a Harley. If you are expecting something else, I would say get something else. Does the engine get hot...well, duh, it is an air-cooled V-Twin. If you are at a stoplight or in a lot of stop-and-go traffic, you WILL notice some heat. I imagine the Stage 1 will help with that but honestly, I haven't noticed it enough to say it is a problem. I live in Oklahoma and I bought the bike in February. It is now August and through cold months and hot months I haven't had any issues with this bike. If you get one, I doubt you will be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: