Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson Road King reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Grant Harrington

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2022-04-21

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I just bought this bike yesterday and it rides great. It has a lot of custom parts and paint job. Very beautiful bike. I noticed on the back right side of the fuel tank it has the numbers 40/200 with a little silver Harley symbol. I would love to know what this means. It's number 40 of something.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phillip Friedland

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2018-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2016 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking for my bike for the last year and finally found it at Freedom Road Cycles and Sales in Wichita, Kansas. Shannon made it easy to purchase exactly what I wanted and was a pleasure to work with him.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

omaho5bill

Pembroke, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2012-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just sold my 1999 K1200RS BMW. It was too uncomfortable for me. I got a "great" deal on a 2012 Road King. This is an all day-bike. It's comfortable and relaxing to ride. The new Brembo brakes do very well. The motor is a honey. The tranny is great. The new frame is very rigid. The bike handles well for a big machine. I added heated grips for the riding in cool weather in New Hampshire's fall. You will not be disappointed with this tourer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jake

Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

Reviewed on 2011-11-19

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned a 2005 Road King with the twin cam 88 and loved the bike. But 10 klm. down the road I was convinced I'd made a great choice to trade her in. The refinement of the new RC is amazing - better motor, better frame, better brakes and transmission. I had to keep looking to see if I was on a Japanese sport bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KevinM40

Littleton, Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
At 49 years of age, 6 feet tall and just over 300 pounds, I knew my first bike was not going to be a 250cc rice burner or current crop of Euro naked bikes. Nor was it going to be one of the smaller Harleys on the market either. So I went with the base model Road King and have not second guessed that decision yet. The bike is solid, sturdy, stable when it needs to be and responsive when you need it to be. Drawbacks? I have laid her on her side twice and at 850# she is a real bear to get back upright. Despite the advertising there is still a lot of vibration but that smoothes out the faster you go and even with after-market Rinehart pipes she still sounds like a riding lawnmower. I have no other motorcycle riding experience to base this on but for my dollar I do not think I could have bought a better first motorcycle. I commute with it regularly and have taken it up into the Colorado Rocky Mountains with ease. She is a real joy to ride. Worse thing: the vibration. Best thing: Setting off car alarms in parking garages.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Cote

Waterford, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2010-01-19

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I waited for my first full riding season to be over before submitting this: Searched and reviewed for months the various makes and models. From the patience of the local Harley sales folks to the great people in the service department, this has been an extremely satisfying experience. I knew I wanted a bike large enough to carry a passenger, me and our stuff for a quick weekend getaway, yet small enough to have fun on by myself. With every model I looked at I kept coming back to the Road King. The bike is large enough to carry everything you need for a weekend trip and still have plenty of power to get up a go when passing on the interstate while being fully loaded with two people. A really stable, comfortable machine. We ride for hours without that stiffness. Yet when I am by myself on the twisties, she is responsive and agile. Like others the only complaint I have is the fith gear whine. Plenty of torque and a comfortable ride. The 4 point rubber engine mounting system has all but done away with the vibrations from hell that Harleys were known for. Being of short stature, I outfitted the bike with a Reach Seat. This pushed me forward and lowered my legs enough to comfortably hold the bike at a red light. She is heavy (800 lbs) and you need to respect the fact that if you drop it, you won't be picking it up by yourself. Have replaced all fluids with the synthetics. This helped the gas mileage and the whine on the 5th gear. Will be replacing the stock mufflers in the spring. With everything from the windshield to the backrest being quick disconnects, you can radically change the look of the bike within seconds. Long road trip, windshield, back rest & luggage rack go on. Riding by myself without any interstates, Off everything comes and you have a classic, big muscled bike. I would recommend for anyone who wants that in-between bike. Not a heavy cross country cruiser yet not a rough riding, bare bones sportster. If this is you, get the Road King!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

wolfislands

elk river, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2009-11-30

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own this and a gl1800 Goldwing, I enjoy this more because it feels more like a motorcycle. I use the the Wing on 1000 mile days and trips because it eats up miles. I ride the FLHR on day or weekend trips because it is more fun. You can make it a one of a kind. No problems with either bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Potsdam, New York

Reviewed on 2009-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 3 years and 15,000 miles, this has been an great bike for me. I have occasional problems with the starter not 'catching' properly but it always starts after the second crank. The paint and chrome are high quality and the finish still looks the same as when I bought the bike. It's comfortable on longer trips and I ride all day without any seat problem. The bike is a little unstable on rougher roads at high speed, but I don't like to drive that way. For a large bike, it's balanced and handles very well, even with a passenger. It's a real pleasure to ride this bike and I would buy a new one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Elk Richardson

Hollister, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-02-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I knew for years I wanted a big bike, even though my previous riding experience was on smaller bikes. So I did my homework and waited and watched HD's models over several years, then I couldn't hold out any longer. I've been lovin' my 2009 Road King since day one that I rode it home. I call him my new horse. Due to frigid weather, I haven't been able to ride a lot, but I've gotten my break-in mileage in, and have no complaints. Bike looks good, rides superbly -- handles well, is very comfortable, and gets up and goes when I roll the throttle -- and is all around great. Now I'm just waiting for warmer days, which will be here real soon. The ride is smooth. No heat issues like the pre-09 models. Stock pipes sound pretty good, but a little more volume (and associated HP) wouldn't hurt anything. Cruise control is nice, and works well (just as it should). Another good weather day to ride on and I'll be due for my first maintenance. that's when I'll switch to synthetic oil.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

idrider

Eagle, Idaho

Reviewed on 2007-09-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Harley-Davidson Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden more than 10K miles on my 2006 Road King. It has a variety of accessories added now including Screaming Eagle Slips-on's and the Stage One air filter system. For all the naysayers regarding this bike, hear this: This machine is not only reliable and capable but it is plenty comfortable for any long haul you can think of. A recent trip thru the Idaho and Montana mountains made up of hundreds of miles of twisty roads, long climbs, high altitudes and open highway stretches showed just how versatile the Road King is overall. This bike performed wonderfully. The stock seat is more than comfortable for all day riding. The handling is impeccable and I've never had a mechanical failure of any kind. I can't say the same for the many metrics that I've owned. If you're looking for a bike that bridges the gap between full dresser and average cruiser - the Road King is it. It is a do-it-all marvel in every respect. Mine is the '06, an 88 cu in 5 speed. I know that every manufacturer has its issues, but after all those years on metrics, I'll never, ever go back. This Harley has made a true believer out of me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: