Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Skip Stone

St Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2012-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2007 883C in late 2010 from a guy who stored it for three years (it was still like new). I've ridden it for a summer and a half so far with no complaints. It's an awesome bike. If you're a "large" fellow, you might want a bigger engine, but the 883 is PERFECT for me (5'10 and 190 lbs.). It accelerates like a rocket, has plenty of low-end torque and cruises at 75 mph. all day long. The rubber mount engine and fuel injection are great additions to the Sportster line. It's classic, has beautiful lines, great mechanics and a well-executed package of exhilaration. If you want to be hunched over a chainsaw, or ride a poser, buy a metric. If you're after a real cruiser and you're not dramatically overweight, pick up an 883C! The forward controls and laid-back handlebars help ensure a comfortable ride and the huge gas tank helps you put on the miles without stopping so often to fill up! I can't say enough good things about the 883C! It's got to be the best version of the Sportster ever devised!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen Cunningham

Gladwin, Michigan

Reviewed on 2011-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding motorcycles since 1967. I own five street bikes at the moment. I bought this bike because I have always liked the looks of the Sportsters and no longer have the need to ride 170 mph. I have an aversion to vibration so I didn't give serious thought to a Sportster until they mounted the engine in rubber. In 2007, they gave it fuel injection. That is just icing on the cake. This is a great bike. It runs down the road 60-75 mph. all day long. It starts instantly and has great low-end and mid-range power. I just changed the oil and filter at a cost of $12. If you do your own maintenance, this is a very easy bike to work on. I have owned some very nice bikes (around 100 all together) and have always done the maintenance as much a matter of convenience as well as cost saving. This is a bike that has a solid feel, great build quality, good looks and unfortunately a reputation as a starter bike. It is way more than that. I must admit that I haven't had mine much over 100 mph., but then again I don't have a need to go there. In the real world, the speeds that I ride on the back roads and expressways at 55-75 mph., the performance is very pleasing. It pulls like a John Deere from the bottom. It isn't a GSXR or an FZR. It is a Harley and it behaves like one. If you want a race bike buy something else. If you want something to ride back and forth to work or perhaps to the west coast and back, you could do far worse. This is one very satisfying motorcycle.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daniel

Knoxville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2011-05-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I really do enjoy this bike. It was a great bike to get back into riding with. I was a little concerned about the size since I am a big guy, but this bike has more than enough to haul me around. On the highway I can reach around 90 mph. and there is still a little left. I don't know how comfortable I would be with doubleup riding for long rides but it still handles well. I'm very pleased with this bike. I'll upgrade eventually, but for now I'm more than happy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brenda

Honolulu, Hawaii

Reviewed on 2011-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike and love it! When I bought it, it had 3,231 miles on it. In just a few days that I've had it, it's already at 3,396. I'm glad I got this one before someone else did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JeffDynes

Ansonia, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my bike the last week of June in 08. I have ridden this bike many miles in the little time I have actually had it out. It is great for an hour or 2 ride but after that, it's not the best. I put many miles on it last year riding from Kentucky to Ohio all the time. It has always started right up every time. I did have to have the rocker box gaskets replaced but Harley warrantied the parts and labor of course because of the awesome 2 year unlimited mileage warranty.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zeze

Clearwater, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-12-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this one as my first bike, and I could not have made a better choice....being a new rider. The bike is a bit heavy (560 pounds) but once you are used to it, you don't want to ride lighter stuff. It has been very reliable with the exception of the Running brake light module going out, which is not that big of a deal, it being an accessory. It turns great. It looks great. It stops great. It's got more than enough power. It is economical, as I am averaging around 50mpg. The sound it makes with stock pipes is enough to make you drool... The only reason I'd get Screaming eagles, is for highway riding purposes. I got mine without test riding it first & I was not disappointed. It's truly a Great bike. I love the individual handle turning signals with auto shut off. No other bike has that!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DaveHD

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike for close to a year now and love it. It is my 1st bike. It could use a little more power but it works for most situations. The stock pipes sound better as the miles are put on, but I will still be putting on V&H Short Shots. It is a great looking bike with white/gold paint and just the right amount of rake in front. I looked at other bikes as well and it was like comparing a BMW to a Chevy Cobalt. I can see why there is such dedication to Harleys and I am proud to say that it is my bike of choice.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

crasher65

Tewantin, Australia

Reviewed on 2007-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up the new bike. This is a great bike to ride. It has plenty of power and is just plain fun to ride. And after 21 other bikes including 2 GP race bikes, a 92 FLSTC, and a host of others, this bike ranks up with the best I've owned for ride and comfort. Fuel mapping is spot on and the thing just pulls well through all revs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Simon

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I reached 50 and had a mid-life crisis - yes I bought a HD. Being short and less than confident in control of a heavy MC, I chose to start with a 883C. This bike is just great and comes at a reasonable price tag. Oh yes, you can get technology for your money with Japanese and Euro bikes but HD is a name that gets the look. Go buy one, you won't be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike

nashville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2007-04-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My very first ride on a Harley was a 600 mile, 13 hour non-stop one from Ocala, Florida to Nashville, Tennessee this past weekend, March 31, 07. Picked up my new 883 custom in Ocala and drove straight thru to Nashville, all interstate driving. Everyone said I was crazy and that may be true but I found that after 20 years of non bike riding, that I still got it, and so does this Harley. Although it is not made for interstate riding in my opinion, it made the trip with no problem whatsoever. You could put a windshield on for interstate rides then remove it when you are done. I thought the seat might be a problem but my bottom never did get sore other than what you would expect after 13 hours on any bike. I was concerned about going thru the mountains in Chattanooga Tn, but the new fuel injection made this a non problem. Nothing bothered it, flat driving, up mountains, down mountains, didn't matter to my new 883c. We both made it back home to Nashville, the bike a lot better off than me (note to self, WEAR SUNSCREEN FOR 13 HOUR RIDES). I'm in love with my new Harley, if you are thinking about getting one, just do it. These are great bikes and I look forward to a lot of miles on this one. Here's my list of things to change on my new 883c: NOTHING! Buy one and enjoy, it is great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: