Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

38 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim

California

Reviewed on 2022-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
This is a fun bike with a lot of power and a unique appearance. I’ve had friends call my bike beautiful. At a 120 mph and pulling, you’ll start wondering if the wind will blow one of your legs sticking out in front off the peg. Water cold, single oil sump, 1130cc eye turning affordable crotch rocket. saddlebags will defile it And range of about 130 miles. The aluminum rims and forks put badly.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-11-02

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I absolutely love my Harley VROD VRSCA. It is great riding on long and short hauls and handles great on straight-a-ways. It's harder to handle when travelling slow due to the rake on front end. I have really enjoyed my ride. I would not want to trade it for any other type bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil

Grayslake, Illinois

Reviewed on 2012-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding bikes since I was 10 and this is the best overall cruiser I have been on. If you plan to spend hours and hours touring around the country this is not the bike for you. I like the performance of the Porsche designed engine, rock solid external frame, stable low and long wheel base, all combined with the HD craftsmanship. As for performance. I wound mine up to 7,500 in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd and found myself doing more than twice the legal limit. Not sure how long it took to get there but I know it took my breath away. I shifted through to 5th and the Harley pedigree showed itself as the big v twin balanced out a super smooth throaty hum at 4,500. If you are not going to step up and by a high end BMW or Super high end Harley, you can't do better.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy L.

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Good power, good comfort, handling much better than my other HD, gets hot in summer but I don't ride when it gets too hot out anyhow, transmission is not as clunky as my Fat Boy that I had before, they fixed a small oil leak from the rocker cover then I had a recall and they put a new engine in, my original motor was mechanically quieter, the brakes chatter some but it stops well, it's a good cruiser and less glitches than the other HDs I've had, a little costly but I used to spend a lot more.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Kingstowne, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I don't normally take the time to write reviews; but I feel I should let folks know about this product by H-D, one word: fantastic. I have had my V-Rod since May '02, took delivery at less than MSRP at a time when others were paying a premium- (but that's another story). And I have been very happy from day one, it has been reliable, rides great, and powerful. I took delivery with the Screamin Eagle slip-ons, the K&N air filter and flash. The bike continues to become louder, which I don't care about one way or the other but that seems to be a big deal to some people, I have always like the way it has sounded. It rides real nice and smooth, no vibration and I have ridden over 500 miles in one day and have not had a problem. And that was along mainly back roads and the Blue Ridge parkway. The bike draws attention wherever I go, I am always getting comments like "That is the best looking bike; "Is that a custom, people wave at me with their whole hand, not one finger, and that is after riding this for over a year and a half and it's still happening. It's a big hit at parades and other events I have attended. I have changed to Mobil 1 synthetic oil and it seemed to rev a little quicker and runs cool. I do my own maintenance and the bike has needed very little attention other than oil changes. It has not leaked a drop, other than the time I forgot to tighten the dip stick all the way; I was just in a hurry to get on the road and saw oil on the kick stand at my first gas stop, tightened the dip stick and it solved that issue. Now, this bike does have a small gas tank, and I stop every 100-115 miles to fill up, but I have found that even when I ride with my other Harley buddies they like to stop around that time anyway; for a drink or a bathroom break. Since myself and my friends mainly ride back roads, that's about every hour to hour and a half. I do get over 40 MPG, depending on speed mostly around 42 MPG, so I could go up to 140 before I'd be real close. On one ride to Myrtle Beach for bike week (430 highway miles) I only stopped 3 times and once was for lunch. Of course we stopped because the bagger with the big bore 103ci and I were getting about the same mileage per tank, anyway. This bike does haul butt, I don't do as well gas mileage wise when I am by myself because I have a tendency to get on it too much, and can easily leave most of my friends behind. Overall this is a fun bike and has been very dependable. You do get a little buffeting with the solid front wheel around 18-wheelers; but I have found it really depends on the truck's shape and what they are hauling, some are worse than others; and it sucks to be behind lumber trucks, they drop more crap, but then again that is not an issue only for the V-Rod. I don't use a windshield because I think that's not true riding; I like to feel the wind. But, I do ride with a flip-up full face, for protection. If I were to have to buy another bike it would be another V-Rod, I am very happy with this machine, recommend it highly. Thanks and have fun and ride safe. Dave
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big D

Lexington Park, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-09-20

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It takes riding, better yet, owning a V-Rod to fully appreciate how special this motorcycle truly is. I happily own a 2003 V-Rod and the riding experience gets better and better every time I get on it. I look forward to riding it each and every day. I dislike when it rains and when winter comes, because I have to park it in the garage and drive my SUV. The V-Rod is unlike any motorcycle that I've ever owned. I previously owned a Japanese Motorcycle, nice bike, but the V-Rod is much nicer to ride. Not because it's a Harley-Davidson, I'm not into the name on the motorcycle. I'm into the joyful experience that the motorcycle brings. Before, I was a part-time weekend rider. I would go a couple of weeks without even touching my previous motorcycle. The V-Rod is smooth and powerful. Not only does it look good, it rides better than it looks. Harley-Davidson hit a grand slam home run when they created the V-Rod. The liquid cooled Revolution engine is way ahead of its time. With Porsche's assitance, Harley-Davidson changed the way everyone will look at the forgotten Cruiser market and motorcyles in general. With 115 Horse Power at the crank shaft and 106 RWHP, 0-60 in 2.8 seconds with the stock motor on pump gasoline. Anyone wanting to the experience V-Rod should visit their local Harley dealer and see about taking a test ride. Guarantee it will be an experience that you won't soon regret.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry4116

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up my new 04 Vrod and I am totally in love with the bike. This is my first move from a pure sport bike to a cruiser(hard to agree this is a cruiser). The bike has great performance and comfort. The pure Vtwin sound and torque is very impressive. Every stop I make on this bike draws a ton of attention. Besides the small gas tank(you will be filling up often), this bike is very close to perfection.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kennymattox

miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-06-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Never had a Harley,rode a few in my 34 yrs. of riding, seems like everyone wants a Harley sometime in there life. I went into the dealership to buy a cruiser, test rode a low rider, deuce, nightrain, fatboy,a nd a custom Bigdog, then I rode the v-rod. I just can't let my adrenaline stop flowing at the age of 44, so I left the harley dealer went back to my local honda/suzuki/yamaha dealer and looked at the cheaper non-harley bikes. There's a reason they are 1/2 the cost, it's just not a HARLEY. So I test rode the lowrider [AGAIN],this time with my wife on the back and she said it was nice. Then I test rode the v-rod again she said WOWWWWWWW! THATS YOU!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt

Upstate, New York

Reviewed on 2004-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike totally changed Harley....FAST, Handles Great, Comfortable, Great Looking, Futuristic....I can't say enough....I just LOVE to ride it. The only things I would do to it that can't be done are: 1. A larger gas tank (3.7 gallons goes quickly when you are revving it a lot). 2. A longer 5th gear or add a 6th. 3. Up it about 3-400 cc's and make it insanely fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Medeiros

Kennesaw, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned 5 Harleys and was reluctant about this one, started it and hated it, drove it and fell in love, comfort and handling is outstanding, a joy to ride long distances. Sounds like a BMW, but small price to pay for the riding benifits.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 38 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: