Sport Touring Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Sport Touring Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Sport Touring? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2021-04-15 2015 Yamaha FJ09 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2015 FJ09 at Diamond Motorsports in Dover Delaware. Excellent sales rep Bill Poyer was great. My first time buying a bike on here and Bill made the experience positive! I highly recommend DMS and Bill Poyer! Love my new bike!
- Mike Vannoy, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-04-06 2010 Kawasaki Councours ZG1400 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Literally the best thing since sliced bread . So long as you are 5'9" or taller If your not forget this bike and get a vespa . This is a fast heavy motorcycle which rewards the rider with smooth comfortable ride for days. It will never break down > This is my third concours 1987 , 1995 and 2010 . With my last breath I will praise this motorcycle .
- James Hanel, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-02-17 2018 Harley Davidson Road Glide Custom CVO Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
117 CI ( Factory Custom ) M/C in Battleship Grey, I did change the rear suspension ( Progressive Shocks ) which allowed me to lower the bike to my satisfaction. I have owned 4 Harleys, this one is by far the best. I am forced to sell mine due to my wife's health, but I do still own it along with my '06 Night Train which I plan to keep.
- Keith Beckett, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-07 2006 Ducati ST3S Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in the country so the city hassles of riding a Ducati in traffic are not present. It doesn't like being lugged and displays thoroughbred impatience. On the open road, however, it is real gem. More sports bike than tourer, it bombs through rough sweeps at 130kmh, wanting to go faster. Love listening to the induction howl! And it eats up the twisties with the best of them. The bike is sure-footed and intuitive to ride hard, keeping others quite honest and shaming a few of them. Add in heaps of character and it's an easy bike to love.
- Damien Kingsbury, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-10 2014 Kawasaki Concours Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this motorcycle to commute 180 miles a day. At first I thought I would have to upgrade the windshield and raise the handle bars, but after three hours a day for three weeks, I love the way this bike is set up. Yesterday we had some crazy storms where there were 50mph wind gusts and rain the whole way to work and back. The Concours was so well behaved. The heated grips are amazing. I love the tire pressure monitors. The wind protection is perfect. For most rain, you dont even have to wear rain pants. The fairing provides protection for your feet and legs even through large puddles. The fuel mileage is great, albeit, the tank should have more fuel capacity. I have to watch the throttle hand to make the trip all in one tank. Also, for a not so utilitarian comment, the bike is fast. I mean legitimately fast. The bike does a great job in helping you go fast under control. The linked brakes are great and work well with the ABS as I found out hard braking from 90mph to 30mph on I95. After spending some 40 hours on the bike so far, I'd like to remove the power reductions in the high RPM's and low RPM's. The throttle is a little jerky from on to off as well. It took some time to learn how to shift smoothly. From what I hear, all this can be remedied by an ECU flash. Over all, a beautiful, fast, comfortable, capable bike.
- James, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-22 1987 Honda CBR1000F Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from my nephew after it was given to him by his father, the original owner. In the couple of years that I've owned it, I can truly say that it has lived up to its original hype! I've done so many things on this ole-timer that seriously have kept me from longing for the newer bikes. I've hit 175 (limited only by my own fear)on this thing, and the maneuverability is off the chain. When I'm on it, I truly feel at one with it. I'm currently looking to reunite with another `87-`90.
- Len, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-12 2003 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought New in 2004 and have 25K up through 2020. Have done many 14 hour days - would do 24 but can not stay awake that long - have gently put the pegs on the pavement @ 90 mph in the rain - no issues - great handling - took 3 years to adjust the suspension - lots of settings - all manual - to many different surfaces and tire combinations to ever get it "right" - Original tires were dangerous. Major dislike, engine buzz on highway (rpm too high), engine has no working effort on piston pins unless accelerating - partially corrected with 16/39 gearing changes to reduce rpm in top gear, but transmission in my 1967 RD250 6 speed had it correct - pure magic - FZ1 builders should have honored those who did it correct in 67 with 5th & 6th as double overdrive, 1st as a creeper gear (Fz 1st gear would be a good 2nd gear, and the Fz 6th gear would be better 4th gear, and with the flat torque curve in this motor - they should have changed it up from the R1 - can you tell the gear choice is a little off and that I miss the 1st creeper gear and the double overdrive - my 73 Z1 had a better stock gear box with only 5 gears - but that motor was built so it had more rpm (13K) than the FZ1. Overall, I wanted to replace my custom 1973 Z1 - and this 2003 FZ1 has done the trick for 16 years and I still do not want to part from it - it just ticks too many boxes. Now that I'm 65, I still plan to ride it for another 16 years, and from all expectations, this bike will still be good for another 25K in 2036. Should you buy one - Yes, BUT only if you know how to control your speed and enjoy the ride - be safe.
- Bumble Bee, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-24 2003 Honda ST 1300 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice balance of performance, comfort, and handling. Very reliable. The seat did not fit me (I slid forward on braking) and my wife was not comfortable, so we sent the seats to Sargent, had them modified to our liking. No issues after that. The stock windshield buffeted my wife (pillion), so we invested in an AeroFlow laminar flow windshield and California Scientific mirror deflectors, problem solved. Our first trip was around Lake Superior, plenty of room for our stuff. Wonderful machine.
- Lawrence Mayhew, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-27 2014 Honda CTX700D Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the 5th bike I have owned since I started riding in 1986, and the second bike I have purchased brand new. I got the 2014 CTX700D as a leftover in 2016. This is overall by far the best motorcycle I have owned. Mine is the 6 speed manual, and I added the hard saddle cases, a Cee Baileys high windscreen, a center stand, a Corbin saddle, a luggage rack/backrest and a gear indicator. Handling is the main key to a great motorcycle. This is one of the the easiest to handle street motorcycles there is. Even for it's 500 lb weight, it's does what you want it to do, when you want it to do it. Braking is beautiful, more than adequate even in paanic situations. Mine is non-ABS, but even so you wouldn't really need ABS. The bike over 8000 miles has been 100% reliable. Always starts right up, and is easy to maintain other than the air filter. Center stand helps with chain lube. Wish it had shaft drive, but understandable considering the low price. I wore the original Bridgestone rear tire out prematurely at 5K miles, but that was my fault for not checking the pressure often enough. Lesson learned. Transmission shifts like butter. Enough said there. Has typical Honda first gear clunk, but normal. Engine feels as smooth as the inline 4 cylinder of the CB650 I owned years ago, but the CTX is without the strung-out RPM's. It doesn't take much to get the CTX going and it will cruise at interstate speeds with no trouble at all at lower RPM's. At 50 HP it's not a powerhouse, but don't let it deceive you- it will walk away from heavy Harleys or anything but exotic supercars at the light effortlessly. This engine is excellent, and reports of over 100K miles of life... well, it's a Honda, 'nuff said. And MPG- how about 60 or so? Every day, every time. Comfort? OK, the stock saddle sucks. I got the stepped low Corbin, and that did it. Comfy as it gets on long country rides. This bike seems to fit newer or older experienced riders the best. Those who want to gain experience on an easily managed bike or those older guys or gals who just like to cruise the back roads. It's not the sport-bike for the male-dominant testosterone fueled 20 year old. Best thing is there are a lot of options and accessories for this bike, you can easily customize it for your wants/needs.
- Mark P., Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-16 2008 Honda VFR800 Interceptor Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Seems like there hasn't been a review of the VFR on this site in 15 years, so I thought I'd add my thoughts. Considered by many as the best all-around street bike, and almost certainly the best hybrid sport-touring bike, I have thoroughly enjoyed my time with my 6th-gen 2008 VFR “Interceptor” and never regretted buying it from the moment I drove it off the lot. Whether commuting in heavy Los Angeles traffic, leaning it way over on Hwy 2, or cruising the wide open highways on long road trips, it just delivers no matter what I ask of it. Yes, it sits taller than pure sport bikes, so the weight doesn't flip side to side quite as easily. But if that's what you need, then you're probably not looking at this bike. So maybe you won't be first up/down the mountain, but I didn't feel left behind, never felt like I was on a Goldwing trying to make the bike do something it wasn't meant to do, and a more competent rider could push it more than I. There's PLENTY of "sport" in this sport-tourer. And that surge of power when VTEC opens all 16 valves...man, I love that moment! I heard earlier generations had an almost dangerous kick, but this definitely never felt unsafe. And its completely predictable, so I relished in the exhaust note and power boost! I rode many freeway commuting miles and it’s steep front fork angle makes it easily maneuverable, despite its size and weight. And the linked breaking system (LBS) helped me quickly stop in some "oh s#%t" moments (LA drivers are not the best). You sit more upright than a sports bike, which puts less weight on your wrists. And the foot pedals also don't sit as far back, so you don't feel all folded up and is comfortable on even long rides. Part of the reason you're not folded up is because the bike is taller than some others. I tightened the adjustable suspension to reduce the height, but I still could barely touch the ground (or maybe that's only an issue because I'm 5'7"), which unfortunately resulted in me dropping the bike a couple times when there wasn't even and stable ground under me. I could have tightened the suspension more to lower the height more, but since it was mainly a commuter bike, I didn't want to be too bouncy. But long rides is where I loved this bike the most. I took a couple multi-state trips and one 15hr ride and the VFR was an absolute joy. It took about 5 hours before the stock seat started getting a little uncomfortable, but the same is true even in my car. I don't have saddle-bags, but I used a tank bag and another big bag on the pillion seat (it has rear-handle bars convenient for tying bags down). And the large 5.8 gallon gas tank let me go and go and go. I never got up to the 150mph max, but I cranked it up pretty high on long straightaway back roads and this is where the long wheelbase and extra weight and power of the V-4 really help - it is SO stable at high speeds, you feel completely confident and the only fear is police or your head being ripped off if you pop up from behind the windscreen at that speed. This was my 2nd bike and a nice step up from the Suzuki SV650 I had before. They're different in almost every regard, but with the Honda I noticed that every button, switch, clutch, and lever is buttery smooth and felt so much higher quality than Suzuki. I always got tons of compliments on the look of the viffer. I like the sharp angles, dual-under-seat exhaust, integrated turn signals, and the single-side swingarm looks hella sexy. I did add HID lights, but otherwise never felt the need to modify anything. After about 5 years I started to feel like I wanted a little more oomph than the 781cc's. But I was looking at the Honda VFR1200 because I still love this platform so much. This could definitely be a first bike (its smooth and tame enough). As fast as an R1? No As comfortable as a Goldwing? No But anyone trying to choose the "one bike to rule them all, and on the pavement bind them" will find this to be a worthy and enjoyable steed in your stable - especially if you have to choose only one. So be comfortable on your daily commute, join the boys on a fun weekend ride, and take that long road trip you've been talking about...all on your VFR. I have, and I highly recommend it. Ride safe.
- Baxter, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-12 2007 Yamaha FJR 1300AE Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used cycletrader to get an individual seller. This led be to procure a very sound bike. No hassles. Great discussion with bike owner and interaction. I am so happy for the ease of doing business via cycle trader.
- Jeff , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-10 2011 Suzuki DR650 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The DR650 is a blank canvas upon which you can become a Leonardo Di Vinci. Mine was stock when I bought it and, over a few months, I have transformed it into the most capable communter and adventure tourer in the world. This bike rocks my socks. It is grunty and fun. The sit up and beg seating position suits my aging bones. The nimble handling allows me to flick through the daily commute with ease. The high aspect lets me see cagers on their mobiles so I know who is likely to take me out in a moment of phone addiction. When I get to the trails after a comfortable ride on bitumen the "Bush pig" copes with all but the knarliest landscape. I love this bike and recommend it to anyone who is not excessively fashion conscious
- David Baker, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-26 2014 KTM 1190 Adventure Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle. I've been riding for over 50 years and had about a dozen bikes, mostly smaller dual sports. I'm retired and don't commute, or ride to get from A to B. I ride for fun, for the thrill of coming out of a corner on a lightly traveled country road at 30 and accelerating to 90 in about 4 seconds and a couple hundred yards. It has (almost) sport bike power and handling, but an upright, comfortable seating position. KTM claims 148 HP; the Cycle World Road Test Dyno showed 129; they reported a 10.68 quarter at 129. I don't care to go anywhere near that fast, but they showed 0-30 in 1.2; 0-60 in 3.2, and; 0-90 in 5.0. That's the range in which I use and appreciate the motor. It's also relatively light for a big bike - about 500 pounds with a full tank - although I've added an OEM skid plate and crash bars, and have OEM panniers which I don't use unless on a long trip. KTM marketed the 1190 Adventure (they now have a 1090 & a 1290) as a dual sport. I'll go down a dirt/gravel road, but even if I had the 'R' model, which has stiffer suspension, dual purpose tires, and a few other offroad features, wouldn't take 500 pounds very far from pavement. What don't I like? The headlight was anemic. I replaced it with a much brighter LED, and added auxiliary lights. The stock seat rendered it almost unridable for any distance; thus an aftermarket solo seat was required. Reliability? There's often something minor that's not quite right. For example, the ambient temperature indicator currently isn't working on my bike. 2014 was the first year for the bike and I think KTM went overboard with "state-of-the-art" electronics, ride modes, combinations of ABS, traction control, etc., without fully debugging everything. We KTM owners will gripe about these little things and inevitably our friends, or forum participants, ask, "well why don't you get a Japanese bike?" The answers vary, but all, in one way or another boil down to: "Are you crazy? And not ride a KTM?!?! Cause when this bike is right, and that's most of the time, it's the most delightful, exciting, fun, euphorogasm machine I've ever ridden, let alone owned. (And I just made the last payment.)
- John Hocking, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-23 1998 Buell S3 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from an HD dealer in 2018. It had 765 original miles on it. The dealer put new tires, fork seals, and battery before I took it. Well it carberated so takes a while to warm up. But it is nice to ride. Good and peppy above 3500 rpm. Hard to find neutral even after adjusting the clutch. But...I love this bike. Now in 2019, it runs well. What more can I ask of a 21 year old bike.
- Jorge, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-12 1996 Kawasaki Zx11 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Always felt comfortable. The forward seating but not to forward. Fit my back perfect. Had many other bikes over the years.Starting with a new V65 in 84. Went through Goldwings not taking away anything from them. But the slight lean forward made it more comfortable for me. I just bought an zx11 from 96. Love at first ride. Well 2nd. It had been 10years due to low back injury and the zx11 was the ticket. Had an 06 Goldwing. Again nothing bad to say about them. Except that forward lean was the fix. And the price 2400.00 with 14k. Grab them while you can. Unless you need a zx14 or Busa speed. 198mph is plenty for me. I've been in the 160s. If i find another cream puff for a couple grand I'll grab it too. Thanks for listening.
- Craig Fields , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-22 1993 Yamaha TDM850E Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One look at this bike and I had to test-ride. The radiant red angles of this machine created a rare invitation to experience pure balance between sport and tour. The dealer offered leathers to enhance my ride, adding how they are "practically free" with purchase. His strong hands TICKLED as they snapped, buckled and zippered me in for a custom fit and feel. I slid onto the low, tight, contoured seat. The cockpit was immediately comfortable, and within reach, bestowing confidence. I allowed the 439 pounds to rock side to side in anticipation of the curves I would encounter. I started the air-cooled engine, letting all 849cc's of power rev between my legs - I wanted all 86 inches to take me. Then I was out of the lot toward a deserted, winding stretch of Pennsylvania's finest. The four stroke, chain-drive was smooth and sexy. Zero to sixty in 6 seconds was straightaway foreplay. This bike MELTED into me and, into the first turn, I was WET with excitement. With heightened adrenaline, I pulled hard on the throttle, PUMPING me faster out of the curve with incredible control and bite. This bike was rivetting, and I just had to have it. Never has a bike pleasured me with such modest, yet precision engineering and ergonomics. The center-weight was flawlessly balanced. I went hard and deep into the night, feeling the engine thrust in and out, in and out, in and out, of all five gears. I could have ridden all night. When I came back, I felt naughty for enjoying it that much, (at least the seat stayed dry). The dealer was much better at slipping the leathers off of me. It was very difficult to leave. About to score my first post-masters job, I could afford retail ($7299) despite the dealers doubts. When I didn't get the job, I had to break off my "TDM n'leather" deal, (I performed dealer incentives, however). One of my roommates owns one. It's the hottest thing about him. Sometimes he forfeits it to satiate me. Most reliable bike ever, well into it's teens. This chic and passionate ride is not to be missed.
- Ruby, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: