Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Sport Touring reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Touring

Reviews

36 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mark P.

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2020-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2014 Honda CTX700D

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
This is the 5th bike I have owned since I started riding in 1986, and the second bike I have purchased brand new. I got the 2014 CTX700D as a leftover in 2016. This is overall by far the best motorcycle I have owned. Mine is the 6 speed manual, and I added the hard saddle cases, a Cee Baileys high windscreen, a center stand, a Corbin saddle, a luggage rack/backrest and a gear indicator. Handling is the main key to a great motorcycle. This is one of the the easiest to handle street motorcycles there is. Even for it's 500 lb weight, it's does what you want it to do, when you want it to do it. Braking is beautiful, more than adequate even in paanic situations. Mine is non-ABS, but even so you wouldn't really need ABS. The bike over 8000 miles has been 100% reliable. Always starts right up, and is easy to maintain other than the air filter. Center stand helps with chain lube. Wish it had shaft drive, but understandable considering the low price. I wore the original Bridgestone rear tire out prematurely at 5K miles, but that was my fault for not checking the pressure often enough. Lesson learned. Transmission shifts like butter. Enough said there. Has typical Honda first gear clunk, but normal. Engine feels as smooth as the inline 4 cylinder of the CB650 I owned years ago, but the CTX is without the strung-out RPM's. It doesn't take much to get the CTX going and it will cruise at interstate speeds with no trouble at all at lower RPM's. At 50 HP it's not a powerhouse, but don't let it deceive you- it will walk away from heavy Harleys or anything but exotic supercars at the light effortlessly. This engine is excellent, and reports of over 100K miles of life... well, it's a Honda, 'nuff said. And MPG- how about 60 or so? Every day, every time. Comfort? OK, the stock saddle sucks. I got the stepped low Corbin, and that did it. Comfy as it gets on long country rides. This bike seems to fit newer or older experienced riders the best. Those who want to gain experience on an easily managed bike or those older guys or gals who just like to cruise the back roads. It's not the sport-bike for the male-dominant testosterone fueled 20 year old. Best thing is there are a lot of options and accessories for this bike, you can easily customize it for your wants/needs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Celentano

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2014 Kawasaki Concours

Shop this motorcycle

3.8
Purchased it used to use during rainy days so not subject my Harley Street Glide to those rides! Kind of a alright bike built at a price point only the Japanese typically build, crappy suspension and frames. Strong motor though.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerome Stocks

California

Reviewed on 2022-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2015 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
The FJR1300 has been produced by Yamaha since about 2003 and is a Sports-Touring Motorcycle against which all others are compared. It’s fast and reliable and in fact commonly used by Law Enforcement Agencies around the world. Heated Grips, Shaft Drive, cruise control, electronically adjustable windscreen, and easily removable saddlebags are some of the creature comforts on these since the 2014 model year. The stock seat is not typically beloved for long rides, but there are replacement options available.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daniel T Hedrick Jr

Missouri

Reviewed on 2022-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2021 Kawasaki Concours abs14

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
Save your money and avoid all Concourses. I bought a 2021 last year which has thrown every code possible that it can throw. When you take it into a shop the bike won’t show any codes thrown. My bike has completely cut out going down the road (completely black, not electrical power with a brand new battery) and then out of the blue it came back to life and started rolling off on its own. I have been fighting Kawasaki for a long time, they do not stand behind their products or name anymore. I have given them videos of the codes being thrown and was given my bike back to me untouched. Trust me……. Go with a different manufacturer, you’ll be glad you did!!!!
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy McDermott

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-03-15

Motorcycle reviewed2019 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This particular motorcycle at Concord, NC Indian has been dropped on both sides. Even in light of that the dealership gave me an out the door price offer of $21,000 when the starting price was $16,999. Personally, I would avoid this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barry

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2014 BMW F800GT

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
As a replacement to my cherished yet aged 1987 K75S, my initial buying considerations were a mid-weight sport tourer. Comfortably solid on the highway yet nimble on the majority of backroads I tend to seek. Reliability and low maintenance were also obvious considerations. Perusing various models, I came across the F800GT. Looks notwithstanding, BMW definitely hit my sweet spot with this model. There are so many plusses. First, the overall fit to my body and riding style. I'm #170 at 6'0". A bit tall but not a big boy. My bike has the ZTechnick V-Stream windscreen and am glad for that. I would imagine the stock windscreen would have created helmet issues. The belt drive absolutely rocks, but I have read of belt breakages with riding on gravel roads. That has left me a bit leery of being able to travel less groomed roads. The parallel twin motor (90hp/63lbs) is absolutely perfect for me. Living on the Oregon Coast, I can overtake most any line of RVs and rubber necker tourists with a downshift and a flick. The fuel tank is located underneath and affords easy access to refueling w/o pulling off my tank bag. It also lowers the weight distribution and gives greater agility. MPG is as advertised. It's great. My *one* con- the side cases. On my old bike, I could fit my 21" tent poles and keep a clean and secured profile with my gear. The F800GT cases, while wider, are not long enough to accommodate my tent. That's a bit of a rub. But, every other metric for my personal comforts has been met. I dig the analog faces for speed/rpm and yet have some new digital toys in ascertaining needed info. Overall- I look forward to every ride...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Uttech

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-02-09

Motorcycle reviewed2016 BMW RT1200R

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
I'm a hard core 50 year plus motorcycle enthusiast. I've owned at least 75 motorcycles of all modern makes except Ducati. I've had at least 8 or 10 BMW's and really liked each of them. Most were RT1200R's. They're dependable, reliable, easy to work on if you have to. No chain, no belts to mess with. They handle well and brake well and have a decent amount of power. However, I have never owned a single BMW that was comfortable right out of the crate. BMW needs to go to seat building school. It is my single biggest complaint with the BMW's. I am going to get a custom seat made for my 2016. I also have a Harley Ultra Classic and when I asks my wife which bike she prefers......it's the Harley every single time because it is more comfortable. The BMW is absolutely safer, and will run circles around the HD in performance, handling, and braking..... HANDS DOWN!!! it's not even close.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex S

Illinois

Reviewed on 2021-12-20

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Ducati Diavel

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Would like to start with the positives of the Diavel: Great bike, very easy and comfortable to ride! Powerful, Looks very good(my opinion). 3 riding modes that can switch on the run, sport very jerky at low speeds(gas is very sensitive) touring was best for me! still the 162HP but much smoother. Amazing keyless option, got used to it fast, miss it ever since. THATS IT! The bad? Big, heavy bike, its a long bike. absolutely no wind protection! So if you planning on long trips, must get aftermarket windshield at least. Use in the city? short commutes? bad idea, gets very hot FAST, terrible side exhaust pipes design, BURNS your right leg! Clunky chain(hits the swing arm) remove the plastic chain guide, got better but still there on bigger bumps. Mirror screw get lose, often. Very few shops agreed to work on it, its a ducati! Desmo service very pricey for what it is! Overall great bike if you can do the maintenance yourself. It was my second bike(beginner) however it gave me confidence when riding, it is comfortable, easy to ride looks and feels sporty, very easy to lean it in the corners. Its a heavy bike so even on windy days on the highway it was very easy and predictable to control it. Got used to all the above negatives and lived with them as the smiles per mile were way more then negatives! Enjoy it and definitely buy it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane M.

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2015 Harley-Davidson Breakout

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
The 2015 Breakout has been a joy to own and modify! As with any Harley people are going to want to customize it and there are tons of aftermarket parts out there to personalize these motorcycles. I gave it 3 stars for performance because it's not a race bike but it is very powerful for it's weight. Comfort got 4 stars but I'm also comparing it to my touring bike that is geared for long distance. Overall these bikes are fun to ride and always turn heads. Some old school guys don't like them because they have more of a sport look but that's exactly why I wanted one. They also ride great, especially surprising since the back tire is huge but it still handles well. I took mine on the famous DRAGON road in Tennessee and it was perfect on all 129 curves. No scraping in turns or bottoming out. These bikes are great for anyone with medium to expert skills. Not for a beginner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DaPoppa

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2017 Honda VFR1200X DCT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great review!! I have the 2017 DCT, New old stock last January, I have about 5500miles on it and the only complaint is the seat is miserable until you wear it in, then it is OK. Looking at a Corbain seat, have not pulled the trigger yet. You should check out the forum specifically for this bike "crosstourer.com/", good data. The brakes are wimpy right out of the box that is true, after about 200 miles the pads fully seat and then achieve full stopping power, take my word for it the ABS system works well and bringing this 630lb bike to a full stop from 60mph with me at 350lbs from 60mph is a wonder to behold. My throttle was dangerously twitchy when I first got the bike, took 300 miles for it to get settled in, fly by wire, and for the computer to learn my touch. Other than that this bike is effortless to ride, in traffic I use the sport mode #2 or manual in stop and go traffic, it gives me better control of the gear. On the highway this bike is a real "Firecracker" 4500RPM you are at 95 MPH the bike wants to run and is effortless when you crank that throttle, 75MPH seems to be the comfort zone. Too bad this bike was not more popular here in the states.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 36 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: