Standard Reviews on Cycle Insider (75)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Standard Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Standard? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-09-06 1951 Vincent Rapide Series Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Vincents are not for the faint of heart. These bikes were made to be relatively maintenance free, but that was in the 1940s and early 50s. The quality and understated beauty of these bikes is unsurpassed. I am trying to sell my Rapide and I would not sell it to anyone that was under prepared to work on it. We only are temporary owners of these magnificent machines. These bikes can be bears if not set up correctly. The magneto should be overhauled by someone that is very familiar w/ Lucas mags, if the carbs are old just get new ones and don't bother fiddling w/ the clapped out old ones. A quick compression test and ride should tell you if the engine is toast or what. Join a local British Bike Club (no matter what make) and the VOC, of course. Today's forums and U-Tube videos are priceless. Good Luck
- Steve Walsh, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-18 2014 Honda CB 1100 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my CB1100 new from the local Honda dealer in 2014. It replaced my 2007 BMW F800. For the first few years I used it as a daily driver (I didn't own a car at that time), commuting to work, and for weekend excursions with friends (Harley riders) into the winding roads of the Texas hill country. First of all, the CB 1100 is a beautiful motorcycle with the street cred to hang with my Harley buddies. Second, the performance is astonishing. The in-line four pulls strong off the line and doesn't quit. The power delivery of this liter bike is smooth at all engine revs, and there is more of it than I ever use on city streets and highways. This bike never squawks or complains about anything. I can relax and enjoy the ride, or when I want to quicken the pace, my CB1100 is right there with me, eager to go. As a daily commuter the bike is very comfortable and practical. I'm average height (5'-10") and can say it is easy to put both feet flat on the ground. The idle speed is a quiet and gentle purr. In first gear the bike just rolls happily along with almost no throttle input. Twist your wrist, though, and the massive engine comes alive instantly. What fun! Reliability has been great; no problems as all. Fuel mileage is solid at about 42 miles per gallon, and usable range is around 150 miles before you feel like it's time to refuel. What could be better? This bike checks all the right boxes for riders like me who love to enjoy the open road, sharing good times with other motorcycle enthusiasts.
- William Dupont, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-24 2014 Honda NC700X DCT ABS Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was not a good purchase. I researched my first bike for awhile. I chose the NC700 because of the Dual Clutch Transmission. It'd been awhile since my MST course, and I remember having trouble with stalling at stops. So the DCT looked to be a good choice for a beginner. I bought one used, with 5000 miles, from a senior citizen who'd added a useful windscreen and bags. Sensible, safe, and a good commuter? These boxes it checked. And the DCT worked as advertised. Shifted up and shifted down on its own, or at the punch of your thumb. It gave some confidence. And it was easy to manage in NYC street traffic. And the front trunk was fun. I wound up treating it like a fanny pack. But was the bike fun, comfortable, and good for the interstate? NO. It struggled to keep up with interstate speeds over 80mph. The model is tuned to give all its power at low speeds, and it has a rev limiter to protect the engine. So at interstate speed, with no fairing, it got caught by the wind, slowed down, and any attempts to increase the engine hit the stupid rev limiter. Lastly, after a couple hours on the interstate, the seat made my butt sore in a way that lasted for days. And the bike was not FUN. Even around town, it chunked and it clunked. It was forgiving, but in no way inspiring. I remember having a Honda Elite scooter that more gleeful. It would always shift itself upward too soon, and the chugging reminded me of a tractor. After about a year, it was stolen for a joyride and wrecked up in the Bronx. I was surprised to find I didn't mind it being gone. I missed having a motorcycle. But not that motorcycle, the NC700x. So buyer beware. If you go over to the NC700x forum site, most of the posts tell you it's "just as good as larger bike" or a "Mini-Dualsport" or "Good for all my needs". I believed these posts, but in my experience, I outgrew this motorcycle in about 6 months.
- Rob, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-09-15 2002 Suzuki Gsxr 1000 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Im wanting to hear some feed back about personal experience with this year and model gixer only please and if you done custom work to it what it os that you did ans how and pics please thank you
- Johnathon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-12-17 2010 QLINK Tour 250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, let me state that anyone who says this bike will cruise comfortably at 60 mph. is in fantasyland. The Tour 250 is geared for city driving, which means it has good acceleration off the line at the expense of top end or high speed performance. This bike is not designed for "Long Trips", no 250 is. What the Chinese designed this bike for is urban commuting and this task it does very well indeed. The speed "comfort zone" for this motorcycle is around 45-50 mph. Anything past this and you start to get the inevitable v-twin vibration. For a bike at this price point, it has many creature comforts and features only seen on more expensive cycles such as self-canceling turn signals. However, it does have some "quirks". For example, as of yet an unknown to me reason, the Chinese, instead of using both exhaust pipes, have routed the exhaust from both cylinders to the lower pipe and left the upper pipe as a "dummy" pipe. I don't know why they have chosen to do this and you really can't tell unless you look underneath the bike but it is a little weird. However, it sounds just like any normal 250 would and has a quite pleasing note. This bike likes a slightly loose chain so don't overtighten. The gearbox clangs like pots and pans but so do a lot of other bike brands out there. The functionality of the gearbox however is flawless as is the clutch. As with any air-cooled v-twin, you will be tightening bolts and I suggest locktite in critical areas such as axles, sprockets, etc. To wrap this up the Q-Link Tour 250 is an outstanding bike if you use it for what it is designed to do which is "City Driving". If you plan on taking long trips, especially on highways with a speed limit of over 50/55 mph., you would be better served buying a used Japanese model with higher displacement.
- Charles Jackson, Oldsmar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-24 2006 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife is the primary rider of this bike, but I'm doing the review for her. The GZ250 is a great starter bike for beginners. My wife loves the bike because it's the same bike that she learned on at the MSF course. It's easy electric starting, simple to operate and it's easy to ride. I've taken it for a ride and was very pleased. It's a little small for me which is why I ride a Honda dual-sport, but for her it's perfect. You won't set the world on fire with its acceleration, but it gets 82 mpg. and it tops out around 72-73 mph.---more than enough for a beginner. I've never owned a Suzuki, but everyone says that the quality is very high. We're very happy with the bike!
- taxman, Glenfield, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-30 2010 QLINK Tour 250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since riding bikes under 305ccs since the 60s, this is the most comfortable motorcycle I've ever owned. It has a big touring saddle, good suspension for a guy with a bad back. I'm still breaking the Tour in, but it does an easy 60 mph. at half-throttle and has cleared 70 for short intervals. My neighbors appreciate the quiet muffler. The plastic hard bags hold more than my old leather ones. The extra lights add visibility and safety at night. Expect any 250cc bike to cruise comfortably at 60 mph. all day long. Keep interstate mad-dashes to a minimum and instead, take the scenic back roads. See America that way.
- Rev. Brown, Hyannis, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-14 2009 Suzuki Gladius Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you can get by it's funky styling, it's a great bike. Suzuki styled this bike more for the market in Europe. So it's not too hot here in America. But it has a nice smooth power delivery and handles great. It's a great bike if your looking to get back into riding and has plenty of power for interstate speeds.
- Rich, Saint Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-09 2009 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When first purchased I thought the engine was too noisy and I still do. But I like the fact the bike is well thought out and simple. The valve adjustment is a snap. I like inserting the key to remove the seat, and large well for tools, papers, and such, under same. The battery placement is easy and simple to get at, take out and replace in winter. The engine is a little underpowered compared to my old Honda Rebel, but the fuel economy is better. I love the large fuel tank. The best mileage so far is 82.2 mpg. The worst is 65.3 mpg in the fall with high winds. Would I recommend one to a friend? Yes. Have I owned many larger motorcycles? Yes. The last was a V-Star 650. Big machines are all about hype. Want a fun machine? Want to enjoy the back roads of America? Take a trial ride on a 250. You'll love it! They are not Harley Davidsons, and they are not supposed to be. Always remember: It isn't how much you spend, it's how much you save.
- Jay Allen, Whittemore, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-22 2009 Suzuki Gladius Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a TL1000R and have over 87,000 miles on it. I have liked how reliable it has been. So I looked at this bike for a cheaper transport and I like twins. I bought this unit new and have liked it ever since. The stock seat is bad, very hard with no foam. Suzuki did this for short riders which is nice but I bought Suzuki's taller seat and was very pleased. It is not that much taller than stock but way softer. I also installed larger handle bars (7/8 to 1-1/8) and adapters. This helped out, too. My bike has great power for its size and turns like no other bike I have ridden. It reminds me of super motards. It's a great good looking bike and I would recommend it for a starter bike and for the advanced rider it is that good.
- brandon A, broken arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-25 2009 Suzuki Gladius Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is very popular in Europe and Asia. It's a cheap option of Ducati's Monster 696. In several reviews, it beat Kawi's ER6-N and Yamaha's XJ6 (not available here in the US). I did a two-month research before I bought it and got it at a real good deal. I looked at Yamaha's FZ6R, Triumph's Bonneville and the Kawi' ER6-N and decided to get the Gladius. I'm a new biker. I'm very pleased with this bike. I like the standard riding position and low seat height. It also has enough power to match the bigger bikes.
- CDS, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-13 2008 QLINK Legend 250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm from Mexico City, and here traffic is awful so I decided to buy a bike. The price was great. My bike has 7000 km and still feels like brand new. I travel every day from my place to work, approx. 25 km, and the fuel is one liter. I think this is a very good bike if you live in a city with a lot traffic because it is not so heavy. If you really want to have style and good speed and don't want to be stuck in a traffic jam and save fuel, this bike is the perfect choice. If you prefer travelling around the country, in that case you probably need to buy a bigger bike.
- Ivan, Mexico, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-27 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Suzuki Marauder GZ250cc at the end of season 2009 and I had never ridden before. I am so pleased with it. It's perfect... really comfortable and handles well.
- Janice Pinsent, Mississauga, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-03 2010 QLINK XF 200 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great beginners bike, or just something to ride for cheap. I've been riding for 10 yrs and I have to say that these off brand bikes are good. I personally prefer a Honda or Suzuki but I just want to ride again and this allows me to without spending a load cash. As far as any problems, I haven't had one yet.
- Jason, Apopka, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this as a previous year leftover at the start of 2006. The ride on this bike is outstanding! If you are willing to wind it up a little bit the accelleration is really more than adequate. At the end of a 200 mile trip the gas mileage was about 81 mpg. The factory seat is very good and does not seem to tire after a long ride. I have owned 5 bikes in my life and this is probably the nicest one of the whole lot. It will cruise at 65 mph all day long.
- Ray T., Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-05 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2003 GZ250 about a month ago with 3400 miles on it. I have been riding it every chance I get since then. I comute to work 25 miles each way, so it has greatly helped my pocket book with its 70 mile to the gallon performance. I have had no problems riding along the 4 lane HiWay at 70+ miles per hour with a top speed somewhere around 80. It has been a joy to own, and I have no intention of getting rid of it any time soon.
- Jason, Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-13 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine on ebay for $1800. It had less than 100 miles on it. I had not ridden since I was a kid (37 now and retired military). Told my wife I wanted to ride and knew I needed to start out small. This is a great starter bike to learn or relearn on. No complaints and everyone thought it was a much bigger bike. I have an '06 Harley Super Glide being delivered in October, once I leave Afghanistan. I will always look back at my time on the 250 and be thankful for gaining experience on it before going larger.
- Bernie, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 2003 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchanced a 2003 GZ250, and I abosluetly love the bike. I was very suprised when I got it, just because I got it to ride around town, and was amazed when I found out that It can actually pull my 220 lbs body up to about 70 on the Highway with out sounding like it is going to explode. The comfort is a bit poor for the seat, but so is any stock bike seat. But other than that, I am in love with the bike. I bought it for just in town, and for my wife to learn on this fall after she takes her MFS course, but I have found my self riding it much more than I ride my larger bike. The only reason I rate it 4 stars in performance is because it is a bit slow at getting up to H-way speeds, but it will do it. This is an amazing little single that is going to be in my garage for a long time. I am actually considering getting the next up model for my self with the 40 cc single cylinder when I am forced to give this one to by better half this fall. Forget my Kawasaki 500 LTD, I am a suzuki guy from now on.
- John, Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-23 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having had all makes and sizes of bikes all my life and have ridden for the past 30 years, I just bought this bike as a left over yesterday. I must say it looks like a Sportster, handles like a dream, and really moves. Although I have not winded it out so I can break it in properly, it is quick and quiet. I paid less than the 06, with no style changes. Even with me and my fianc´┐Ż on it, it moves, and did not lag once on the highway even in the strong New England winds. I cruised along at seventy in fifth gear with no problem. I was not happy with the final delivery phase of the dealer though. It was only washed and not waxed, which left many watermarks on the black metallic paint. Also on my way home, the right hand mirror loosened up and I could not find any size socket to tighten it. When I called the dealer, they said I would have to bring it in because it was kind of a tricky way to tighten it. Overall, I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants looks, economy, speed, and reliability.
- david rossi, providence, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-16 2004 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike when gas prices hit $2.50. I went in to get a scooter and sat on this bike, I actually fit better on the GZ250. I have been riding it short trips to work & around town, and it handles well without losing too much power up hills. I didn't have any control issues even on 2 lane roads with wind bursts from semi's going in the opposite direction! I recommend this bike for smaller riders or beginners looking to get a nice bike that has the right amount of power.
- rrhill, Douglasville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-01 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The GZ250 is my first bike ever and I can't say enough. I looked at both the Virago and Rebel - they both had a cramped feeling. The looks of the GZ are of a bigger bike, and the riding position is very comfortable. It is easy to learn and improve your skills on a bike that is not intimidating. It has plenty of zip to get off the line in traffic, and keeps up really well as needed. I ride about 30 miles a day to work and the gas mileage is great at 65+ mpg. I will probably move up to a bigger bike next year, but the GZ250 is the best choice I could've made to learn on. Love it!
- Grace, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike to get to work with. I save a lot of money on gas. I leave the car at home a lot, thanks to this bike. It can keep up with traffic, but the seat is not the best in the world. It works.
- maurice, orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-11 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 2001 that I bought with 5,800 miles for $1,650. The previous owner put on a windshield. I added saddlebag supports and some used saddlebags. I love this bike. I am a newcomer to cycling so I wanted a smaller bike that wasn't too bulky on which to learn. This has been perfect. I am going to buy a larger bike next year for cruising and traveling, but I will continue to use this bike for commuting. It gets consistently 80-85 miles to the gallon. It has plenty of power for the commuting route I travel. It could theoretically travel on the interstate, but I would not recommend this due to the lack of top-end power. This has been a great purchase and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants great mileage without paying a fortune.
- Mark Foster, Trussville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My GZ is a 2000 model. I bought it used with only 780 miles on it. Since buying, I have put over 2,000 miles on it with absolutely no problems whatsoever. The seat does get a little tiresome on a longer ride, but from what I read, a lot of bike stock seats do the same thing. I am consistently pulling between 75-80 mpg with the GZ, which is a definite PLUS in these days of $3 per gallon gas. Are there bigger bikes? Yep. Will they go faster? Yep. Is the GZ all one really needs? I can say a resounding YES to that one. It does the speed limit, and is easy to maintain. What the GZ lacks in power on the street, the rider should make up for in smarts by defensive riding techniques.
- Tom, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-07 2005 Suzuki GZ250 Standard View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this little bike! I just got my motorcycle license about 9 months ago, and this bike is great - for being a beginner I feel very comfortable on this bike - easy to maneuver, good power for a small engine (I keep up just fine with the better half's VTX1800 - to a point!!), and it's great on gas - can't complain abuot 75 miles to the gallon. One of the biggest drawbacks is the fact that if you are riding for more than about 30 miles at a clip, the seat is not the most comfortable thing out there, but other than that no complaints. A great choice for the first-timer. Great styling for a small bike too, doesn't look like a little toy. Tip: some chrome flame decals on the tank right behind the "S" are a nice touch - I have gotten many compliments!! Happy riding!!!
- Stefani T., Hopewell, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: