Trike Reviews on Cycle Insider (46)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Trike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Larry Becker from Alabama says:

Anyone thinking about going from 2 wheels to three should always test drive a conventional trike and a Spyder to assess the difference in safety, mane

Read More (46 reviews)

Have you owned a Trike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2010 Can-Am Spyder RTS Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Anyone thinking about going from 2 wheels to three should always test drive a conventional trike and a Spyder to assess the difference in safety, maneuverability and over handling. The Spyder wins hands down. I rode 2 wheelers before going to the RTS in 2010. 30,000 miles on a CanAm and I can state without reservation this is a great design, stable platform and unbelievably maneuverable. You never have to worry about laying another bike down. Very reliable.
- Larry Becker, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-02-22 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2008 GS(SM5) spyder and loved the trike. It road excellent, the power and speed was amassing, I had no trouble with it even being the 1st model year. It was scary on sharp curves you had to turn it and it would come around. The heat from the engine came out of the vents right on you legs and made it very hot in the summer, When it was colder out it acted like a heater and felt pretty good. The spark plug on the right side was a bear to get to, you had to take the side cover off and the completely disassemble the air cleaner housing and the use a swivel socket to get it and be carfoll not crack it or crossthead it. Poor design. If you pull to hard on the plug wire getting it off you will pull the will into causing a miss. Be sure to take it to a certified can am dealer to have serviced. Back yard mechanics don't have the know how.
- David Rine, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-20 2016 Can-Am Spyder RT Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this motorcycle since 2017 - purchased new. In August, 2020, the display on the cycle wouldn't light up and the cycle had significant difficulty starting. Once started, it cruised without problem to my next stop. Again, it had difficulty starting. Once started and moving, it had difficulty shifting out of 1st gear. I pulled over to the side ... started off again and it moved into 2nd gear but then refused to move out of second gear. Hard stop. Had it towed to MotoUnited - Draper, UT - a certified dealer/repair shop. It is now the end of January, 2021 - no resolution. The motorcycle has not been able to be started. MotoUnited has contacted the manufacturer and they have no solution. Pretty pitiful.
- T.J. Dyal, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-18 2011 Can-Am Spyder RT Limited Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looks nice. Ride is quite different from a two-wheel bike. IF it breaks , your ass will pay! No doubt about it. Routine maintenance can likewise be expensive. Check out repair shops, IF you can find one, for prior pricing.
- bliff2002, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-06 1996 Kawasaki trike (and 2 wheel) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 4 of these. I find them well suited for long-distance riding (which I do a lot of). Kawasaki made this same bike for 17 years (1986 to 2003). I now have converted my bike to a 3 wheeler because it weighs a lot and my knees were giving me problems. They are very reliable (if you take care of them). Find them dependable for about 75,000 miles.
- jimdoran1, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-10-25 2014 Can-Am Spyder RT Limited Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took my safety course on the Spyder and fell in love. It is fun and easy to ride. Takes corners and curves faster than 2 wheels and drives like a car. Anyone can handle a Spyder. I recommend it to anyone and everyone.
- Donna , VA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-16 2015 Can-Am Spyder RT-S Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing is awesome, my wife and I both love it! If you have issues that prevent you from riding a motorcycle such as bad knees, etc, this is an excellent alternative. Even if not or if you never rode a motorcycle, these are tons of fun. Really nice ride on the back roads with lots of twists and turns yet super comfortable and powerful for long cruises on the open highway!
- Tony Mac, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-07 2013 Harley-Davidson Tri-Glide FLHTCUTG Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I turned 70 a few years ago, and I traded in my Fatboy for a Tri-Glide. It was a good move. I had a few other trikes in the past and they were rough, but I test rode a Harley and what a revelation. Even though it's a solid axel, it was surprisingly smooth. And with the rake on the front end, steering isn't all that hard. The seat is one of the best I've had on a bike, and I've had a few BMWs. My wife agrees. If you are ready for the stability, it's a great choice. They do produce heat, so be aware of that. I did reduce it with a no cat header and a set of mellow crusher mufflers. Good sound, improved power. The paint rock chips a bit easier than I like. Fender covers fixed that. The Lehman factory setup got it pretty much just right. Try it, you'll like it.
- Anonymous, Broomfield Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-05 2016 Harley-Davidson TriGlide Classic Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of my fellow riders in our group had been steered the wrong way as far as three wheelers were concerned,evidently someone told him that three wheelers couldn't keep up with the rest of the pack,even though they had the same engines and trannies the others had. He finally bit the bullet bought one and now he loves it and he found out he can still keep up or even LEAD the pack if he wants too!
- Anonymous, Newnan,Ga 30263

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-05 2015 Harley-Davidson Tri Glide Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of abuse on my body playing sports my knees were not very reliable, so I made the switch from two wheels to three. My riding is relaxing again. The wind doesn't mess with me anymore and I don't have to worry about my knee giving out when stopping. I love this bike!
- Anonymous, Central Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-09-16 2014 Hannigan Indian Chief Conversion Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my best investment. It's hot, sexy, fast and turns like a sports car - wow - wow. Hannigan trikes - the best birthday gift a man can get. It's classic Indian red/buttermilk two tone. The people of plant know you are the best. Thank you John, Dan and the staff. I'm killing the bike show with display - head dress - pipe - spear. God bless you Lou.
- louis napoli, tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-08-18 2013 CSC Viper Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding Harleys all my life but do to my wife's health, I elected to try a Goldwing trike. It's the smartest thing I've ever done. I love the comfort and power and my wife loves the comfort. The only problem now is the Harley might not get much road time.
- michael driggers, summerville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-15 2011 Can-Am Spyder RT Limited Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have the 2012 Brown RT Limited - I bought it in December and have been on it every good weather day I could get!! Love it, love it, love it!!!! It is fun to ride -- no worries about riding with a passenger. I can't wait to get some longer weekend trips on the Spyder! Overall, I think that this is an awesome machine that makes riding a worry-free, pleasurable almost year-round activity!!
- Vera, Thurmont, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-20 2011 Can-Am Spyder RT-S SE5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm trying to find thicker pads for the passenger foot pads as my wife's legs are short and don't rest on the pads. I love my Spyder, it's great. I'm glad I own one. It was a great investment.
- Douglas E Sanford , Sanford

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-18 2011 Can-Am Spyder RT Limited Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a minor computer oriented bug in my RT Limited Edition since about the second week of ownership. Just last week I took it in for the second time and left it for them to check it out. Then during the same day I got sick and was hospitalized for three days. My spouse made contact with the local service and sales Department personnel, Roxie, Mark and Jim, explaining she would like to get it back home and out of their way. They discussed several ways and settled on having Rodney bring it home and she would return him to the service department. Rodney brought it home safe and sound, parked it in the garage for her and she returned him back to the service department. Believe me when I say, this is not your normal service from past experiences with other dealerships. Additionally, I have had to return it once since getting back to riding and they have bent over backwards to get me and my Spyder in and out in the shortest time possible. We were chasing down a computer-oriented gremlin and so far they have used a lot of gremlin spray to kill it but we are hoping the last treatment did it in. Thanks "everyone" for the excellent service experience.
- Bob Ledford, Ormond Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-16 2011 Can-Am Spyder RT Limited Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 74 and in good health and just did not want to give up riding. This trike is very easy for me to handle and my wife feels more at ease than on the 1600 I traded in. I would highly recommend it for someone who feels that two wheels is getting a little to much for them, and I feel much safer with my abilites with three wheels! Yes, its fun to ride after getting use to three instead of two. It is quite a bit different.
- Charles Jones, Seven bays, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-09 2011 Can-Am Spyder RS-S SM5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My son and I bought two Spyders. I prefer the manual shift, he the semi auto. Both bikes perform the same over-all. He had no motorcycle background and actually adapted to the steering faster than I did. My first hour on this bike I thought it was a mistake. It doesn't handle like a motorcycle. I rode it from LA, California to San Francisco the first day. I'm 64 years old and found the ride quite satisfactory. It's a great town and country rider. However, you can't ride it thru the twisties like a motorcycle, but it handles the speed limits fine. The more saddle time you get, the better you can handle the bike. At a thousand miles I like the bike. It will take a few thousand miles to love it.
- Deputy Sheriff Retired, Fremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-01 2011 Can-Am Spyder RS-S SM5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 17 years on two wheels and eight motorcycles, I bought a Spyder RS-S for my wife. So far - it's good - comfortable, fast and I think beautiful. The good: comfort for the pilot, good cargo capacity, good traction, fast in a straight line, doesn't fall over, easier to see then a bike, well made with tight controls, good paint and attention to detail. The bad: passenger foot pegs are cramped, takes a lot of effort to ride fast - got to hang on in the turns! If you ride two wheels - it takes some time to re-learn steering and brakes. Overall - a good alternative to a cruiser, fun, fast, easy to ride and enjoy the sights. Just don't try to hang with the local sportbike club in the mountains. It's a good touring platform. Oh - and the wife LOVES it.
- SZR, Mocksville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-14 2010 Can-Am Spyder RT-S SE5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took a test ride today on the Can-Am Spyder RTS at the dealership in Bensalem, Pa. Their sales staff and service department gave me all the information I could possibly ask for. They were very knowledgeable and courteous. The cycle was tons of fun to ride. I have had over 45 cycles in my lifetime but never owned a three wheeler or trike conversion. This RTS is like a Honda Goldwing with an extra extremely large wheel. All the goodies on it were really cool and very comfortable and user friendly. I also have a 2009 Suzuki Burgman 650 which I purchased last summer and absolutely love it, also. I only have 1,900 miles on it so far, and would you believe it's my world's record for the most miles I have ever driven on any of my bikes ? It's true. I want to thank the entire staff at the dealership for all the help and patience they had until I was able to make my decision, which took two days to decide. After all, $27,000 is a lot to pay for a toy, but I deserve it. Again thanks to the person in sales and the head of the service department and also to the owner who I have known for years and always enjoyed shopping there. They also include a two-year warranty, including parts and labor. That is a real plus.
- Gordon L., Delanco, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-06 2009 Can-Am Spyder SE5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought a Can Am Spyder from a central Florida dealership and they helped us to arrange delivery to our summer home in North Carolina. Within a few days of its arrival, an issue arose with the starting system. Within one day of notifying the service manager at the Florida dealership, he made immediate arrangements to have the Spyder picked up and delivered to the dealer in Greenville, South Carolina, where he authorized the service manager there to do whatever it took to resolve the problem. As soon as it was confirmed that it was running perfectly, the Florida service manager quickly arranged for the Spyder to be returned to us in North Carolina. We cannot say enough to praise the dealership for their outstanding service and quick responsiveness and are thrilled now to be Spyder owners. We own many luxury vehicles including a Harley V-Rod, BMW Z8, Porsche Cayenne Turbo S and Porsche Panamera Turbo, so we appreciate good service.
- Steve Levinson, Hendersonville , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-01 2009 Can-Am Spyder SM5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not only did my husband and I get great customer service when we bought our Can-Am Spyders, but we also made the most fun purchase we have ever made. Mine is a Spyder SM5, and his is a Spyder RT Touring. We now take our bikes on date nights instead of driving in the car. Our Spyders are great for driving to work, running errands, or just taking a nice therapeutic drive to cleanse stress. For anyone that thinks they can't ride a motorcycle, but love to ride ATVs, this is the purchase to make. It is like driving an ATV, but smoother, on the road. You will LOVE it!!!
- Vicki Black, Corinth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-07 2009 Can-Am Spyder SM5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Spyder on 3/7/11 and I just love the ride. It's so smooth and easy to ride. Every day that I can, weather providing, I take some type of trip even short ones. I haven't ridden a bike in over 36 years, but this one is so easy. I took my driving test 10 days after I got my T.I.P. permit and passed with flying colors.
- Bill schug, Grand rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-06 2010 Can-Am Spyder RT-S SE5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We love, love the Spyder!!! We are on it as much as possible. It's a great ride!!
- jim and candy, nekoosa, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-23 2010 Can-Am Spyder RT-S SE5 Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love it. It's the perfect motorcycle. It's comfy, powerful, easy and exciting.
- Steve, Pacifica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-09 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 2010 SM-5 in May and was immediately surprised by the handling and comfort of this machine. My biggest fear of the thought of a cycle falling on me is now non-existent. My wife and I can now enjoy the pleasures of the open road with peace of mind. I must also say that the dealership, along with the entire staff, are super people who truly display the art of customer service.
- Phil Sabasino, Feasterville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: